We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elixir
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Hotel Kalkan(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/27
$53
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalamar Hotel(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zinbad(Kalkan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kulube Hotel(Kalkan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
304
59
21
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
304
59
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkeysuperior roomnext yearwithout being intrusivehotel managernice pooltwo weeksamazing hotelkalamar bayminute walk into townhotel barvisited kalkanjust returned from a weekseldabilgeholidaytaxi
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 402 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife and I just spent 2 weeks at The Elixir, put simply we could not find fault if we tried. The service is excellent and the team there cannot do enough for you. The food is very good and seems to be readily available at all times.
The hotel has excellent facilities, the pool is a good size with a jacuzzi attached, the pool area is spotlessely clean with plenty of beds to lounge on.
The turkish bath is excellent (the biggest in Kalkan) and I would certainly recommend having one during your stay, Pumkin the the massuese does a really good excellent job and it is good value as well, there is also a gym on site if you wish to try and work of the previous nights excesses.
Rooms are a good size and tastefully furnished and again kept verty clean. The bar area by the pool is also excellent with plenty of seats and wide variety of drinks. The barman (also Pumkin) does a an excellent job of keeping eveyone in drinks.
The manager Egeman works tirelessely for what seems like 24hrs a day, I had read previous entries that said he never sleeps but thought they maybe an exaggeration, they are certainly not egemna seems to have never ending batteries, his knowledge of the area and Turkey are also a valuable asset. Ali the owner of the hotel is also always around to help with whatever you need, Ali also has an excellent resturant in the village called the Old Trading House which is definately worth a visit.
Kalkan itself is quite hilly so may not be suitable for older persons but haviong said that taxies are readily avalaible and cheap.
All the team at this hotel help to make your stay an absolute joy, please go there it's great fun and great value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkinsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We spent a wonderful two weeks at The Elixir hotel in Kalkan and the staff are, without exception, simply amazing – nothing is too much trouble. The hotel rooms are on the whole simple and quiet – so absolutely fine for anyone who is looking for somewhere just to relax. However, I would recommend booking a superior room – as the standard rooms are on the road and quite small. We changed in our second week to a larger room in the guest house – and it was worth every penny!

The pool area is spotless and the perfect place to unwind, read a book, or just have a quiet drink. The manager, Egremon, and barman/masseuse – Pumpkin(!) are charming and attentive. My partner opted for a Turkish bath/massage from the latter – and spent the rest of the day floating on air. The hotel boasts the largest Turkish bath in Kalkan – and there are numerous options for restaurants in the town (a 10 minute walk), car rentals (I recommend ‘Pars’), and day trips – all are easily arranged through the hotel.

I would strongly recommend this hotel – and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Elixir is a great hotel with very personal service. The staff at the hotel are very friendly, and genuine and can not do enough for you. Some rooms do overlook the road, which can be noisy at night. The room we had was small but adequate - there are larger rooms, however, depending on your budget.

The Pool bar became a very nice meeting place for all the hotel residents, where we would enjoy a drink and compare notes with other residents before walking into town for dinner. The pool itself was also very pleasant, a reasonable size and kept very clean.

Breakfast consists mainly of a cold buffet of locally produced and very fresh foods. Eggs are also cooked to order.

The only drawback for this hotel is the walk to and from town - not particularly far, but up a fairly steep hill. Not a problem for the fit and able, but not a leisurely stroll! (You could always get a taxi though). Definitely a hotel we would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Just got back from superb holiday in Kalkan. Went with Anatolian Sky on quick one week holiday before schools go back. This hotel is fabulous...the manager is a guy called Egeman...and I have never come across a guy who works as hard as he does or for as long as he does to make sure every hotel guest is happy and comfortable.
With the other staff similarly devoted to ensuring that all guests are looked after, it made the holiday for us. The hotel is clean, stylish, and very friendly and on thursday nights they host a BBQ evening which was really good fun.
Kalkan itself is beautiful, nestled in the bay with a stunning backdrop of mountain, and there is plenty to do, some excellent excurisions (try Kekova Island and Sakilikent Gorge), and an abundance of rooftop terrace restaurants in the town to choose from. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The Elixir hotel is in a quiet setting about 20 minutes walk into the centre of Kalkan. Our room was very small on arrival but we negotiated a larger room with a TV, two armchairs and two small balconies.
The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and the bar area beside the pool was the main attraction.
Egerman - the manager - was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him. All in all a very nice stay.

M & M Islington London

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClarkes98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews