We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elixir
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I have to say I was very impressed with the level of service and friendliness of the staff at the Elixir.
Egermon the manager and pumpkin barman and masseuse could not do enough for us. We travelled with our 18 year old son and had concerns that he would find it to dull but we hardly saw him during the two week we were there. My wife was worried about him being out alone but these were groundless as Kalkan is a safe resort, no drunken lager louts.
Rooms are spacious and come with free air conditioning which is fantastic when it's 40 degrees.
The fitness area is undersold as it is surprisingly well equipped if you fancy a workout.
If you enjoy the race for a sun bed at 6.00 am then this is not the place for you as there are plenty to go round and we were never disappointed.
Room service is available if you want it and towels are changed daily, bedding every two days. Excellent
The food is good but we only had breakfast as there are so many great places to eat in Kalkan, try the old trading house (Owned by the hotel) or the Nar for great views over the harbour from their roof top restaurants or the Jasmine Garden on the waterfront.
For teenagers there are a few bars come nightclubs it’s is very low key but great fun according to my son and in the old town area so you wont be kept awake all night by the noise .
It’s a bit of a walk to the old town about 15 minutes downhill which is no problem but I would recommend a taxi back at 7.5 lira before midnight about 11 lira after as its all uphill.
The Kalama beach club is well worth a visit and they provide a free shuttle service to and from the hotel (ask at reception), day entry is 12.5 lira pp but well worth it with free sun loungers, parasols, pedelos and canoes and great bathing including fresh water showers at the club to wash the salt water off. The restaurant onsite is good for a cool drink or lunchtime meal and good value; you can even have a trial scuba diver on site.
I think the most touching thing about the Elixir is that during you stay they staff address you by your first name and when you leave all the staff line up to wish you a fond farewell and give you a free bottle of cold water, seems silly I know but it’s the little touches that count.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentSteve33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    57
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
76
236
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Spent two weeks at the Elixir and can honestly say we have never stayed anywhere with such excellent, friendly and attentive staff. The manager, Egeman, makes this hotel what it is - he works tirelessly to make sure every guest has an amazing holiday.

The hotel's lovely and quiet - as a result, we had a truly relaxing break. At times, we were the only people around the pool.

We would recommend booking a superior room (standard rooms were pretty small) which is not on the road side of the hotel, as this can be pretty noisy from traffic. We changed rooms because of this without any problem.

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the town centre but this wasn't a problem as it provided an opporunity to walk of the huge amounts of food we had usually eaten at one of Kalkan's amazing restaurants.

Book this hotel without hesitation - we hope to return again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2009

There is not one bad thing we can say about this hotel. The manager, Egeman was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble, he took the time to learn about his guests and speak to us which made our stay all the more special and personal. We were always addressed by our name. The staff were lovely, all very friendly and helpful. It was a very hospitable environment with a warm, kindly atmosphere.
The whole hotel was spotless, and the rooms were cleaned daily. The food was excellent and very well presented.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The Elixir Hotel was friendly and the lads working there do try to please. Not exactly professional, but had its charms. Kalkan itself has limited interest and guests really need to take advantage of some of the trips, including the free taxi down to the 'beach' club. Even stay a couple of days in Fethiye which is a lot more Turkish. Some of the restaurants in Kalkan are truly superb, even a few of the Turkish wines at the Fish Terrace (really good place), but expect to pay West End prices. HUGE WARNING: Do not buy a carpet regardless of how tempting it is or be pressured by the (very) hard sell. I did on one of the organised trips to Saklikent. I paid over £300 deposit and it never got delivered, despite numerous phone calls and letters to the company.

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnEBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Booked the Elixir on our daughter's recommendation and we were certainly not disappointed. In fact we enjoyed it so much that we have already booked again for next year. We arrived in the early hours and Egeman (the manager) was there to greet us and from thereon nothing was too much trouble for him to make our holiday most enjoyable. We were made to feel special - as no doubt other guests would have been. Can't praise Egeman and the hard-working staff enough. The hotel is charming with a most friendly atmosphere. and everywhere is spotless. Breakfast and other snacks and meals we had were excellent. Time spent at the pool bar was very entertaining thanks to "Pumpkin". Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrians09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed for two weeks at the Elixir and had a wonderful holiday. The team at the property are exceptional and made our visit an outstanding experience. Do not hesitate, book the hotel , stay in a superior room and be prepared for a lovely break. Thank you very much to everyone at the Elixir from Simon and Nicole in London

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDANDND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Having stayed in Kalkan 9 times in the last 11 years and stayed in 5 different hotels I can honestly say that Ali and Selma have got the right mixture of customer satisfaction and comfort for their guests. You must have a turkish bath with Cesare, he's the best.
Glyn and Maggie, Warrington

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.6 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Likya Residence and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fidanka houses
Hotel Fidanka houses
#5 of 39 in Kalkan
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elixir

Property: The Elixir
Address: Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elixir Hotel Kalkan
Elixir Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing