We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel, very nice people !!!!”
Review of The Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elixir
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel, very nice people !!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Me and my friends from Italy wanted to have a different holiday this time and decided to go to Kalkan / Turkey.
We booked through Elixir's website, since it seemed so inviting and had a character of its own ( beautiful decoration ). This was our first time to Kalkan and we loved everything about it. Very delicious food, amazing view, wonderful sea and sun. Our room had a very nice view of sea and forest and we felt so comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and spent most of our days along poolside and relaxed at the garden.We enjoyed walking to old town for shopping and went to different restaurants but we rushed back to the poolbar for 'pumpkin sezai ' where we had the most fun of our holiday.
The Owners ( Selda & Ali ) were great hosts, they took care of every detail. The staff was very friendly and the service was great by the care of Suleyman; the manager.
Don't miss barbeque night with live music . You will find so many delicious hot & cold meze and later so many meat chicken fish . That night was so cosy and friendly , every guest was dancing and enjoyed the night so much.
One more thing we advise : Have a Turkish Bath in the beginning of your holiday, so your dead skin goes away you have a longer lasting sun tan . You will relax at the hands of' Pumpkin ' if you also have a massage after Turkish bath.
We already missed being there and many thanks to everyone at elixir that made our holiday unforgettable. We plan to come back there again this year !!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GiulsItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    57
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
76
236
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Well the Elixir is quite simply a totally enjoyable experience. The staff are attentive, entertaining, flexible and totally dedicated to meeting your every need. Ali, Selda, Pumkin, Suramen, Yasin and all the other boys are genuine, nice people who pride themselves on delivering a first class holiday. This was our 5th stay in Kalkan and I have never enjoyed a hotel as much as we did this year at the Elixir. Don`t be afraid to ask for anything that you may need that is not on a menu or advertised as any one of the staff will go out of their way to provide you with whatever you require. Nights at the bar were hilarious and such good fun. The BBQ night was very special if you make the effort to really get involved and have some fun with all of the staff and the other guests. Kalkan village is a nice 10 minute walk and if you are lucky the staff will take you into town on their scooter if you need the bank or anything else in an emergency. I would also like to thank all of the other guests who were at the hotel in early July as you also made our holiday memorable. Bless you ALL! Thanks Ali you run a great hotel.

Tim and Anne Smith. (lovely eyes!)

  • Liked — Very large Room
  • Disliked — The pillow
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Timlet1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withybrook, Near Coventry
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We have travelled to many places in the world, but this was our first visit to Turkey. We found it to be a most wonderful country, the scenery, the food, the climate but most of all the people.

Kalkan is a beautiful town with superb restaurants and The Hotel Elixir exceeded all our expectations, with it's cleanliness, food and superb staff. The owners, Selda and Ali made everybody really welcome and they, along with the rest of the staff, couldn't do enough to help you.

The hotel has a sister restaurant down in the centre of the town, 'The Old Trading House'. We visited this several times and the view over the harbour was breathtaking and the food delicious

Thursday night is BBQ night and the food and atmosphere were superb. We both visited the Turkish Bath located within the hotel (which is said to be the largest in Kalkan) and enjoyed a very relaxing massage.

We came away from the holiday feeling very special and that we had been part of a wonderful family. We would , and have, recommend anyone to stay at The Elixir as we had such a wonderful time.....so much so we are returning there in September!

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault it!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ventura_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

What a perfect honeymoon! The staff at the Elixir were extremely friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. ‘Pumkin’ was a great laugh, and we made time to experience his Turkish Bath – once you relax it’s quite fun! The hotel was great – we even had flower petals on our bed when we arrived (not sure if that’s because we were on honeymoon, or if that’s standard). We also got upgraded to a superior room, which was really lovely of them. The bathroom was large and clean, bedding was changed regularly. No-one else seemed to frequent the roof terrace & indoor pool, so it was almost like having our own private area for sunbathing & a quick dip. The outside pool & bar are lovely too, but take bug spray for the olive flies & mosquitoes. You can get pool towels to use from reception. The town is a bit of a walk away & I can imagine it being a problem for older couples (which Kalkan mainly consists of) but it was fine for us – helped us burn off all those kebaps! Kalkan is a very pretty place, but as I mentioned, it is mostly older English couples. I think we saw about 6 other couples around town under 35! It wasn’t a problem for us though as we wanted to relax and chill out after all the wedding plans. The hotel was not rowdy at all. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend staying at the Elixir!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and very relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Maybe could do with some new mattresses!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillipepper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds west yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Been to Kalkan many times.We were led to believe a ten min walk to Kalkan centre.30 mins is the norm .If we had been told it was at the very top of Kalamar road we would not have booked .No transport was offered so lt was taxis every day.I must say all the staff were very pleasant and helpfull.I think the hotel is in need of an facelift ,Maybee they should drop the Boutique .it isnt !!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — position
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2008

After an early start in London and half a day's travel to the hotel, our initial reaction to the room is that it might be a bit on the small side (considering we were sharing twin-share)...

HOWEVER, the room was perfect for our needs (once it was just the two of us) with a clean and modern bathroom and cozy balcony. The air con was modern and cooled the room instantly. The room was cleaned thoroughly each day- perfect.

The staff were very professional, accomodating and highly entertaining- we all had a great laugh, but equally, we were able to get on with our serious 'tanning' endeavours with the luxury of it being quiet.

The pool was very clean, and we never had a problem getting a sun-bed and fresh towels. Cocktail making is not a strong point, however, we've given a few tips to the staff and they took all of our tips on board...so if you don't like the cocktail, tell them what they need to do to make it better!! Drink prices were admittedly high, but this is the same for any hotel/resort accomodation.

The walk into town is probably 15 minutes...maybe a little longer coming back when you've eaten and due to the final hill...but we enjoyed the exercise, and there are cab ranks which can bring you home if required.

The gym has everything you need- you just need to ask the staff to turn on the equipment before you use the area. Breakfast was mainly breads, cheese, fruit, and eggs...not the highlight of our trip, but it kept us going.

I'd highly recommend the BBQ- beautiful tranquil setting around the pool- and great food.

Would love to head back there again soon.

Cheers,

J

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

I feel compelled to write a review as I've seen many 5 star reviews and it makes me wonder if I stayed at the same place or whether the reviews are totally impartial...

Anyway, stayed a week in June 2007. Photos looked wonderful but all was not as it seemed!

Good points

Friendly staff, excluding the owner.

Bad points

Our room was above the bar and it was noisy till about 3 or 4 every night. And, no, we couldn't change it!

The owner became very rude if people brought their own water or even ice cream into the hotel. Now, I understand that the hotel makes a large chunk of its profits from food, but there's no need for rudenesss and hey, what's with an ice cream? Also, if you weren't drinking or eating at the hotel regularly, the owner was pretty frosty with you!

The prices for food and drinks at the hotel were inflated and unfortunately the food didn't warrant it!

Small pool with limited sun umbrellas.

Lastly, the hotel is a 25 minute walk from the centre of town and along the way we passed many nicer looking and cheaper hotels!

Enough said!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank world_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.6 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Likya Residence and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#8 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fidanka houses
Hotel Fidanka houses
#6 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elixir

Property: The Elixir
Address: Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elixir Hotel Kalkan
Elixir Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing