We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly 'rustic' hotel with moorish cocktails - SUPERB !!”
Review of The Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elixir
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a fabulous little hotel this is ! Located out of town, in quiet spot with beautiful views overlooking the sea surrounded by hills.It's small, very rustic with a homely feel. Staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are there to please and ensure you enjoy your holiday. We had a superior room, quite spacious, clean, large bathroom, and a balcony bigger than most. Breakfast is taken on the rooftop terrace so you can gaze at the views whilst enjoying Turkish breakfast, lovely, and always served with a smile, especially from Sebo ! Sitting around the pool listening to low key music, plenty of space around, shaded areas and comfy sofas, make it really relaxing. And now the best bit - Pumpkin's bar - he makes wonderful cocktails, one, two, three, you really can't resist, whilst at the same time he is entertaining us with his laughter, smiles and banter. Very enjoyable atmosphere sitting around the bar chatting to other guests, with Pumpkin and his music, and ably assisted by his new recruit Sammy, and then the puppy Hendrix appeared - was just like a big family party every evening !! Plenty bars/restaurants near the hotel - Cafe Vita, Aqua Cafe and Yesilev serve good food. Kalkan town is about 20 mins. walk ( downhill) but we always took the taxi back !! ( only 11 Lire , £4 ) Beautiful town, quite steep in places though( so flat shoes are recommended ) lovely harbour, pebbly beach, nice shops, leather, boutiques, and literally dozens of restaurants - no shortage of choice, sure all good as never had a bad meal. Quite the contrary, the standard of food was amazing, well presented, and much higher than expected, with again the most friendly people wanting to please and chat to you. By the end of our holiday we felt quite at home with everyone chatting to us. A few recommendations ( as we hadn't time to sample them all ! ) were - The Gourmet Restaurant, Sade ( do book) Salt & Pepper, Aubergine, Baharat, Ozalp and many more, I'm sure, lots on the rooftop, some by the harbour. Do visit Yakamoz cocktail bar with the fantastic elaborate and comfy chairs right down by the harbour - gorgeous ! Courtesy bus from the hotel takes you to a beach club just down the hill where you can stay all day on one of the terraces with a sunlounger, parasol, restaurant on site, swimming, water sports all for only 10 lire each. Take the half hour ride, local bus to Kas, wonderful scenic drive - lovely little town, much smaller than Kalkan but well worth a visit for a day. Lots of activities and places to visit from Kalkan, so a good base. Excellent hotel in superb location providing sociable and fun atmosphere for a wonderful holiday - even all the staff provided a line-up to wave us off on our departure - can't get better than that !! Thank you Selda.

Room Tip: Room 501 is the superior room with a bigger balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 402 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great hotel, clean and comfortable. Wonderful staff who really tend to your every whim and make your stay a happy and memorable one. Good location, short walk to lots of good restaurants. Will definitely be going back in the near future, David and Heather.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DjohnsCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed with Ali and his fantastic, friendly staff. See you next year. Pumpkin is the best barman in turkey. I recommend starting your holiday with a Turkish bath. Great value small hotel, superb location .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank glynmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for one week at the Elixir, we had a lovely time, very quiet and relaxing in the afternoon by pool but with some fun in the evenings with Pumpkin, Sammy and Ali at the bar. Lovely cocktails especially Pumpkins Mojoito with soda. Met some nice people and had a lovely evening by the pool having a BBQ. If there is anything not to your satisfaction just let the staff know and they will do everything to resolve it.

Room Tip: we had a delux room over the the pool and bar and we slept very well but if you want something quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz4858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I returned last weekend from a short stay at this fab hotel with my friends. Never been to Turkey before but was not disappointed. Pumpkin, Selda, Sammy and rest of the staff very friendly and put you at your ease immediately. Nothing was too much of a problem. Highly recommend this hotel for a very relaxing holiday. I shall definitely be returning. Rooms great, pool great, breakfast great, bar great and staff excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've been coming to Kalkan for nearly five years and no trip is complete without a visit to this hotel. Great staff; relaxed atmosphere and a place to have some sun whilst watching sport or having a bite to eat. The pizza's are especially good!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hush_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in May and we found we were the first visitors of the season.We were met by Selda and 'Pumpkin' who greeted us and treated us like royalty for the whole week.Even though it was very late they had kept the chef on to cook us a lovely meal.We have never been to such a friendly hotel in our lives and is much better than going to a impersonal larger hotel.Over the course of the week we became friends with the owners,the bar men little Ali and Pumpkin together with all the staff.Nice room,lovely clean pool ,lovely sitting areas,2 nice bars.The town has great restaurants,all sorts of food and not commercialised.There is a hill when walking back to the hotel but plenty of taxis if you need them.Lots of historical trips to do ,either on organised trips or you can catch a bus from the bus station.The pool side bar is great fun at night and the problem is leaving it and going to bed ! We can't wait to go again,it is good value and we were very lucky with very warm weather in May.The food in the hotel is excellent cooked by a very good chef.To summarise a lovely ,friendly hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the pool and the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.6 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#10 of 40 in Kalkan
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#12 of 40 in Kalkan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elixir

Address: Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $114 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elixir Hotel Kalkan
Elixir Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing