We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel”
Review of The Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elixir
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for the first week in October. Agree with reviews already written - Manager Egeman and staff couldn't do more to help your holiday be a good one. Recommend the Turkish Bath in the hotel hamman. A few things to be aware of, though. The beds are very hard, and whilst these may suit some, ours did cause me considerable back pain, but Egeman was very helpful and put a topper on the mattress. Also, if you are in the rooms overlooking the pool (I think they are all superior rooms) you can be bothered by noise from the pool bar late evening. Obviously this depends on the guests on holiday at the time, and the hotel is thinking of ways to address this problem - but it may be wise to take earplugs!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and beautiful view can be noisy due to the pool bar being used in the evening...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Elixir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

MY wife and I decided to venture into Turkey for the first time for a two week holiday and came upon this place. From reading the other reviews on tripadvisor it sounded like a nice place so booked up. We were met upon arrival at the hotel by the Egeman, the hotel manager at 10:20pm (local time). He warmly welcomed us, showed to us to our rooms then invited us to the pool bar for a drink and perhaps some food if we wanted. Egeman explained whilst to restaurant was closed now they could prepare something from the lunchtime menu.

We decided to go for the larger superior room rather than the norm so ours had plenty of room to move around in with an adequate bathroom. I guess my only real gripe would be the low bed which is pretty hard so it took me a few nights to get used to it before I was really able to get a good nights sleep or maybe that was because I'd drunk too much at the pool bar.

There is a great guy who works at the pool bar called Pumpkin who calls all the girls gorgeous and say the men are not gorgeous. The way it works is Pumpkin will stay at the bar serving until the last man (or woman) standing which could be the early hours of the morning. His cocktails are something special. In fact it is true to say he is special. Nothing is ever too much trouble, you only need ask. Its true to say that all of the hotel staff will endeavor to make your stay with them a pleasurable one and will all go the extra mile to ensure that happens.

The food is pretty good too. Although I have never eaten so many eggs for breakfast. We were there for two weeks and had poached eggs pretty much every day. Food by the pool bar at lunch time is also very good if you can't be bothered to venture out. Just be warned that they are quite generous portions.

If you stay here then be prepared to socialise at the bar with other guests and to take part in the bbq night which occurs every Thursday evening. The food at this is very good with the staff waiting on you ensuring that all your drinks are topped up. Afterwards Pumpkin cranks up the tempo with a bit of dancing and if the crowd are happy then they too can partake in a some dancing on the bar.

All in all we have never had so much fun on holiday as we had when we stayed here. We met so many lovely people and made some really good friends.

Keep up the good work guys. Your customer service puts others to shame.

Room Tip: If you want a good night sleep then go for a room away from the pool area and if you want a bit more...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l33wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked to visit Kalkan for the first time to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary and we had a fantastic time. We chose The Elixir based on previous reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed - we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves there having pool parties, BBQ nights and generally speaking to all the other guests who made our stay just that more memorable.

This hotel is absolutely fab !!!! It's probably more of a 3 star than a 4 star but all of the staff make up for this as they are probably the most professional and friendly hotel employees I have ever met. I stay in many 4/5 star hotels through business whos services would be hard pressed to meet these guys. They could not do enough for us... I do not know what else to say - Very Impressed.

The hotel manager seemed to never sleep as he was always around to greet all the guests from arrival late at night to serving at breakfast. Seb is absolutely great and put a smile on our faces (and our eggs) everyday and whenever we saw him. Savaş was brilliant and looked cool in his new shades !!!

And then there's PUMPKIN !!! The pool bar manager who is quite simply a Super Star - this guy has ALWAYS got a smile on his face and no matter how you feel, I guarantee he will put a smile on yours too... He gets all the guests chatting & socialising at the bar and we both loved him along with all of the hotel staff their. You must try his Pumkin Special Cocktails - they range from Pumpkin No 1 to Pumpkin No ..?? (well we can't actualy remember)

We have made many friends at this hotel - both guests & staff....

Pumpkin - Savaş - Seb - Egemen. See You Next Year

Room Tip: Room 501 was a penthouse and was above the pool bar. It is spacious and we never heard any noise fro...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinnie515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Egeman, the manager, at the Elixir appears to never sleep, nothing is too much trouble for the Elixir team. We have never made so many friends while away - staff, guests, locals all became family within a short time of being at this small, rather special hotel

Visit the Elixir with an open mind, go away to enjoy yourself and have a great break in Kalkan, Turkey

Room Tip: Best view - get a room overlooking the pool and quietest location - get a room looking away from Kal...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at the end of September with our friends as two couples. All of the positive reviews we had read were accurate and we have never stayed anywhere where we have felt more welcome. Egeman, the Manager promotes his professional through all of his staff and is passionate about offering excellent, attentive service. Every time we returned to the hotel irrespective of the hour Egeman was there to greet us with a smile and was always there at breakfast taking our orders for hot and cold drinks and variety of eggs.
And then there was the much reviewed bar.. And Pumpkin ! What a top barman this guy is, he works from noon to whenever his last guest decides to turn in for the night, is always smiling and up for a laugh and has refined a British sense of humour allowing him to both charm the ladies and insult the guys with a grin whilst always happy to take as good as he gives.
I have seen reviews regarding late night noise from the bar but I really struggle with how the sound of laughter and people enjoying themselves manages to offend whilst on holiday.. Drunken rowdiness it is NOT as the hotel attracts mainly guests who are middle aged and able to behave.
Kalkan itself is as fantastic as ever with the best rooftop restaurants and quality and value of food is tremendous. For guests wanting a seafront experience, we would recommend the Palm Beach and Kalimar beach clubs during the day with free transfers arranged from the hotel and an entrance fee of only £3 to £4 per day.
In summary, great hols and would return to The Elixir

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SouthCoast6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We didnt actually stay at the Elixir - just called at the bars on regular occasions!! However we feel the need to make an entry on Trip Advisor just to say how fantastic the hotel staff are!!!
in particular Pumpkin at the Pool Bar. He is great fun and loves to get all the guests into a party mood!!! dancing on the bar - being the favourite. The rest of the staff are equally as friendly and all the guests we spoke to - recommended the hotel - 100%
If you dont stay here - then please visit Pumpkin - particularly on barbecue night!!!
Gill & Adie - Chesterfield

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 465happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We last visited this property in September 2009 for one week. We enjoyed the service and the atmosphere so much that we visited again, this time for 2 weeks, in September 2012. Everything we loved about the hotel in 2009 was still there in 2012. All of the staff are lovely and seem to really enjoy working there. Egeman, the manager, speaks excellent English and is very keen to ensure that you are have a lovely holiday. Pumpkin, who runs the bar, also speaks excellent English and does an excellent job in running the bar and playing the music! The hotel is very sociable, with a number of guests gathering at the bar before and after dinner to catch up on the day's events. Whilst being sociable, it is not rowdy, just people on holiday having a good time.

We stayed in a Superior Room (number 203) which we found to be a quiet room, with no noise from the hotel bar, just maybe a little road noise. A Superior Room more than met our needs after staying in a Deluxe Room on the previous visit.

Being travellers who do not normally visit the same place more than once, Kalkan has managed to draw us back on two occasions after our initial visit. I would have no hesitation in staying at The Elixir next time we visit Kalkan, whenever that may be!

Room Tip: Room 203 is on the side of the hotel and is one of the quietest rooms, although there may be a littl...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.6 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elixir

Address: Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $125 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elixir Hotel Kalkan
Elixir Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing