We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kulube Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kulube Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning...”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Turkey was a first time adventure for myself and i had preconceived ideas of what to expect. I was wrong. In the hotel Kulube in Kalkan I found a truly stunning hotel in its own section of paradise. The hotel is set in the most picturesque scene with its own mountain side leading down to a private alcove where the Agean sea blesses the whole surrounding. The hotel itself was beautifully kept with a cleanliness comparable to top London hotels. Room 603, where we stayed offered a fantastic view, spacious balcony and a wonderful base for our holiday. The staff at the Kulube were exceptional. From the manager Bulent to the bar staff Hakki and Hussein. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they made the holiday completely enjoyable. The hotel is set outside of Kalkan town centre and the 2 km walk is full of hills! Be warned, it is not for the faint hearted. However, the hotel recognise this and offer a shuttle service into town three times a day, 10, 1 and 8pm. The taxi ride back is short and the equivalent of £4.50 or there abouts. This hotel ranks in the top 5 destinations I have visited and I would not hesitate to go back. In terms of privacy and its quaint location it is 100% suited to couples, young or old, and is a great place to relax and enjoy the sun. The hotel operates a no children policy which just adds to the relaxation factor for all its guests. The hotel is an undiscovered gem of the Turkish coast. Visit the Kulube and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevietwestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    67
    16
    11
    0
See reviews for
18
178
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We went for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of the world and that is exactly what we got! Without exception all the staff were attentive and helpful. Particular thanks go to Sevtap (Customer Relations) who helped my wife who has mobility problems and to Bulent (Manager) who let me take some cuttings from the lovely gardens and showed me the chilli plants in his own garden. As promised some hot chilli seeds are on their way to you.
We have been to Kalkan before and eaten at the rooftop restaurants in town. This year we ate out three times and had excellent meals and the times we ate in the hotel restaurant were just as good (and no need for a taxi back!). The pool bar was friendly & efficient and had a guitar playing waiter.The breakfasts were a positive feast of both cold and hot dishes (and more jams than you would think possible). The restaurant manager was friendly and attentive and the cook gave us smiley faces on the eggs on toast (using peppers & olives to create) - but a sad face on our last day. I can recommend the "Turkish Night" at the hotel. We usually try to avoid these things but we were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed it.
The one way complimentary shuttle in to town was efficient - and needed because of the steep hill. I walked both ways daily just for the exercise and stopped off at the Vita Cafe on the way back for a drink and a read of the previous days newspaper.
We had to change rooms after the first night due to a water leak but the staff were very helpful and swiftly moved us to another room of our choice. We ended up in the main hotel block with a spacious room. This was less convenient than our original room near to the pool & restaurant but did not have the steep spiral staircase of the duplex room. The hotel rooms and grounds were kept immaculate by friendly cleaners.
All in all an excellent holiday and hotel - and child free!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeylandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at on holiday, the staff were absolutely brill! and the food excellent. Do take the free bus into town at night-as that first hill from the hotel is a killer! It's a half hour walk back from town (depending on how many bars you call in on!) but who's in a rush! The food in Kalkan is of a very high quality and we never had a bad meal the whole holiday! Our room was 116 a hop skip and a jump to the pool and a great view - must say the fact there was no children at the Kalube added to a relaxed and calm atmosphere,no loud music round the pool was also a plus for us.If it's a chilled out holiday you are after surrounded by great people then this is the place. ten out of ten Kalubl and Kalkan!!! Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timeforahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

10 days at the Kulube was the most relaxing holiday I could have ever wanted. My boyfriend and I enjoyed days swimming in the clear turquoise sea, soaking up the sun on the comfortable sun loungers by the sea and cooling down in the salt water pool. The hotel staff were very helpful and the food was varied and of a good standard. I would definitely recommend taking the free hotel shuttle into town for the evening and walking the 20 mins back at the end of the night. In the town there is an incredible amount of excellent restaurants, our favourite being the fish terrace. We also hired a car to explore the area for a couple of days. Driving was very easy (hardly any other cars on the road) but petrol is quite expensive. I would love to spend another 10 days in Kalkan next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Just returned from a 7 day trip to Kalkan staying at the Kulube and felt I should write this review. First of all forget Midnight Express the people are lovely, genuine and helpful. Up there with the Portugese. No presure selling, no rudeness, Just decent people even when there was no profit or business to be had. The hotel itself is difficult to find if you're driving your self. It took about 90mins from Dalaman to Kalkan (without a map!) and half an hour to find the hotel. We stoppped at two petrol stations for directions,the people where extreamly helpful.
I'll start with the resort. It was initially disapointing as the outskirts are pretty ordinary and a little shabby but once into the centre it becomes very atmospheric and traditional. Apparently it was greek about 100 years ago and it shows. As you approach the old area (no cars) the streets narrow and the buildings become more traditional. Only a few bars as most are restaurants. Plenty of small very traditional shops selling the usual stuff, jewellery, turkish lanterns and pipes. One tip, there a few shops offering exchange rates for stirling, all about 10 % better than the airport but only for uk cash. The narrow streets are pretty step and exhausting in the heat of the day. They all lead down to the marina and the main pedestrianised promenade. This is narrow and about 200 yrds long with about half a dozen restaurents on both sides all very good, clean and great food. Usually the bar and kitchen on one side with eating areas on the other over looking the marina. After dark it has a great relaxing atmosphere. A couple of shops at one end selling genuine fake watches! and another organising watersports. There is also a small supermarket shop at the very far end, worth mentioning as it is the only place with airconditioning! All of the bars and restaurents are open air but shadded so can get hot during the day if out of the shade. The atmosphere is a little up market, few kids and no yobs, after sundown it lights up and is very atmospheric. Back into the town all of the restaurents are on the roofs! Dont discount them as we did until the end of our trip. Once up there it's like a different world, how I imagined 1960's Paris to be. It's cooler than below and the views are even better. I couldn't recommend a single restaurent as they where all great. No food problems at all my girlfriend commented on noticing them cleaning the kitchen oftern. Take a trip to Cas if you can very similar to Kalkan but smaller and prettier. The gulet trips are worth every penny, 35 lira for a full day out, 4 or 5 stops, mud baths snorkeling etc and lunch, bargain. If you dive go to the boats in the evening when they return for the best price. There is a converted gulet and a proper dive boat . We used, and would thoroughly recommend Dolphin diving who where great and very proffessional with an english lad as dive master. £35 or 90 lira for 2 dives and lunch on the boat.
The hotel Kulube is at the end of a narrow and pretty deadend road. The main hotel is on the right as you arrive but also has stand alone roms on the left side of the road. I think these rooms are by far the best location as they look out over the pool, beach and sea with thier own terrace. Room numbers around there i noticed where 117 and 124, I'll book them next time. To get to the pool from the road there are 40 steps down to the pool and bar/restaurant where breakfast is served. Good food and plentiful. Cereal fruit eggs and omletts to order. Ask for what you want, the staff always said yes. Even when I was late with a hangover it wasn't a problem. The pool and bar have great views out over the sea below . Down to the beach is a further 80 steps through gardens past another bar/restaurent, on the way down there are small private areas cut into the rock and gardens with a couple of sun loungers in each. The beach has no sand just paved areas cut out of the rock around a norrw rocky cove. It's small and private with a fresh water shower. You can also get a waiter service down at the beach to save your leggs. Swimming is safe and easy, from knee deep to diving deep. I swam around the coast to the next hotel with ease. The hotel is great. Quite, modern but basic, maid service was great. Ac took a while to cool our room but our room was two rooms converted to one so quite big. The hotel has a shuttle buss into town as the walk takes 30 mins with an almighty hill to climb it'll kill ya, so take the shuttle bus. No bus back though so a taxi will cost between 13 and 17 lira depending on whether it's befor or after midnight. They are plentiful though so you wont wait at all.
Overall a great resort and a great hotel. People exceptionally friendly and genuinley helpful. Go.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank circo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This was our first trip to Turkey and went to Kalkan on a friend's recommendation. I read all the Trip Advisor reviews before booking the Hotel Kulube and was so pleased to find it was all that everyone said it was. I went with my (adult) daughter and we were just looking for a really relaxing holiday in th sun. We loved the location of the hotel it was so peaceful, particularly because there are no young children allowed. As well as the swimming pools you can swim/snorkel in a small rocky cove accessed directly from the hotel grounds. We had a deluxe room, which was really spacious and nice and clean. I agree with others that there was a relly good choice of food for breakfast. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening mainly because we enjoyed the walk back from the town after eating - it helped with the digestion after eating far too much of the wonderful local specialities. I investigated travelling independently and taking a package, inthe end because of a really good offer on the Thomas Cook website it was better to take the package, but booking my own flights and direct with the hotel was only a few pounds more.Our overriding memories of the holiday will be the location and friendliness of the staff, they were all lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardtoplease55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Having just returned from a week long break at the Kulube hotel i thought it only right to put a quick review on the internet as the one's i read previous to going were so helpful.
The hotel staff are fantastically friendly and they really can't do enough to help. The hotel breakfast is really good, never mind what you have read in previous reviews. There is a large selection of fresh fruit, all the components for a great muesli and the option of any omlette/scrambled eggs every morning ( which i had every day, and they were very very good)
We had a sea view room ( 301) and it was perfect, 2 showers, 2 balcony, air conditioning, which worked perfectly and kept the room nice and cool during the evening.The food in Kalkan itself was first class, and would particularly recommend Kosk, the olive garden, Ottoman house and Korsan fish terrace. We did however eat down by the harbour one night and found that after eating in the old town the service was not as good nor was the food, i think they take it as a given that they are going to be busy and therefore don't try as hard to make your dining experience as nice as possible.
We booked through tapestry holiday and had a lazy day at sea, which was absolutely brilliant and would recommend it to anyone who is going to kalkan.
All in all a fantastic holiday, very reasonable in price and great food almost everywhere we went, would recommend it to anyone and would go back in a heartbeat.....
finally i would definitely recommend getting the shuttle into kalkan from the hotel, the walk into town is a bit of an effort, however we walked home most nights, which is predominantly downhill, which makes it a hell of a lot easier..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkeyboy5_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulube Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulube Hotel

Property: Kulube Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah. Kalamar Koyu Funda Sok., Kalkan 34020, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#11 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kulube Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kulube Hotel has its own beach, private infinity pools in some rooms, and has a fine dining restaurant at seaside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kulube Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulube Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing