We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a perfect place for a holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kulube Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kulube Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a perfect place for a holiday”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We'd read the reviews for the Kulube and thought it seemed the perfect place for a relaxing holiday in Kalkan. We weren't wrong! It's no wonder people return again and again and again.
Yes, some of the rooms probably aren't perfect - ours was supposed to have a balcony (according to Thomas Cook), but it was actually more of a terrace, without any furniture, but this was soon rectified. And really, how much time do you spend in your room while in a place as beautiful as Kalkan? The room was spotlessly clean and pretty big too, while the sheets and towels were changed every couple of days. The bed was comfy and the air con worked- what more do you need?
But it's the setting of the Kulube that makes it. Spread up the hillside, you have everything you could want. Amazing views, two pools, plenty of terraces and poolside to chill out on - and all carefully spaced out so you never feel crowded, and the jewel in the crown is the fact you can get into the sea pretty much straight off your sunbed. It's got several ladders and plenty of rocks to jump off so you can have a dip in the private little cove. We never even got a chance to try the beach clubs in Kalkan because we were so happy with our own.
The beach restaurant is a great place for lunch, albeit slightly more expensive than some of the restaurants up the road, and breakfast was fine. Plenty of choice of fruit, toast, savouries, and even omelettes. We had dinner once, but there was so much choice in Kalkan itself that we didn't again, but it was absolutely fine.
The only downside for some people might be the steepness. This is pretty much a trademark of Kalkan, and it definitely is noticeable at the Kulube. The fact the hotel's property extends down to the sea means that the walk back up to some of the rooms (they again are all on different levels) can involve a lot of steps. This was fine for us as fairly active people in our 30s, but smoe people might struggle. Equally, the walk to Kalkan is about 20-30 mins and involves "cardiac hill". We were fine with this, and walked most nights. There is a cheap bus that comes to the hotel, but it ties you to a specific time, so we quite enjoyed the walk. Taxis are easy to get and not too expensive, but some people might resent not being closer. Obviously, the plus side is - private!
All in all, this was a great holiday in a beautiful place with plenty of fab people. We would 100% go back to Kalkan again, and most likely to the Kulube. Can thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenBranagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    67
    16
    11
    0
See reviews for
18
178
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked at the last minute and got a very good deal. For the money the hotel was great. There are three pools but the little terraces at the sea edge are just brilliant. The rooms are basic but clean and more than adequate for a week in the sun. Breakfast was all it needed to be. Lunch time food was a little disappointing in having such a limited menu. Staff were very friendly especially Hussain by the seaside bar. I would recommend to anyone who needs a week in the sun without having noisy children around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was at the Kulube in late May, 2013. I had some concerns with hotels in the area as I know its still an up and coming tourist spot. This hotel was perfect and within a few hours I knew I had made the right decision! I couldn't have asked for more. The staff were incredibly friendly, the owner welcomed us with open arms and I was extremely satisfied with the beach front. Though a walk down a step hill (and its more of a jetty than a beach). The spot was private, secluded, and had easy access to the Sea. The food was great, drinks were available, swimming pool clean, view phenomenal, and the other guests were great. My favorite part was the location. It was close enough to the town that it was never an issue getting a taxi and we were in the center within five-minutes, but you were away from the tourist component and were able to feel like you were on a vacation as opposed to a weekend away with pals. I wouldn't recommend it for people looking for big nights out, loud and getting drunk all the time. There's plenty of hotels in town for that, but if you are looking to sample some culture, enjoy some nights out and dine in town. Perfect, Perfect, Perfect. Last thing. We stayed here because my wife wanted a Turkish Bath. This hotel has that and she loved it (as did I).

Room Tip: There have a wide selection of rooms. Basically you get what you pay for. I was able to sample both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare19801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our third visit to the Kulube and we were not disappointed! We had a lovely welcome from the staff and it was like we'd never been away! The breakfast choices were brilliant and the sea still turquoise blue and crystal clear! A relaxing and chilled out holiday yet again, made even better by the friends we made there! A Gem of a hotel in a great location on the outskirts of Kalkan, in the lovely Kalamar Bay!

Room Tip: This is not luxury accommodation but the rooms have good beds, they are clean and have free air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

this was our 6th visit to the Kulube and the place just gets better, the new rooms and facilities are very good but what makes the hotel so good is the staff. Haki who runs the restaurant has been there for years and greets us like old friends. Although the hotel is somewhat out of town this means that it is very peaceful and quiet and has its own direct access to the sea.
Breakfasts are good and the snacks at the beach bar are also good.
This year we took my wife's daughter and boyfriend after telling them how good Kulube and Kalkan is, they agreed and are looking forward to returning.
We have already booked for 2014 and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: new suites above pool are very nice and also rooms in the main hotel are quiet. Plenty of steps to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I came here last year with my mum and we came back again this year and had a fantastic time once again. The hotel staff couldn't do more to help you! The area is still as beautiful and relaxing as last time. Breakfasts are amazing with plenty of choice. Kulube is still as peaceful during the day with the bar only a few steps away for drinks, ice creams and food if you want something to eat. There is a Dolmus service in the evening which saves walking up cardiac hill into Kalkan at a cost of 2.50 Lira each.
Kalkan town has remained full of character with rooftop restaurants showing beautiful views and serving good quality food with brilliant service.
This year we came back for 10 days as 7 just wasn't enough last year, even though we still didn't want to leave this time!
We'd recommend going to Coast which is down by the harbour and having the flambéed steak and Gourmet where we had a lovely lamb dish which comes to you in a clay pot.
We met some amazing people at the hotel and have great memories of our holiday and we will be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our third visit to the Kalube after a break of 6 years, the wait was worth it. There had been a few changes with additional rooms built since we last visited but this did not impact on this fantastic hotel. As soon as we arrived the memories of our last visit came back, the view, the pool the bar. We arrived early morning and after a few hours sleep we had breakfast on the terrace before moving to the sun beds and doing nothing except swim from time to time to cool down. We had lunch each day which was just enough considering the mid day heat before more doing nothing for the afternoon. Each night was spent in Kalkan where you are spoilt for eating places then back to the pool bar to meet fellow guests to chat and put the world to rights. This must rank as one of the most friendly hotels in the world, the staff can not do enough for you. If you going. to Kalkan go to the Kalube,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulube Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulube Hotel

Property: Kulube Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah. Kalamar Koyu Funda Sok., Kalkan 34020, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#11 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kulube Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kulube Hotel has its own beach, private infinity pools in some rooms, and has a fine dining restaurant at seaside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kulube Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulube Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing