We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kulube Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dionysia(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zinbad(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elixir(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samira Resort(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$38
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PaperMoon Hotel & Aparts(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Hotel Kalkan(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pirat(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
176
77
23
13
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
77
23
13
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate covegolden retrieverthe salt water poolbeach bardirect access to the seaomelettesteep hillturkeyhouse cafehalf hour walkhotel groundsbeach platformsshuttle bus timeskalkan townevening restaurantfantastic holidayamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 289 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Turkey, but it seemed most people staying at the Kulube were regular visitors, some coming more than once a year! And I can see why - the location is indeed fantastic, it was marvellous to wake up to that sea view each morning. And the location of the sunbeds by the sea was great too - super-clear water with lots of fish. (Non-swimmers beware though - not very good for paddling!)

We had a "duplex" room (really a mini-villa) - ours had the luxury of two showers! The furnishing was rather sparse, though adequate.

We felt, though, that the proposition would have been even more attractive if the hotel management would accept occupation on a self-catering basis, instead of threatening removal of any food and drink brought in by guests. Particularly as the food offered by the hotel was not brilliant - breakfast was good, lunch no more than OK, and dinner rather poor by Kalkan standards. We had no complaints about the staff though - Hakki in particular (seemed to be restaurant manager) was great.

Yes, it is a fair trek into town - 25 minutes by our reckoning, and we are not particularly slow. It's uphill then down, both ways, with a very steep initial climb from the hotel. We found this too much like hot work, even on a late September evening - walking back was OK though, as the grade was more gradual. But we found the Dolmus (public minibus) times fitted fine with our schedules going into town, and the occasional taxi coming back was easy to find and fairly cheap. (TL 17 or thereabouts.)

The choice of restos in Kalkan was just great - our idea of heaven. We were only disappointed once (some dry hake at the (upper) Ali Baba - could well have been a one-off) - our favourite was the Agora, but the Olive Garden, Sade and Korsan (Fish Terrace) were also very good.

The only downside to Kalkan, in our view, was that it was very much a British resort - 100% reliant on tourism, and hardly any non-Brits to be found. Not our ideal when we are on holiday. But we may well go back to Kalkan - if we do, we would happily stay at the Kulube again, and we would try even more restaurants!

Room Tip: All duplexes have super sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BampaOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Myself and my partner visited this hotel in June last year. I've been meaning to write this for ages!

There is very little, if nothing to fault about the Kalube. What makes it so special is the staff and the location. From the beginning to the end of our trip the staff did everything they could to make our stay the best it could be. I have regrettably forgotten the name of the man who oversaw operations but he was absolutely amazing - before you even knew there was something that needed fixing he had done it - from him moving an umbrella to block the sun from your eyes to make sure that plates were dispensed with as soon as you had finished. Mustafa, one of the waiters who served in the snack bar restaurant always had a cheery word and bounded up and down the steep stairs all day getting drinks and bringing them to you on your sun lounger. I have travelled all over the world, and been to very few hotels (even 5 star ones) where the hospitality rivalled that of the Kalube.

The location is beautiful, overlooking the bay, which you can look out on every morning from the terrace where breakfast is served. The 'beach' area where you can access the sea is lovely and the cove there is ideal for swimming. We chose to spend every day sunbathing down there rather than at the pool at the top but that also looked very nice. We never had any problems with sunloungers either - there were always plenty to go round. The hotel is a little way out of town and there is no dispute that the walk up a steep hill is hard but we did it every day to work off all the food we ate! There is a shuttle bus that runs regularly though so you don't have to walk and the slightly further trip into town is worth it for the views that the hotel enjoys.

We stayed in a duplex type apartment - there was a living room area downstair and bedroom and bathroom upstairs - which we really liked. Some people have commented that it was hard to get your case upstairs but we didn't have any problem. The apartment was cleaned every day and when we arrived and the day before we left the bed was decorated in rose petals which was a really nice touch. There was a mini bar but we didn't have anything out of it. The only downside was the air conditioning as due to it being operated by the key in the door you couldn't leave it on when you were out, which meant we had to sit outside sometimes to let it cool down when we got back, but it was a minor point.

The hotel consists of a newer apart across the road and a slightly older part (which is where the swimming pool, restaurants etc) were. There is hardly any distance between them and I never saw an apartment in the newer part but we were pleased we were based in the slightly older bit. There are two restaurants on site and a snack bar. We ate at the snack bar daily and had no complaints at all about the food or the price. We had a drink at the bar of couple of times which was also very nice and is also where you have breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was lovely - plenty to choose from - traditional Turkish cold meats, cheeses, bread etc but also eggs cooked any way you wanted them and lovely fresh juice.

Kalkan itself is a lovely resort. There are loads of lovely restaurants to choose from - both down by the harbour and roof top ones. You could stay there over a month and try a new one every day. Everything we ate was out of this world and the price was very reasonable. If you were back at home, they would be twice the price. The town itself has a nice little harbour and quite a few quaint little shops. It's the first time we have been and we would love to go back - if we did we would stay at the Kalube again - no hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ms_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Hi I'd just like to agree with Amy who I believe was at the kulube at the same time as us. We have been several times and plan to return to kalkan next year . We won't be returning to the kulube as we have a villa booked by I can assure you it's not too far away for the odd breakfast and visit the fantasic staff. Although some other people we've met on both stays at the kulube are returning,so we'll definitely meet for a catch up. If it is Amy we met hope to see you and A next year, Eve x don't hesitate, once you go to kalkan, you will more than likely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planeteve68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were back again - the 3rd time in four years. We love Kulube generally but were sad to find that the courtesy minibus no longer runs. This is a mistake as the hotel is a good distance from the town and the paid-for minibus can get very overcrowded in the evening. On the plus side, it is a wonderfully peaceful setting and mercifully free of children for those who have outgrown the need for child-friendly accommodation! The steps, mentioned by many, must be born in mind when booking. They make the hotel unsuitable for the disabled. The trip down to the cove and the clear blue sea is most rewarding. The staff are fantastic - don't listen to the detractors, be polite and they will be too. Alas, however, we were told things would change and I doubt very much it will be for the better, just more expensive!

Room Tip: pay a bit extra to get a larger room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As the old saying goes the curate's egg was "good in parts". Same applies to Kulube. It has a quiet location away from the dogs, bars and traffic in town, but then is again a long arduous walk up and down cardiac hill and it only has an intermitent bus (Dolmus) service to town. It is lovely to swim directlly down the steps from your room in the sea but then they make it freely available to everyone outside the hotel anyway so you may find it full of people from rented villas etc so not be abble to get a sunbed. The bar and meal service was poor when we were there, expensive and poor quality, much better and cheaper to go up to 'House', 'Cafe Vita' or 'Aqua' all up cardiac hill but worth using rather than the poor service at the hotel. The rooms and facilities and frankly tired but if it is sunny that doesnt seem to matter so much. If it rains they have no facilities to alleviate the boredom. We heard a rumour that the newer part over the road may be sold off as timeshares next year. We had to change rooms as the first one offered was musty and tired. If you don't have a superior room, be prepared for very small accommodation.

As I say if the sun shines, you don't mind eating and drinking away from it and you are fit enough to walk up and down a lot it is worth a visit if you can get a deal.......

Room Tip: Go for the best, the small standard rooms seem to be very small and poor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KismetWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews