We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views and great chill out”
Review of Kulube Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kulube Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning views and great chill out”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Kulube Hotel is about a 20 minute strenuous walk from the centre of Kalkan - a dolmus runs several times a day in to town (last one 8pm) for 2 TYL and a taxi back is about 12TYL. The views across the bay from the hotel are stunning, and it's very peaceful by the water which is crystal clear and great for snorkelling. Plenty of comfy sunbeds (despite some Brits putting their towels out on them first thing!) and a small snack bar.
We paid extra for a suite and I'm pleased we did, large room with sitting area beautiful views and blissfully quiet.
We ate at the Hotel but were disappointed - the standard of food in Kalkan is very high so the chef needs to improve his standards if they want more guests to use their restaurant.
Please note that although the Hotel is marketed as adults only, there were a few Turkish families there and some using the hotel for the day but it wasn't an issue for us.
Kalkan is a lovely resort with lots of great places to eat, cobbled streets and wonderful views across the bay. It has grown quite a bit since the last time we went 4 years ago - I just hope it doesn't get too big!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErmintrudeMook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    67
    16
    11
    0
See reviews for
18
178
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I have recently spent 1 week at the lovely Kalube hotel and I cannot rate it highly enough. When we first arrived, we were a bit worried by how long it took the bus to transport us from the main centre of Kalkan but in fact, this did not prove to be a problem. An energising 20 minute walk or a short hop on the regular shuttle bus was a small price to pay for the peaceful environment and stunning views. The highlight of this hotel compared to others in Kalkan is the access to the small but perfectly formed beach area (not really a beach, more sunbeds on the rocks and access to the crystal clear med). This hotel is perfect for anyone who wants to relax in beautiful surroundings, with access to sea and two pools. Not so good for people who don't like steps and hills or those expecting 5 star bedrooms- they are clean but simple, although the showers are great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I (26 and 25) spent one week at the Kulube from 18-25 July 2011.
It is with some reluctance and regret that I rate this hotel 4/5 instead of 5/5. This really is a fantastic hotel and we could have had a wonderful stay, but there were some aspects (which, to be fair, are more than likely unique to our particular experience and may not impact on your holiday) which have prevented me from awarding top marks.

To get the negatives out of the way quickly:

1) This hotel is advertised as adult only. Indeed, as far as we could tell, there were no paying guests at the hotel with children. However, the owners of the hotel did allow their Turkish friends to visit and bring children along. This was disappointing.

2) The owners also allowed a Turkish couple to visit several times during our stay accompanied by their unruly and, frankly, dangerous dog. My boyfriend and I are animal lovers and I never thought an animal could negatively affect one of my hotel reviews, but its owners were incredibly irresponsible and the dog was unusually aggressive. It was always off leash and roaming alone around the pool bar and pool area, beach deck and reception and was constantly barking/snarling at passers by. On one occasion its aggression brought a young boy to tears and on another, when my boyfriend and I returned to the hotel from dinner in town, it charged at us unprovoked (again, barking and snarling) and, when we tried to walk away from it calmly, it nipped at my ankles. One evening my boyfriend had to get out of bed and walk up to the pool bar to see the couple to complain, as it had been barking incessantly for almost half an hour just meters from our door in the very early hours of the morning.

Whilst this was not a hotel dog, I think the hotel owners ought to take responsibility for the friends (and accompanying pets) they allow into the hotel environment, and they really ought to have a little more consideration for their paying guests.

To be clear, the hotel does have its own dogs, but they are very well behaved.

3) Our room was small. We did book last minute and paid only half price for our holiday (just under £330 per person for the package including breakfast), so we let this one go, although I have paid far less for budget holidays in the past and have never stayed in such a poky room. Had we paid full price we would have been extremely disappointed. There was only just enough room for two single beds pushed together and our empty suitcases. There was barely enough space to get to the cupboard and to get in and out of the cramped bathroom you almost had to sit in the sink! I think we drew the short straw as it appeared to be the only room of its kind, situated at the end of a row on a very awkward corner. All the other rooms had much bigger frontages. I think we were just unlucky but it’s worth noting that, clearly, not all rooms in this hotel are of the same specification.

And now to the good stuff…

The hotel grounds are set in an absolutely beautiful spot with sea views from every room and (aside from the occasional child and unruly guest dog, see above) the area is really quiet. I have stayed in Kalkan before and this is the best hotel location I’ve come across. Although it is right at the end of the bay, there are regular buses which take you to the centre for just 2 TL. A taxi back late in the evening is around 12 TL.

There are two pools (one fresh, one salt water) and a private beach area too. There were plenty of padded sun beds and umbrellas to go round, even at the end of July when the hotel was full.

The continental style breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from and the lunch menu, although limited, was all freshly prepared and very good quality. We always ate dinner in town so I cannot comment on dinner at the Kulube. You'd be mad to stay at the hotel rather than eat dinner in town anyway, as Kalkan has so much to offer.

The hotel staff were friendly and eager to please. Rooms were cleaned regularly and to a good standard. Our towels were changed (and displayed decoratively with flowers on our beds) a number of times during the week.

Kalkan itself is a “must visit.”

If you manage to get a late deal for the Kulube, are not too bothered about “adult only” and are willing to take the chance on a small room, then you can’t really go wrong here.
We may return ourselves, but not at full price, and with slightly different expectations!

(I would point out that the hotel, and in fact Kalkan itself, is very hilly, with steps and slopes at every turn and, as such, is not suitable for those with walking difficulties.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ach85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is located at the top of a hill so is mainly ideal if you have a car, otherwise its quite a long walk!
However once you get to the top, the hotel setting is really amazing, and you can dive right into the sea from the hotel courtyard.
The rooms were average, but clean. Breakfasts were good.
I would return mainly for the setting of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naazia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

situated out of the way in a quiet area - excellent facilities and service, with a beautiful small secluded bay for swimming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Kulube hotel, Kalkan. We didnt really want to leave as this little hotel virtually has it all!! Our room had 2 single beds, 2 bedside tables, a dressing table and stool, a lovely ornate armchair and a stocked fridge, a wardrobe, as well as a cd player, hairdryer and a very powerful shower! Outside we had a table with 2 chairs and aircon was free!
The bar staff were friendly and cheerful at all times, nothing was too much for them! The breakfast choice was amazing and the chef was always on standby to cook omelette or scrambled eggs, with filling of your choice! The hotel was clean at all times and the maid service was excellent, we had several towel changes and the rooms were cleaned very well. Some signs of wear could be seen but really nothing worth mentioning, the sunbeds and umbrellas were plentiful, and there were so many sunbathing terraces to choose from, you were spoilt for choice! There were lots of steps, everywhere, but this added to the quirkiness of the hotel, but obviously anyone with walking or breathing difficulties would not be able to stay at the Kulube!
The bar was relaxed and welcoming and well stocked. The bartenders were lovely!
The sea at the Kulube is amazing, so blue and clear it looks more like a pool! It is great for snorkelling and swimming, it was so warm and inviting!! The sunbeds all have cushioned covers and umrellas were plentiful for the welcomed shade! The Kulube seafront restaurant was great with the most amazing picture perfect views and lots of little sparrows to watch as you ate!
We met some lovely people, which made our stay at the Kulube very pleasant indeed, it was a great little hotel ideal, for rest, relaxation, sunbathing and swimming!
If you want entertainment or noise, dont go!! If you want a peaceful chilled out holiday, book now!!
A dolmus runs from the hotel into Kalkan Marina or Town, for 2 TL and a taxi back from town is 11 TL, there are plenty of restaurants in town to suit all budgets and tastes!
Once you go to Kalkan you get bitten by the Kalkan bug and you will want to go again! This was our second holiday in Kalkan and hopefully not our last!!
There are plenty of excursions to go on, a boat trip is a must as you get to swim in some amazing bays! We went on the sea Bella, this year, which sailed around the Kalkan Bay, the Captains wife cooked an amazing lunch on board, then cake for afternoon tea, as well as watermelon! One of the crew was a double for Captain Jack Sparrow and entertained us as well as serving drinks, diving in at all the bays to tie up the boat, and collecting mud for the mud bath at one of the beaches! He ended the day with a Turkish belly dance jeered on by the boats real Captain and the guests!
To sum up Kalkan, a great atmosphere, chilled and relaxed, ............A jewel in the med!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Would highly recommend this lovely hotel. The room was spacious, clean, modern with air conditioning and just great - can't fault it. The staff had a great sense of humour, were extremely attentive, including the house maids who had a wonderful sense of fun. With special thanks to Arif who brightened our day each morning with his bright smiles and helpfulness. We are already planning our return visit next year, just go there - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kalkan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#8 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#15 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulube Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulube Hotel

Property: Kulube Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah. Kalamar Koyu Funda Sok., Kalkan 34020, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#11 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kulube Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kulube Hotel has its own beach, private infinity pools in some rooms, and has a fine dining restaurant at seaside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kulube Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulube Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing