We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There at the same time”
Review of Lizo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lizo Hotel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am sorry Mr and Mrs Hewitt did not have a good time and that full English is not served in a budget Turkish hotel. However the Turkish breakfast is great and served with tea coffee and apple tea and is substantial and sustaining.

Perhaps Mr and Mrs Hewitt's unimpressed attitude may have more to do with their uncomfortable feelings or maybe their expectations were beyond the services that can be provided by a small family run hotel.

I therefore suggest that they book an all inclusive holiday in a 5 star hotel.

However I have booked to return to the Lizo in May!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I fully agree with the comments made by the reviewer after their visit in September 12.

We visited in October and clearly the season end couldn't come quick enough for Ali. Sarah was away visiting the UK when we arrived and within two days we were very unimpressed by his apparent mood swings. It was very clear to see and all guests we met commented on it.
This made us feel very uncomfortable and put us on our guard for the rest of our stay.

On the whole the accommodation was good but I couldn't believe that you had to buy fruit juice as an extra for breakfast as well as cereals. I have never experienced this in any other hotel, guest house or bed and breakfast I have stayed at abroad or in the UK.

Kalkan is a fabulous place to stay and the Turkish people we met were incredibly friendly.

We wil certainly return again one day but won't stop at the Lizo again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

If you want good value for money provided by a nice people book the Lizo Hotel.
We and many others will do so next year.
Much of Sarah and Ali's business comes from returning customers we all know why.
Thank you Ali and SaraJ and C

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwb2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Suddenly we decided we wanted a cheap week of guaranteed sunshine in late September - after this truly horrible British spring and summer - and the weather in Turkey seemed a better bet than the rest of the Med. Jewel in the Crown offered the Lizo as being a popular resort hotel with no kids,karaoke and quiz nights and the picture of the rooftop restaurant clinched it. So yes it's basic - but then so is the price. But if you're seeking a small, clean and friendly bolt hole of a hotel, believe me this is it. Almost everyone we spoke to was on a return visit and this speaks volumes for Ali and Sarah. The home cooking at the Lizo was every bit as good as in much more expensive places down town and the views from the open air restaurant looking down across the harbour by night were simply dazzling. Obviously we could all moan about the odd missing sink plug but the sheets and pillows were clean, towels were changed everyday and air con kept the super clean room cool for an extra £3 a day. And far from being a hustler I'm afraid Ali went out of his way to save us money, with advice on everything from the best exchange rate deals to local transport tips. The result was by far the best value last minute package break we've ever found anywhere - long may it continue.

Room Tip: Book a bit earlier than a week before !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bleriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of our time there. The hosts Ali and Sarah are as helpful as they could be and very friendly, the comments about Ali being off with some guests are rubbish as he is a businessman and of course would like you to eat at his restaurant every night, you cannot expect him to have a smile on his face 24/7, they work long hours and like all human beings, get tired.
We ate in the restaurant 3 times, the food was excellent and the Lamb shank night, fish night and saturday BBQ are definitely worth a visit.
The rooms are basic but you must remember what you are paying per night, this is a 2 star establishment not 5 star, even then if you were not happy with something Ali and Sarah were very happy to sort it out for you, speak up then and there not at the end of your holiday.
The guests we met were good company and we had some good nights at the bar with a variety of people of different ages, breakfast was Turkish but you can pay a little extra for omelettes, soft boiled eggs, yoghurt with honey or jam, yum, fresh orange juice, it is not loads of money for these extras, again remember how much your room is costing you for the night.
There is a small pool but big enough to sit round and relax after going to the market or after a day trip which Ali can organise for you for a good price. There is even an honesty book where you can get your own drinks, ice creams or water and just write down what you have had, i have never seen that before.
You pay extra for air conditioning (£3.20 a day) and for the safe (£1.10 a day) but when you think your room is only costing you about £20 a night for 2 then you cannot moan about that.
The hotel is situated away from main town, which means less noise, about 10 minute walk, but there are many restaurants and bars along the Kalamar Road where the hotel is situated to visit.
So although the rooms are basic, they are clean, towels changed everyday and have a little veranda, i would go back without hesitation, just remember 2 STAR not 5 STAR, the best 2 star hotel i have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new buildings which are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileyTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having stayed in Kalkan before in other hotels we were really looking forward to returning for a week in the sun to chill out & were not disappointed.
We have a great time at the Lizo.
Ali & Sarah are excellent hosts supported by their family / small staff.
We knew where the hotel was on the Kalamar road and knew it was a 10 minute walk into the centre and a gradual incline coming back.
The hotel offered great value for money but don't expect 5 star accommodation.
The rooms are basic, clean & functional with good air con, the rooms were serviced daily & we had fresh towels and a nice balcony with a view. The shower was good but could have done with more pressure.
The drinks were reasonably priced and there was an honesty system by the pool so you just wrote what you wanted in a book took your drinks & paid later.
The bar closed around 12ish which I am sure was good for those people in the rooms below but a couple of times it would have been nice to stay later, although Ali had to be back early for breakfast.
Breakfast was good and typical of what most places offer (bread,tomatoes, olives, cucumber, cake, jams etc) but with good coffee & turkish tea on offer & we loved the eggy bread we had one day!
One of the main things we loved was the communal atmosphere at breakfast and in the evening sitting on the top terrace chatting over drinks to Ali, Sarah & the other guests. (perhaps we were lucky as we had an amazing crowd in the hotel & we got on with everyone!)
Free wifi on the top terrace was useful, and a book exchange was also great.
We did not eat at the hotel but there were various themed nights and a reasonable menu, we just preferred to go into town and come back for drinks later.
We also enjoyed the home made sandwiches on the last day which we bought to take to the airport.
Overall we had an excellent time & would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great holiday at a reasonable cost, and we would return.
It is hard to find fault with this hotel, and I suppose other reviews saying the rooms could benefit from upgrading are fair but when you only pay £20 per night for 2 with breakfast you cannot be too critical & Ali told us he was upgrading a number of rooms over the winter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days stay at the Lizo Hotel, rooms basic but spotless they were cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. We met some very nice people stopping there who had stayed there several time, we would certainly go back. Small pool, but adequate, nice bar and roof terrace with spectacular views of Kalkan bay (one not to be missed).

Sarah and Ali where very accommadting and we could not fault them in any way, the same goes for all the staff who worked there.

Hope Gordon and Sue from Preston had a good last night and journey home we hope to bump into them at Kalkan in the future.

Debbie & Dave - West Bromwich

Room Tip: Perhaps a ground floor - due to the steep walk up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.5 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#22 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalkan Suites
Kalkan Suites
#24 of 40 in Kalkan
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizo Hotel

Address: Milli Egemenlik Cad. Kalamar Yolu No:57, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $37 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizo is owned and run by the Ay family. It has cozy atmosphere and we try to make you feel at home and relaxed. Lizo restaurant is famous for its traditional home cooked foods. Outstanding views across Kalkan bay and mountains. Small adequate swimming pool with sunbeds. This hotel is not recommended for children. Safe boxes available. Air conditioning available in all rooms. Board is Bed & Breakfast. 25 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lizo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizo Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing