We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalkan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalkan Regency Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September.
We travelled with Titan airways from the private jet terminal, which is all part of the service offered by Exclusive Escapes. This service was amazing! The whole experience, from checking in at the private jet terminal & sitting in the luxurious lounge to the service on the plane was quite outstanding considering the fact that this was a modestly priced holiday. Check in was only 1hr before the flight & the whole thing was very relaxing & well organised. Titan airways staff deserve a special mention for their unfailing level of service with a smile - as they say "flying as it used to be". We travel club class frequently with BA but feel that the Titan staff were infinitely better!
Now for the hotel - it's hard to criticise a hotel that so many people feel is obviously "spot on" and why would we want to? Well, on the whole we wouldn't! The location is fantastic - amazing views, especially from the bar & restaurant & walking distance to the town & the harbour. The staff are very good & the family who run the hotel are very keen to please & very warm & welcoming.
We had a standard room which was perfectly adequate & kept very clean & had a good view of the pool area & bay.
The food is "ok" but could be better. Breakfast was adequate, lunch was good, but the evening meals we found a bit "hit & miss" & preferred to eat in one of the many restaurants in town & then walk it off!
The main thing that put us off this hotel is probably the thing that most people like about it - the fact that there are so many "repeaters" & that it feels a bit too cosy & like a Saga reunion at times! Maybe it was because of the time of year that we chose to visit? We may have had a different experience earlier in the year. Generally, the age group was post retirement & we would have preferred more of a mixture of ages. Clearly this is not a criticism of the hotel itself, but something that needs to be taken into account if you're in a younger age group. There is the usual problem with sunbeds being reserved very early in the morning & the hotel don't actively do anything to discourage this, which is a shame!
The gulet cruise included in the price of the holiday is a very enjoyable day & well worth doing.
As the previous reviewer says, it does have a kind of " cruise ship" feel about it - something that the repeat guests obviously like, but not for us I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelaxat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    34
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
165
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
408 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We'd visited the Kalkan Regency four years ago to use the gym and also to try it as a lunch spot. This year we were tempted by the new pool rooms and booked a week in Ophiuchus courtesy of Exclusive Escapes who have an exclusive arrangement with the hotel during the summer.

Flying from Stansted and paying extra for the premium service proved to be one of our best, short-haul flying experiences and reminiscent of the ill-fated Silverjet that used to fly from its own terminal at Luton. Arrival at Dalaman was also remarkably stress free as we bypassed the usual customs and baggage collection and went straight to the CIP lounge where they even had refreshments laid on. The private transfer to Kalkan wasn't nearly so stress free, though, although the driver's appalling driving was probably no worse than his colleagues.

The greeting at the hotel was friendly and the pool room turned out to be every bit as good as that shown on EE's website, with a really spacious sleeping/sitting area, an equally generous bathroom and a fantastic decked pool area that basked in sun from after breakfast until sundown. Nice touches included remote controlled blinds on the bathroom windows. Minibar prices were a bit less than usual but wine is still pricey. No comments were made about us bringing wine in from outside although they clearly prefer that you don't. WiFi is available throughout the hotel and was generally reliable except when everyone was trying to access the internet at the same time. The hotel has a generous sized pool and we noted that guests were quick to reserve their places by the pool for the day's sunbathing.

Breakfasts actually highlighted both the good and less good aspects of the hotel: a wide range of options, including numerous variations on eggs cooked by a chef in situ, but a seating area and service that seemed to be struggling a bit with the expansion in room numbers and not helped by guests who seemed to regard it their right to linger and chat a little too long.

Food at the Kalkan Regency has a good reputation and there are a number of theme nights - seafood, lamb and BBQ - during the week. We tried the seafood night, expecting a varied buffet experience, but it was just a table d'hôte menu rather than the usual a la carte - the food was quite good, though.

Although the EE website referred to the gym being moved elsewhere in the hotel, it's still where it was on the ground floor adjacent to a sunbathing area. The equipment in the gym has been expanded a bit, but as it gets the direct sun, it needs half an hour of a/c to get the temperature down to something bearable.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Kalkan Regency but this was largely because of the pool room and the friendly staff. The standard rooms seemed to have all the allure of staying on a cruise ship, with one small balcony above another and generally being rather cheek by jowl, although clearly that's what some guests enjoy. There's also a fair amount of wasted space in the hotel - the area designated for games and TV, for instance - that could do with bringing up to a higher spec to accommodate guests during periods of inclement weather.

Room Tip: Definitely the pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having stayed here for the last 6 years,I am pleased to report that this hotel continues to offer a wonderful holiday.From all the staff to the family,none of which can do enough for their guests,make it an excellent experience.The Al a carte menu has been further improved,and with the views from the dining room,in my opinion make it one of the best places to eat in Kalkan.
The holiday was so good that we have already booked for next June

Room Tip: Book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
378 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a week here and am reporting a memorable experience in the Regency.As reported elsewhere the rooms are fine but small but this is not about rooms... This hotels position above the town ,the staff ,the food ,puts it on a different level to the norm.i travel frequently but have never experienced the friendly ,unassuming but superior service one gets here.Its family run and nothing is too much trouble ... They also have a great chef and the theme nights are excellent and good value.. Still recovering from the BBQ ! They say never trust a skinny chef well no need to worry here ! Our package also included a Gulet cruise which was fantastic... Talking to fellow guests some have returned for up to 20 times which says a lot about the Regency experience. We'll done to all especially Onder who was a star !
No hesitation in re- booking ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited the Kalkan Regency this summer as a couple and had a fantastic time. We didn't use the exclusive escapes chartered flight so we arrived on a Monday but still had a warm welcome - the family that run the Kalkan are wonderful and tell you repeatedly that nothing is too much trouble - Its a very relaxed hotel where you can feel at home. Our room was comfortable with great views of both the bay and further out to sea. Fantastic pool! Our hammam was fun but a little disappointed by the rest of the spa facilities - massage felt very rushed and they seemed bored!
We wouldn't usually eat in the hotel, preferring to explore the local scene, but Kalkan's restaurant scene - whilst large - is not varied and one nights cuisine is very similar to the next and not very exciting or fresh. Luckily, the hotel offers great options - definitely try the BBQ night as it's a lot of fun, as is the Lamb night. They will also take you on a complimentary tour of their farm in the Turkish mountains which is interesting and very picturesque.
Do not miss the gulet trip - a really fantastic day out - you don't go anywhere in particular but drift around making a couple of stops to swim, exactly what holidays are about - a perfect relaxing day!
As it was our first time in Turkey, we weren't sure what to expect but Kalkan itself is lovely - not quite as quaint as we had expected but much more relaxed than the bigger resort towns that we considered.
Would return to this hotel if I was looking for somewhere to instantly relax and feel at home.

Room Tip: Check the website as they have photos of the view from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraMac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

On the hill overlooking the town. It is a great hotel though standard rooms are a little small, The breakfast is nothing to write home about but the rest of the food is really excellent. Lovely pool and relaxation area, with very helpful and nice staff. Beautiful views. The trip on the boat is just not to be missed, just wonderful and great catering, not crowded and a shear delight. All in all a great place to go with plenty of fine restaurants in the short walk down to town, ( though you can easily get a taxi if needed). Like most of the Mediterranean the taxi drivers are nuts, so I just closed my eyes and prayed. The holiday was booked through Luxury Escapes and with reasonably priced business class they were the best flights we have been on with buffets at either end and EVERYTHING taken care of, luggage, taxis, rapid movement to gates.
Well worth a try.

Room Tip: They are all quite secluded unless you upgrade or book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family and I visited the Kalkan Regency for 10 days and I have to say it was the most fantastic 10 days holiday.The hotel is owned and run by a family who really care and have instilled their enthusiasm into all of the staff . The hotel is set in a fabulous location over looking the sea. The food was also excellent. They have a bar b q night on a Wednesday where all the staff participate in Turkish dancing and has a really good atmosphere. The fish night on a Friday would not make Gordon Ramsey swear , but ask them for the recipes for one of his restaurants. A good number of people staying there and been to the hotel on more than one occasion. The day trip on the gullet was a wonderful experience, again with friendly and caring staff. Well done to all at the Kalkan Regency. We will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.5 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Likya Residence and Spa
0.4 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#8 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kalkan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalkan Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalkan Regency Hotel

Property: Kalkan Regency Hotel
Address: Kalkan Mah. Gonca Sok. No:2/6, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency family are continually seeking to improve the already wonderful experience of staying at this fine hotel, and an incredible transformation has taken place over the past three years. The adjacent land has been acquired and the Kalkan Regency has now literally doubled the size of its grounds whilst only increasing the total number of rooms by five!The stunning pool has been improved even further with terraces and lawns extending out into the landscape and steps leading down to the new wild gardens with hammocks and shady spaces scattered throughout. These in turn lead onto the newly planted orchard.At the same time only eight new, entirely private, suites have been created. Each features a private pool, decking (some with additional garden) and has a contemporary minimalist design with feature walls of glass looking directly out to sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalkan Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing