We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a family affair....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #2 of 26 Kalkan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's a family affair....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our time at the Courtyard hotel, Kalkan was too short. We are already missing the stunning views from the breakfast terrace and the ever helpful team in this small family run hotel in the heart of the old town. The rooms are comfortable, stylish and have character derived from the fact this is an historic building the family have restored. Just a stones throw from the town beach this is a perfect place to enjoy the town, the food and the crystal clear waters. And guys go and have a proper Turkish shave at the near by barbers, amazing.

Room Tip: We had the room with a small balcony with a view over the roof tops to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
91
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel and very helpful staff. We were made to feel very welcome. The rooms are on the small side but there is a great roof deck with beautiful views. The hotel's breakfast was very good and the hotel in near many good restaurants. We also had a car and they secured a space for us right by the hotel.
While Kalkan is a wonderful laid-back destination in it's own right, there are many areas around it worth exploring. We visited the ruins at Xanthos, Letoon, and Patara. Patara also has a popular beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcbondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I rented a car in Dalaman and drove eastwards and found this gem part way along the coast. The town of Kalkan is in the form of an amphitheater with sloping long steps and flat paving stones as the internal pedestrian streets in the village sloping down to a charming little harbor filled with gulets for rental tours on the spectacular turquoise water amid small deserted islands just off the bay of Kalkan. The White House is a very easily findable guesthouse with the customary roof terrace overlooking the town and the harbor with the islands beyond. Hussein and his wife Julia are charming and responsive hosts and Hussein's English is excellent and informative about the options for day trips from there. The day trips are plentiful - from sea-going to inland adventures and he can arrange for any of these for you. He often puts up groups who are hiking the Lycean Way nearby. The breakfast is large, beautiful to look at and delicious, including an assortment of nuts fruits (dried and fresh), vegetables, cheeses, eggs, breads and jams which is sufficient to also qualify as a light picnic if it is too much at the beginning of the day. The room we had was impeccably clean and apparently freshly painted with an ensuite bathroom. As I wrote in my journal while sitting on the roof terrace the Call to Prayer floated over the magical village and I didn't want to leave!.

Room Tip: Although we did not have a terraced room, it was quiet and a perfectly adequate size for us. Undoub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scamperella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

First, the location of the property is stunning - situated on a hill overlooking the bright blue ocean below. The crisp white buildings are set among beautifully landscaped walkways and common spaces. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with lovely views. The new section of the hotel is really quite something! The owners recently acquired the buildings located right next to the original building. Instead of knocking the buildings down, they left the structures in tact. Tons of historical elements, fixtures, woodwork, etc. remain. Their attention to detail is evident from start to finish!

Add in a superb and hospitable staff and the lovely town of Kalkan, and you have all of the makings of a perfect, perfect place. I highly, highly recommend this place. A true gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

A pretty hotel with somewhat small room. Try to get one with a veranda, as the views are really good. A somewhat thick and rough topsheet on the bed, no shampoo in the bath. Good, freshly prepared breakfast and a lovely roof deck to have a sun down drink. Great location, just steps from the bar / restaurant center of town but far enough away that there was no appreciable noise. Nice wife / husband team run the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very kind and helpful staff - especially when my husband had a hospital emergency!
Chilled out and very relaxed atmosphere. A bit further from the beach than we anticipated.
Near to some very nice restauarants like Bouganville.

Room Tip: Try a sea view above ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klette0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staying in Kalkan, at the White House, was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Turkey this year. I'd heard good things about Kalkan, and this hotel, but was so impressed when i arrived, that i cursed myself for not having booked in for longer!

The White House is run by extremely friendly, but not at all overbearing staff. I was welcomed by Marion, who made me feel at home right away. The hotel is beautifully maintained, and generally just beautiful! My room was really lovely, with a little balcony, a spotless bathroom, and a comfortable bed.

The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Served on the terrace with the extraordinary view over the bay, by lovely staff, it was generous and delicious.

I would thoroughly reccommend that if you visit Kalkan (which you absolutely should) that you stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arkteia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dionysia
Hotel Dionysia
#17 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Suleyman Yilmaz Cad. 5 Nolu Sok. No:24-26, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the old town, just a few minutes walk from town beach and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing