We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapest place in town, serious value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelebek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelebek Hotel
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheapest place in town, serious value”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

It's the cheapest place in town and it's really nice, makes things simple yes?

It's a 5 min walk to heart of city centre, the rooms are spotless, free wifi, breakfast on top terrace with stunning view of Kalkan, has a pool, bar and pool table as well as a restaurant.

Haven't eaten at hotel yet but always smells delicious and always regret not just eating here.

It's a nice place and a great deal for the price. It's family run and has that feel to it.

Rob Aka http://Stophavingaboringlife.com

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    49
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
57
142
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Just returned from a week at Villa Lilyum in Kalkan as part of a group of 12 friends. The villa is spotless and very well looked after. The owner Mehmet was waiting for us on arrival and spent time with us explaining the layout, appliances, pool cleaning, bread delivery, supermarket delivery, taxis and restaurants leaving us with various phone numbers for anything else we might need!! The villa has 4 large en-suite bedrooms and 2 smaller bedrooms which share a bathroom on the top floor (there is another shower room on the ground floor - we were hoping for 6 en-suite rooms but nevermind). All the rooms have fantastic views and terraces overlooking the bay. There is room for everyone to eat together either inside or out - we did both both using the barbecue which we stocked from the local butcher, then another evening we had a meal cooked for us and brought to the villa by Mehmet's nephew - Hussein from Kalkan Guru Restaurant - fabulous! Mehmet's family also own another restaurant/bar - Ali Baba's on the main hill down to the harbour which also has fantastic food.
The only downside to this villa is if you don't like walking up hills!! The area is very steep and so some of us often caught taxis back from the bottom. Our group was also divided on our opinions of the street dogs who live in Kalkan (cared for by a local charity) as there is a feeding station quite near to the villa and so whenever we set off walking we were accompanied by our own pack of about 6 dogs! They were very friendly and just seemed to want to walk with us but some of our group were quite wary of them and a bit put off walking.
We went in a group of 12 adults but the villa would also be suited for families.
We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minkymoo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Forgot to write a review before. My friend and I stayed here for a week at the end of Oct 2009. The weather was fabulous all week. The family were very hospitable - the parents and their two elder sons, Always on hand to help. There are fabulous views from the top breakfast balcony and many of the rooms. My friend and I had a room each as such good value. We had side seaviews but I upgraded to a full sea view. I liked it that it was at the top of Kalkan so a little quieter. Easy to get to the bus station. Short 10 min walk down hill to get into town and a steep up hill to get back takes about 10 - 15 mins - but the open air bar at hotel was always open for a little night cap after the up hill walk or you can take a cab back. I had the top room facing the front with amazing, staggering views of the bay and balcony. I cannot stress enough how good the food in Kalkan is and the quality of restaurants. There is a little pebbly beach at the harbour but lots of boat trips to other coves. We used to take the dolmus to a fantastic very long beach about 15 mins away (can't remember name) but very very relaxing. We also took a dolmus to the Gorge which is well worth a visit and we went tubing down the river - fabulous.
The only negative for the hotel was the breakfast was very basic - bread, self service drinks, tomato, cheese, cake, yoghurt - but amazing views and very friendly. The paid food for lunch and dinner looked quite good although we didn't eat it and the pool area was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend hotel if you want a clean base with not too many frills with friendly hosts and amazing sea views and not too expensive and want to relax with the bonus of a pool. We ate out every night - the choice and quality was fabulous. It was also quiet at this time of year at the end of Oct as their main season ends then.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassionateTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We had a great time at the kelebek hotel the family are very friendly. We had one of the front facing room which was great waking up to teh fantastic view every morning, the room is very clean and this is the first hotel we have been in that has hot water no matter what time of day you have a shower. The food is excelent and is prepaired freshly every time you order it, we ate at the hotel nearly every day for lunch.
I would recomend the hotel to anyone we were at a 4* hotel last year in Turkey and it was dreadful so we were a bit apprehencive about the Kelebek because it was only a 2*, this hotel should be better rated as it was a 100 times better than the one we were in last year.
Kalkan is a lovely town but very hilly but we loved it
A big thank you to the family of the Kelebek for making our holiday great.
The Roy's from scotland

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Just returned from a week at The Kelebek, after reading some of the reviews wasn't really sure what to expect, especially as for 3 nights I went to stay with friends towards Kalamar Bay, would this cause Faik to scowl at me instead of smile?! Happily I can report that I found Faik and the rest of his family always welcoming,friendly and charming, with a great sense of humour. Maybe those people who found otherwise, were perhaps not that friendly themselves?
Prices at the hotel I found to be very reasonable - 5 lira for a beer which is the same as most other bars. The air con and safety deposit box charges I thought were very reasonable.
I only ate at the hotel once, but on that occasion the food was lovely - all freshly prepared. I was away for the Bar-B-Q nite but speaking with other guests it seemed it was a really good, fun night.
My room was perfectly comfortable and kept spotlessly clean, the bathroom was really quite small but loads of hot water for the shower. I should imagine if you are lucky enough to get one of the front facing rooms the views each morning would be fantastic.
There are bigger, smarter hotels in Kalkan - but you pay bigger, smarter prices!! If you want a clean, friendly, family run hotel, The Kelebek is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soozieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golspie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have just returned home after the most wonderful and relaxing holiday at the Kelebek Hotel. This family owned and run hotel gets top marks from us, we have never had a welcome and such service in any hotel we have ever stayed at. Faik and family just simply cannot do enough for their guests. We arrived as strangers and parted as friends. The hotel is a small, basic but very comfortable one with personal service coming as standard. The food is first class and as everyone has already said the BBQ night and the Friday 'Lamb shank' night are not to be missed. We are already making plans for our return to the Kelebek ASAP......WE JUST WANT TO BE THERE!!!!!

Kalkan itself if wonderful, nothing brash or over the top, just a wonderful town with the best atmosphere we have ever experienced. The daily trips down the hill from the Kelebek to the old town were magical, we met and made friends with so many of the locals and this made our walks around the town such good fun. To be greeted by people we had just met and talked with the day before was terrific. There is no hassle of the kind you get in the larger resorts, the restuarants people would very politely asked you to check their menus and were most friendly even when we ddecided to go elsewhere for dinner or lunch. Restuarants we must mention are Safron, Mousakka, Mavi, Rendevous and Ibo....food and service was first class in all of them. Just can't wait to return to Kalkan

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowMuchGolspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have just arrived back from our kalkan home. The Hotel Kelebeck is one of the best places we have stayed in. Only rated as a two star dont let this put you off, if you want homely basic comfort with people who care about you and not all your trimmings give it a go. The family are welcoming, and friendly, the dog Ash is lazy but loves the fuss. The rooms are cleaned every day and although not fitted with lush carpets are clean and very comfortable. Please please go to their weekly barbeque on a Tues this is a feast before your eyes, and the lamb shank night on a Friday is a must definately one of the best meals we had as you have to book it and it is cooked on that day for you.The meals during the day are also fab either for a snack or main meal. We met loads of people who had stayed there before so this to me speaks volumes.
Kalkan is beautiful this is not our first time there, the hotel is up a hill which makes the location a bit strenuous but bare in mind most of kalkan is up a hill, if you dont want the walk you can get a taxi for about £2 .
As for restaurants you are stuck for choice we only had one bad meal and that was at the Chinese DONT go there, I suppose that was our fault for wanting a chinese in Turkey.
Our favourites were the Nar, and Olive Gardens but the choice is never ending.
As for going back to the Kelebeck YES PLEASE every time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shezChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.9 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dionysia
Hotel Dionysia
#16 of 39 in Kalkan
190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Hotel

Property: Kelebek Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah.kalkan 4, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#6 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelebek Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing