We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in kalkan”
Review of Vanilya Bistro

Vanilya Bistro
Ranked #50 of 199 Restaurants in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vanilya Bistro serves breakfast, lunch, teatime snacks and dinner, throughout the day. Esra, the owner and the chef, cooks all of the food with a wonderful team, offering a lovely and welcoming atmosphere with delicious food. Along with burgers, sandwiches and salads, you can find traditional Turkish mezzes and vegetable dishes cooked with olive oil, also freshly baked breads and scones.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven in kalkan”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A little piece of heaven with excellent food run by a very warm and charming family. After first eating in the old town we have eaten here ever since.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheyhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    13
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great little local bistro...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely little local restaurant, just down from The Oasis Hotel where we were staying.
Can't do enough for you, such lovely people who will go the extra mile.
Ate there a couple of times, and the sea bass was wonderful...and a great price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddyjacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We discovered this place when we went to Kalkan in August 2013. It had fantastic food, great service and was really well priced. It's all homemade cooking and the food tastes fresh too. It had a lovely atmosphere and would be great for couples, friends or family

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
177 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pre flight breakfast”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate here on Monday morning 12/08/13 before leaving for the airport. My wife & I had the Turkish breakfast, choice of fried or boiled egg, cheeses, bread, honey, home made jam and tea.

My son had an English breakfast, my daughters a fruit salad each.

The total cost was 60 lira, £21!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great local food, super service, not to be missed.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recommended by a great rep friend (thank you Hayal) and more than lived up to her billing. A different menus every day according to what is available in the market - the meze starters were among the freshest I have had anywhere (and writing as a greek that includes a lifetime of mezes across the med..) aubergines, artichoke and chickpeas were all delicious. We had sea bream as a main cooked in a wine sauce according to a family recipe. The fish melted off the bone and was excellent. Home made dessert rounded off a very memorable meal. I've only visited once on a short stay but it was notable that a neighbouring diner who has had a flat here in Kalkan for 9 years made a point of seeking out Esra (the delightful owner) after she had moved on as the chef from Yali beach a little while ago. Such brand loyalty probably means that our experience is not unique. Don't go here if you want a view of the beach. Do go here if you want a warm welcome, great food and a very reasonably priced meal. 100TL for three course meal with wine for two.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michalakis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilya Bistro also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Vanilya Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing