We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard
Nearby Hotels
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dionysia(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zinbad(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kulube Hotel(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$86
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elixir(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Hotel Kalkan(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pirat(Kalkan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
88
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite houseold townperfect hostsroof terracelittle touchesnothing is too much troublelovely linensoft sheetsyogurtcomfortable bedturkeynext yearlovely balconymemorable stayshort strollturkish familynon residents
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 90 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at The Courtyard for 3 nights in September with friends. The location was lovely, set in a small winding street only a few minutes walk from the beach and the main shopping and restaurant area, but very quiet with a nice secluded feel. The roof top terrace where we ate breakfast was charming with superb views of the bay. My room in the newly converted Courtyard was lovely, spacious and well appointed with a large comfortable double bed, super mattress, pillows, bed linen, and a very nice bathroom. It's a lovely place and hard to think of anything which could be improved, there was only one thing that came to mind. I like to leave my windows open at night, and I did so anyway as I felt pretty secure in Kalkan, but as a woman on my own the thought did cross my mind that I would feel happier on the ground floor (with one window opening onto the little street) if the windows had an ornamental grill so I could safely leave them open, in the daytime too if I wished. Marian and Halil were very friendly and helpful hosts, and I would happily recommend The Courtyard as a great place to stay in Kalkan. The jasmine and melissa in the courtyard between the buildings was an extra treat - fabulously fragrant!

Room Tip: As my room was on the ground floor it was darker than the one my friend had on the upper floor. This would be an advantage in the summer months as it would be cooler (although there is air conditioning),however there is a difference, and the upper floor is a little more private.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Like the previous review we also had a 2 centre holiday 1 week at the White house and 1 week at Courtyard only getting back to the UK 7th Sept. Room 3 which we stayed in was amazing. The bed was very luxurious, comfortable with lovely linen. En suite bathroom was also lovely, with luxury white towels and toiletries, the shower was very powerful. The balcony overlooked the courtyard garden. It is in the very best location, Old Town just 2 minutes from the beach, shops, restaurants and harbour. The hosts Halil and Marion are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They have a great team who know how to look after their guests. The traditional turkish breakfasts eaten on the terrace are outstanding, beautiful fresh fruit, cheese, olives, tomato, cucumber, bread, yogurt, jam, honey, freshly squeezed orange juice and hot beverages. Eggs were also prepared to order with breakfast. The views from the terrace were stunning, overlooking the sea. We would have no hesitation to recommend the Courtyard to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly041, Owner at Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for booking the Courtyard for your special wedding anniversary. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Kalkan and the Courtyard. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The reviews are a great help to our business and also introducing new visitors from all over the world. Hope to see you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just back from 8 days at this exceptionally beautiful B&B.
There are two buildings: The Whitehouse (a little older and simpler but also lovely), and The Courtyard (lavishly and beautifully restored building). I stayed at The Courtyard, in a room on the first floor overlooking the stunning patio with flowering bougainvillea everywhere and fragrance of jasmine in the air.
My room was just perfect, very clean, with very nice linen, thick white towels and a very comfortable bed. The view from the balcony gave me joy every single time.
Breakfast on the terrace was plentiful, fresh, with lots of fruit, yoghurt and choice of eggs.
Marion and Halil own and run the place and are always at hand to help. Both are knowledgeable about Kalkan and willing to impart lots of information and make one's holiday a success. They are great hosts and I felt very safe (woman travelling alone), comfortable and happy staying at this really wonderful find. I loved it and will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are lovely and overlook the patio. There is also a room with a bathroom in a sort of cavern, which was really beautifully restored.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly041, Owner at Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for choosing the Courtyard for your holiday and for taking the time writing a review. This is a great help to us and it is good to have a review from a single traveller. We have had many single travellers over the years and although we reassure them that Kalkan is a great place for single visitors it is great to get it backed up from a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed at the White House a number of times. It thoroughly deserves all the accolade it has attained and Halil, Marion and the team are always delightful hosts. So, how to improve something which is close to perfection? Well the Courtyard achieves this by providing a luxurious yet still affordable option. We are hugely impressed by the quality and style achieved in each of he rooms and are definitely happy too recommend this to others (unless we can't get a room in future!)
Thanks to all for another memorable stay. David and Chez.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, as far as we can see. The is no swimming pool, but the sea is only a very short walk to a great man-made pebble beach
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

After a wonderful first week in the White House (see separate review) we moved across the garden to the Courtyard for week two. It is seldom you find two treasures in one location. The Courtyard was finally completed in early summer 2012 and when we spent two nights there at the end of last year's annual visit to Kalkan it surpassed all expectations. The renovation of the old building has been carried out meticulously and an exceptionally high standard of comfort has been achieved. The decor is sympathetic for the style of building with Halil and Marion making excellent decisions on the various finishes. Very comfortable beds are adorned with wonderfully soft sheets and a choice of pillows, and furniture has been chosen to complement the room. The ensuite shower room has a highly efficient shower, lovely soft towels and fragrant olive oil soaps. The air conditioning is efficient and very quiet.

Staying at the Courtyard you retain the ambiance and friendliness off a family run business where nothing is too much trouble. You can still enjoy your breakfast on the terrace of the White House overlooking the beautiful Kalkan bay. Alternatively you can choose to have your breakfast 'a deux' on your balcony or terrace. Having visited Kalkan annually for 13 years I was delighted to discover the White House about 8 years ago. The realising of Halil and Marion's dream of renovating the old house opposite has been delight for regular and new guests alike. With guests all treated more like family this could have been diluted with the additional rooms but they have been careful to maintain the ambience by simply bringing more of the family onto the team.

To my knowledge there is no other similar accommodation in Kalkan and we certainly intend to continue having a two centred holiday in the future. For those who haven't visited Kalkan before the Courtyard is situated in the old town which means it is walking distance to the many excellent restaurants and bars the village has to offer. Likewise the harbour is a short walk down the hill and from there you can take a boat to the one of the numerous beach clubs. The Courtyard breakfast taken on the terrace overlooking the bay is a beautifully presented plate of 10 (at the last count) fruits with two types of cheese, tomato, cucmber and olives. Creamy yoghurt, local honey and jam and freshly baked bread (brown and white) are also served. Eggs are always offered. All prepared to order. During the day and in the evening the same roof terrace is open for drinks for both residents and non-residents. The weekly BBQ is also enjoyed on the terrace with proper Turkish food prepared by Hulya and Huseyin. I would not hesitate to recommend the Courtyard to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and can be viewed on the web site. We have a room on the first floor adjacent to the footpath but have never been disturbed at night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly041, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your two centre holiday! Thanks again for spending the time to write some a great review - best wishes from us all at the Courtyard and look forward to seeing you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews