We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, Quality service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escudo terrace restaurant

Escudo terrace restaurant
Ranked #51 of 196 Restaurants in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, Quality service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful rooftop restaurant with an intimate feel. The food was absolutely delicious - everything we sampled and the staff were just delightful, couldn't help you enough. We came back a few times!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    40
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and charming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Staff really go out of the way to deliver excellent service without being overbearing. Food is very good but without being outstanding in context of Kalkan

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ians002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Perfect Sundowner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is an attractive terrace restaurant with the entrance tucked away on one of the side lanes in Kalkan Old Town.

To be guaranteed a table overlooking the bay you will need to book, but if you are very lucky, as we were, then you might get the prime spot from which to watch the sun go down over Kalkan’s rooftops.

Escudo isn’t a large restaurant, it’s compact, clean and the staff are eminently friendly with very good English. It’s always important to get Wifi which was immediately available. We really felt very welcome and weren’t surprised that within 30 minutes of our arrival the terrace was absolutely full of happy diners. Many of whom had obviously eaten there before, which I always see as a very good indicator of great food.

The complementary breads were home made an utterly delicious. I would have happily raided other tables for the olive and lemon bread and the mini sesame bun went down very well with the hummus and chilli salsa dips. Starters were excellent – Thai fishcakes were possibly the best I’ve ever had, and the broccoli soup, which initially seemed a curious choice was creamy beyond measure. The main courses, both fish, were Salmon with soy sauce and home made macaroni and Sea Bass grilled with garlic butter. Both were a fraction dry around the edges, but the overall taste was superb. When we mentioned the dryness our waiter couldn’t have been more apologetic.

Desserts were a wonderful Turkish rice pudding – presented in an earthenware dish rather than the tin foil so many restaurants resort to. I had a chocolate soufflé with local ice cream which was a perfect finale to a lovely meal. Of note too was the house wine – a local white Myra light enough to enjoy on a very warm evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinkleyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The second year running and doing really well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ismail and his brothers have made a real success of Escudo and opening the terrace to a seafront view has made a big difference. Lovely people, great food, good location and not as pricey as some. I would recommend you put it on your list to try

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa209942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having discovered this little gem last year I returned with my friends twice in our weeks stay in May. We again were not left disappointed and the food and service was excellent. There is a new menu this year with some nice additions to the favourites of before. I recommend the chicken stuffed with artichokes which is really tasty. The shrimps in butter for starter are melt in your mouth good and if you have room for something sweet the deserts are delicious. A really lovely family run place; you will not be left disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escudo terrace restaurant also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Escudo terrace restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing