We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Hotel Dionysia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dionysia
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We didn't stay here but ate in the rooftop restaurant on a recommendation from someone we met whilst in Kalkan. It has only recently opened and was fairly quiet, but the view was fantastic and we were made to feel really welcome. The food was probably the best that I had in Kalkan - not the most innovative but the best presented and cooked. The manager was charming - my partner had an upset stomach and couldn't eat much, and he made him a special herbal tea which cured his stomach bug almost immediately. We told him that we were going to the market the following day and he said that we could buy the herbs there. When we arrived at the market it was almost as though he was waiting for us - he took us to a stall which he thought would sell the herbs. Such a lovely man - all of the people we met in Kalkan were just the best.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank legallynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Dionysia is a small hotel in a great location close to the commercial centre & the great choice of restaurants in Kalkan. Rooms & shower rooms (no hair drier) are very small, but comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. They have ceiling fans & air conditioning.The whole hotel is maintained to a high standard and staff are friendly & helpful. Breakfast is an unchanging buffet, typical of a 3* Turkish hotel.
Lovely pool area & a resident masseur.
A great choice for couples looking to holiday in a relaxed environment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 3rd floor as bar is above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank toastedmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is our 3rd visit to Kalkan & the 1st to Hotel Dionysia & we found it to be a perfect location and hotel. The cleanliness of the hotel & rooms are something to be proud of, the staff are polite, friendly & can't do enough for you. All this put together completed our holiday.

The pool area is spotless, private & relaxing & the sea view rooms are stunning. Breakfast is simple but fresh & adequete. Extra's can be added at a reasonable cost. Room service is available & nothing seem's to be any trouble.

The roof terrace has an excellent bar area & comfy seating with spectacular views of the harbour. The restaurant was re-opened whilst there, along with a new chef. The meal we ate was lovely & the service second to none.

Ahmet & Kate who look after the hotel are lovely & immediately made us feel at home. They run the hotel efficiently along with the rest of the staff making the hotel what it is.

We can strongly recommend the professional massage by Ismet, who is qualified & very dedicated.

You will find that the majority of the holiday makers are returning customers of which we will be also. The hotel is definately geared to couples who are looking for a relaxing holiday & not realy for the younger generation.

Kalkan is definately in the higher price bracket from the rest of Turkey but worth every penny. The restaurants are beautifully furnished offering outstanding terrace views & the food is exquisite, mainly traditional Turkish dishes - which must be experienced :)

The bars are quiet and relaxing & a visit to Kleo (next to beach entrance) and The Yahct Club (on the harbour front) are a must, whether it's for a bite to eat or for a drink for a perfect end to an evening.

Can't wait to return in September.

Maxine & Munawer
Lancashire

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxandMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a typical Turkish hotel in that it is basic but kept really clean.

The breakfast is limited being cheeses, salad, bread, cereals and jams but is adequate. Extras are available but have to be paid for.

The rooms are small but sufficient. There are great views of the bay if you are allocated a room with a sea view.

The roof terrace provides a great place for a drink before and after a stroll into the town to eat at one of the many restaurants. Some of the staff seem to come and go while others remain but they are all polite and helpful.

Kalkan is hilly and the hotel is close enough to the town to make walking there easy but not so close that you are disturbed by the noise from the town.

The manager Ahmet is most helpful and the rooms are kept clean and well presented with regular changes of linen and towels.

There is a great deal to keep you occupied in Kalkan but the hotel pool is a pleasant delight.

Thankfully the owners restrict children to school holidays and the resort is not popular with teenagers and the young set as it is a fair distance form the airport and has little in the way of activities to keep young people amused.

The whole resort seems geared more for mature holiday makers than the party going clubbing young.

If you return again to the hotel you are bound to find others who have done the same as it is so idyllic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awaytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The Dionysia is a lovely hotel overlooking the bay and harbour of Kalkan. Rooms are simple but scrupulously clean (daily maid service and regular change of linen and towels). The pool area is beautiful, and it's a delight to sit and have lunch under the olive trees. Breakfast is standard Turkish (took my own coffee bags!). There's a good choice of lunch menu at the pool bar, and it's reasonably priced. Food in the evening was poor, with a repetitive menu and little choice, pasta and chicken were OK, meat dishes so tough as to be inedible. Also, the weather was very hot and humid, and fans were definitely needed in the breakfast/dinner area. Service was very good, and if not too busy the lads like to chat to guests, though they sometimes seemed unaware of when their company was not appropriate or required! The bathrooms are basically wet rooms, by the way, and do not flood the bedroom if used properly!
I would recommend the hotel, but I'd say go in May or September if you can, and go B&B to take advantage of the many fantastic restaurants in Kalkan.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PanamaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I completely agree with the comments made by judymog about the food at the Dionysia. The first evening some of the 18 people in our group had to wait an hour and a half for food which when it finally arrived was cold, minute portions. After many complaints the arrangement was changed to that described by judymog, except that we didn't receive any fruit at breakfast. By the second week we were heartily sick of the 'stew' served with rice or cous cous at dinner. Dessert was usually cold rice pudding and occasionally apple and orange or some disgusting blancmange. Some people went out to eat elsewhere but should not have had to do this to find good food as we had paid for it as part of our holiday. Fruit was not available to buy in the hotel but the manager wouldn't allow anyone to bring it in from outside. The weekly barbeque around the pool was fun but again, there was a problem with the food. We were served chicken wings which weren't worth dirtying your knife and fork for. Guests who were not part of our travel group were served fish. The drinks were the same price as those served elsewhere in the town but were about half the quantity. The staff did not ask for a signature when we ordered drinks, or food from the pool bar. After several people had questioned their excessive bills part way through the holiday, the manager arranged for the staff to supply us with receipts. However, these were forgotten on many occasions. Most people do not keep a record of what they have ordered and should not have to do so to ensure that they are not overcharged.
The hotel was scrupulously clean and the cleaners were very friendly and helpful. I liked my room although we all had the same problem with the shower flooding the bathroom. The swimming pool was great and the area around it was very pleasant.
The Dionysia is a lovely hotel in an ideal location but they really need to get their act together with the food.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lookingforsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Nicely situated in quiet area with Kalkan Centre a couple of minutes walk. Rooms very small and basic, no drawer space, just a wardrobe. Bathroom tiny, with shower that floods bathroom every time used due to ineffective shower curtain. On the plus side they are kept very clean with fresh towels every day and regular changes of bed linen. Pool area is good. The main drawback, and it is a very big drawback is that the food served is virtually inedible. I am not a picky eater at all, but with the abundance of fruit in the area we were served water melon for breakfast only every other day, no fruit juice, curdled yoghurt and dried up meat. Dinner was horrendous, no choice, luke warm tasteless soup, then on alternatimg days for 2 weeks chicken stew and unidentified meat stew. No flavourings or herbs at all except one day we were served Bisto gravy! Pudding each day was set cornflour, again no choice, or occassionally a sliced apple and orange. I actually lost weight ! Management rather surly and curt. There are many lovely hotels in Kalkan with far better rates and choose one that at least serves edible food!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judymog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.7 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#9 of 40 in Kalkan
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#18 of 40 in Kalkan
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Kelebek Hotel
Kelebek Hotel
#20 of 40 in Kalkan
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meldi Hotel
Meldi Hotel
#17 of 40 in Kalkan
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dionysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dionysia

Address: Cumhuriyet Caddesi No:5 | Nilüfer sokak, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $38 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dionysia 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dionysia is located in the quiet area of the village in streets where the buildings are draped with bougainvillea and hibiscus flowers. All rooms have their own shower and toilet, balcony and are equipped with air conditioning, fans and telephones. The maids ensure that the rooms are scrupulously clean, and they make you feel welcome by adding some very special touches to your room Continental breakfast is served in the dining area, and the hotel has a poolside bar area - in the shade of olive trees - where the helpful staff can serve you with refreshments and a selection of hot or cold snack meals throughout the day. The family run hotel has a very clean, well maintained, swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers and parasols surrounding the pool area. In the evening you can sit back and relax with a drink at the roof top Moonlight Bar situated at the top of the hotel - to enjoy the wonderful views of Kalkan Harbour, the shooting stars and the moon rising over the mountains along the Turquoise Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dionysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysia Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing