We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Exclusive Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mahal
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
HASLEMERE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Exclusive Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This exclusive little boutique hotel was truly outstanding. Turkish 5 star is not the same as American 5 star but the warm service and location made it truly superb. The beach club is for guests use only and one feels like there are very few other guests around. Dinner is served on the rocks above the ocean which was a very unique experience. Management are hands on and exceptionally friendly. The rooms are not glamorous but then how much time does one spend in a hotel room in the middle of summer. The views from the rooms and private balconies are glorious. We highly recommend the Turkish rose on the wine menu!

Room Tip: All rooms are situated high above the ocean so there are lots of steps going down to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELISSA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    35
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
143
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Everyone is friendly and helpful here. Service at the pool is a little variable the focus us all by the sea. Sometimes towels were at the pool , sometimes not. There should be an ice cream freezer too but there isn't. Great place to dine by the water front the way the guys run up and down those steps ... Fit or what. Great cooking, fantastic location and great service. Rooms ok but ours was 204 and we were pushed for drawer space and no comfortable seats in the room, lying in the bed was the only real choice. Fabulous views. And the nightly boat ride into Kalkan is a lovely way to start the evening. The exclusive escapes gullet trip is a must it's run by the guys from the regency and the space you have and service is fab. Enjoy but watch out for the steps :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Value4money0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel Villa Mahal is simply this, paradise. Upon arrival I was immediately welcomed by extremely friendly and helpful staff, including the owners of the hotel who are incredibly kind and friendly. The hotel is situated in an idyllic position, which is made even better by the beautiful rooms. As well as providing the best food in Kalkan, the hotel staff were happy to recommend the best restaurants and bars to us. If I could, I would come back to Hotel Villa Mahal every year (and I certainly plan to for the foreseeable future)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenCreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned from our second week at Villa Mahal this year - it is truly the most magical place. The amazing setting ensures it is the perfect place to relax and forget about the worries of every day life. From the moment you arrive, Sebnem, one of the owners, makes you feel like it is your home and the staff couldn't be more helpful, kind or attentive. Nothing is too much trouble, the food is delicious and I know I will carry on going there for a very long time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraI596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent day here as paying guests of Beach Club. Arrived early and settled down for day. Booked and immediately paid for waterskiing. After 3 hours were asked by a waiter to move we'd sat in area reserved for hotel guests only - although no staff had questioned us before, and no signage to say otherwise. Moved without a fuss, but by then difficult to find anywhere else to sit as place was full. Had lunch which was moderate and over-priced. Then approached by 3 staff over next 4 hours, asking me to pay for waterskiing. Chaotic 1* service! There was considerable chop so it was hard to get into/out of the sea down v slippery steps.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
27 Thank GlobetrotterTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and i have stayed here many time as a couple and with our grown up daughters and their fiances. On our first trip we were amazed at how stunning the view was, probably one of the best in kalkan, each year this still takes our breath away. We have stayed in many of the rooms all of which have been excellent, our favourite being the cliff house with its small infinity pool.The restaurant has a fabulous menu for both lunch and evening with the sea bathing platforms turning into the most romantic moonlit setting. This is a family business which sebnam and the team make you feel part of. We have recommended the mahal to friends and family and we will be going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petersulli s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Villa Mahal a number of times, unfortunately whilst we returned to Kalkan this year, we were unable to stay, but did continue to travel to the Mahal Beach Club daily, catching the boat from the harbour is easy and once you arrive the experience is just as amazing. The service is first class, the food exceptional and not at all pricey. We booked a romantic evening meal there and sat on the waters edge with just candlelight and the waves, truly a remarkable experience. Again the food was fantastic, the evening menu has an extensive choice and the waiters really delivered a fantastic service, full credit to Sebnam the owner, whose attention to detail is faultless, highly recommended. We will be returning to stay next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kalkan
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#6 of 39 in Kalkan
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Likya Residence and Spa
0.8 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mahal

Property: Hotel Villa Mahal
Address: Kisla Mevki. Sardunya Sk. No:23 | P.k. 4, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#12 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique hotel nestling on a hillside in Kalkan Bay. Here at the Villa Mahal, each step you take offers a picture perfect view of the Lycian Coast and divine Turkish Mediterranean. You arrive at the Mahal's reception from the dusty track outside, and crossing the threshold you quite simply enter another world. The picture post-card spot was hand-picked by the owner Ipek when she first moved to Kalkan over 25 years ago, having gathered all in one place the essential ingredients of an award-winning boutique hotel. Mahal's unique thirteen rooms retreat offers the ultimate soul quenching vacation. It will restore, refresh and invigorate you. Tastefully appointed rooms and suites are all with striking picturesque sea views. At Villa Mahal, you will have the ultimate freedom vacation. It is a kick-off-your shoes, shrug-off-your-blues way of life that makes the tomorrows prettier than the yesterdays. Come visit Villa Mahal, tucked away just on the edge of paradise. (*) Villa Mahal winner of the Conde'Nast Johansens award for "Most Romantic Hotel" in Europe in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahal Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing