We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but staid - mediocre location, extremely expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patara Prince Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable but staid - mediocre location, extremely expensive”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We certainly enjoyed our stay at the Patara Prince but we probably could have found a better hotel.

It was comfortable enough but the facilities seemed a bit fatigued. For example our room did not have sufficient lighting, the shower was a little grotty and the air con did not work very well. That being said, we did have a lovely view and free wireless, even if it was frustratingly slow. There is also a spa and fitness centre near reception.

The restaurants in the hotel have exorbitant prices! We paid about £100 for soft drinks for three people, a burger, an omelette and a salad. Thankfully Kalkan is a taxi or shuttle boat ride away from the Patara Prince so we ate out every evening. If money is no object, however, there is a good selection of restaurants in the hotel.

Finally there was no beach access from the hotel, rather they have built some kind of concrete steps with access to the sea, and there is a pool. The hotel could also do with updating their rickety plastic sunbeds.

I am sure there are better hotels to be found in the Kalkan area, but the Patara Prince is agreeable enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammywammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    88
    62
    41
    39
See reviews for
118
156
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore Worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We have just returned from our fantastic holiday in Kalkan at the beautiful Patara Prince resort. We stayed at one of the privately owned villas at the top of the resort near to both the shop and parking.
We had a hire car for our stay which we picked up at Dalaman - well worth it as this paid for itself as we did not have the cost of the transfers or taxis it also gave us the option of being a little more adventurous. The villa was a duplex with two bedrooms both ensuite, views of the bay were just spectacular from both our bedroom and the balcony, for us it was the perfect relaxing holiday.
Kalkan has no nightclubs just many restaurants and bars and shops that stay open usually until about midnight.
The Patara Prince Resort is very quiet in the evenings but this is just what we wanted, you could swim in the pool late into the evenings listening to music from the piano bar, very romantic! We were able to get 25% off all food and drink within the resort as the owners of our villa were members of the Patara Prince Club so food and drink seemed reasonably priced. There is also so much choice for eating out in town we went to several restaurants - food ranged from £25 per head at the upmarket restaurants in the harbour (we went to Trio) down to about £6 at Ali Baba's - we didn't have a bad meal.
We went on several excursions - the all day boat trip organised by the resort took us to secluded coves where we went swimming in the crystal clear water followed by a barbeque onboard -very good value at £25/head. Canoeing down the river to Patara beach was also a highlight - all the turtles and other wildlife you see by the river followed by fresh trout on the barbeque. The best trip was driving up to Saklikent Gorge - only about 4TL to get in (so don't go on the organised trip if you have already hired a car) - you will need rubber shoes to walk up the gorge through the river but you can hire them there for 3TL.
The market in Kalkan is also well worth a visit -Thursdays -get there early as it gets hot and busy.
We also went tandem paragliding - we negotiated £60/head
- not for the faint hearted especially the trip up to the top of the mountain on dirt tracks but an experience not to be forgotten, Halil also films the whole experience so you can show your friends.
We found the staff at the resort very helpful and polite so we have no complaints!

  • Liked — The decor, views, convenience of location without being in the town.
  • Disliked — Having to leave it!
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWyreTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Patara Prince Hotel last month. Although it was just Ok, in hindsight we should have stayed at the nearby Villa Mahal.
The rooms was tiny but functionnal with a small balcony with a fantastic view over Kalkan. We had a lunch snack by the pool where the young waiter (trainee?) was actually very kind and polite, something rare in Turkey! Breakfast in the morning was just fine.
The only downfall would be the location whic is a 10 minute taxi ride to the city where you can find loads of very good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2009

The Patara Prince Resort has a hotel and seperate apartments that are rented out by individual owners. We stayed in Cactus apartment 218 and had a wonderful holiday.

We chose this apartment in order to have all the benefits of the Patara Prince Resort's facilities alongside the value for money of self catering. The flat itself was spacious and well presented with enough cooking facilities to allow us to cook dinner every other evening. As the owners,Nigel and Sue, are members of the resort we also received a 25% discount in the hotel's restaurents (which were very good). It had a lovely balcony with sun loungers, table and chairs, which was perfect for watching the sun go down with a cocktail in hand. The flat is perfect for couples and parents with small children as there is a seperate bedroom with single beds and the tv room has a double bed at one end. (As a couple you can choose which room to use) My one criticism would be the bathroom which is quite small with just a shower but this served us well for our week's stay.

The apartment is situated close to the parking area so we were able to take trips around the coast in our hire car with minimal effort. There is a market near the apartment but this was quite expensive, so it's advisable to hire your own car and shop in nearby Kalkan. The resort itself has three pools, one of which is very close to the apartment (but only for the summer from June). The main pool is situated at the bottom of the hill near the sea and the third is an over 16s only pool - perfect for romantic couples. The resort has private platforms overlooking and leading into the sea rather than a beach, which allows for more privacy. There are a lot of steps so most of the time we waited for the free bus service to our apartment. Over all a lovely, good value holiday which is perfect for couples and parents with small children.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodForThoughtExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed in an apartment in October and had one of the best holidays we've ever had. The resort itself was quite unique in our experience, it had a wow factor we've never really felt before. Hard to describe really but the architecture, layout and gardens are so lovely, lots of great views, lovely paths and terraces and fantastic pools. It felt like someone had taken so much care with the design and character unlike a lot of resorts we'd stayed in before. We liked the peaceful location, walking down to the seafront, the well kept gardens and spotless facilities. We don't really have any criticisms to make this more interesting; staff were friendly, not up to city hotel or big chain standards in terms of responsiveness but this is in a small town and the resort probably employs local people which is great and they were always helpful. Food was good and views from the restaurant made it very romantic! Make sure you also go into Kalkan town to eat as there are some fabulous restaurants there. Oh and take the hotel boat across the harbour, a great way to travel!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Checked into a private apartment in the Patara Prince Resort. The first thing that struck me was the natural beauty of the carefully tended gardens. Gorgeous bougenvillia in three or more colours blankets the resort. The four pools are absolutely magic. Only used the restaurants twice as we were self catering but found the turkish specialities very tasty. Drinks are a bit pricey so purchased my own from the nearby Tempa grocer to enjoy on the private balcony of the apartment. The resort is divided into private apartments/villas and a hotel. The hotel prices do seem very expensive compared to us paying only £300 a week for our stay. Used the water shuttle from the resort to Kalkan town. Taxis are also cheap and can be summoned by the security guards at the entrance of the resort. All in all a magical place that left us feeling peacefull and longing to return.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dongiobanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

This was our third time and, once again, we stayed at the Villa Kismet with its' fantastic views over Kalkan bay, which is beautiful by day and night.
The town of Kalkan is just a short shuttle boat across the bay and in the evening a taxi is about £6 for four to come back [it does double after midnight though] and has some fantastic restaurants to suit most tastes.Aubergine serves really good food in a wonderful setting beside the returning boats.
Patara Prince is a lovely setting and whilst the hotel staff can seem disinterested on occasions the facilities make up for it with 3 pools.The best of which, in my opinion, is the infinity pool at the top.

Whether your ideal holiday is soaking up the sun, reading a good book, discovering the local culture and history ,fine dining or just watching the world go by, you can do it all in Kalkan.

My yardstick for measuring if something is good or not is by comparing it to how I feel when I'm sat on the balcony of the Villa Kismet with a glass of wine.

  • Liked — Going down hill
  • Disliked — Going up hill
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mijascowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kalkan
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#25 of 39 in Kalkan
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patara Prince Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patara Prince Hotel & Resort

Property: Patara Prince Hotel & Resort
Address: Zeytinlik Cad No: 26, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patara Prince Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patara Prince Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Patara
Prince Hotel Kalkan
Kalkan Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing