We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patara Prince truly a 'Special' Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patara Prince Hotel & Resort
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Todmorden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Patara Prince truly a 'Special' Hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 week stay at Patara Prince Hotel, after spending 4 weeks there earlier in the year. For us to return to the same place twice in one year, and spend 8 weeks in total, says a lot. The hotel is small and very personal, although the surrounding complex is larger and shares the facilities of the stunning gardens and grounds, including delightful swimming pools. Its location is approximately 1 mile fromk Kalkan centre and the hotel has direct acess to the sea and offers a boat service to Kalkan Marina during the high season for those who do not want to walk or taxi it. The local dolmus service is a bit hap-hazzard but very cheap.

The design of the hotel complex, the work of Turkish architect, Turhan Kaso, is unique and stunning and occupies what must be one of the best positions in the Kalkan Bay. The staff are excellent although it must be said that only a few of the original staff stay from one season to the next. We have nothing but praise for the Reception Staff, the Waiters and the Chefs. We were made to feel very welcome and the hotel is small enough to offer very personal service.

This is a very 'Special' hotel.

Room Tip: Many different categories of rooms around the hotel complex. Most, but not all, have excellent sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TodmordenLynneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    87
    61
    40
    39
See reviews for
118
151
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My first time in Turkey and the Patara Prince offered all that I wanted and more. Others either adore it or hate it, personally I thought it was a grand old hotel. The setting is stunning,set in established tropical gardens, the views are amazing and the public areas of the hotel are both spacious and grand.
The staff were outstanding and the real jewel in the crown is SERAP....a multi-lingual qualified tour guide who runs the reception and is the first point of contact for guests. Nothing is too much trouble for her, she will help out in any way she can.
The waiters and ground staff work long hours and often split shifts, they always have a smile on their face and are very welcoming. Please remember that many of them do not speak english, that said there is always 1 member of staff who does. I used google translator to chat with them and they appreciated this.
Catering: I was on a half board basis and there was an enormous buffet each evening and in the mornings lots of breakfast options from fresh crispy bread, croissant, cheeses, salads, cold meats, jams and honey or a chef cooking omelettes to order..
Monday nights Sicilian evening was stunning. The setting is romantic and the chefs and waiters set the Mediterranean quad with tables of hot and cold food. The chefs are there cooking fresh pasta to your liking. It is a very high class evening with so much wonderful food.
After the meal, it is a delight to sit and view Kalkan from the terrace with a rakki and a turkish coffee.
The hotel is an S class hotel it offers a huge number of spa treatments.
The resort is huge and although the hotel offers a free shuttle service around the estate elderly or people with walking difficulties could struggle with the hills and the steps. This is made clear in all brochures so it will not be a surprise to anyone. I booked the cheapest room- a standard room which was at the top of the resort. After 1 night I upgraded to the main building for £10 a night with a view which was stunning.This is known as a superior room.

UK guests should check with their tour operator as to what they are being sold or book directly with the hotel and ensure you are booking what you want. Many UK tour operators are showing photos of the very exclusive penthouses, this is not the hotels fault and you would NOT expect to be booking a room of this sort for such a low cost.
On cost I think it worth saying that the Patara offers superb value for money. 1 night in a Premier Inn in London currently is £169 + £8.25p for a standard breakfast, or on the M8 its £68 + £8.25p breakfast.
Travelodge £177.25p with breakfast in London or £76.25p on the motorway.

For half board, the Patara was costing on a standard room £20 or with a superior room £30.
It is so easy to find complaint these days but at that price I would suggest that patrons leave their A4 pad and pen at home and just go and chill out. I stayed for 5 weeks and met some wonderful guests and excellent staff. Well done Mr Bozkurt. I was spoilt by your hotel and its staff. See you again!

Room Tip: ensure when you book with a tour operator exactly what type of room you are being sold. Check the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob52Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is placed on a hill top. Prized Architect designed hotel is beatifully set, with nice views and great gardens. The sea is clear, clean and wonderful to enjoy a snorkelling.
The rooms are basic. we stayed in a club room. It was small, old and needs repair in all areas.
The only problem is STAIRS. this is not for old or children. too many stairs, even there is a shuttle to carry people.
We stayed halfboard, the breakfast and dinner was satisfying.
there are many house cats, very friendly, be carefull if you dont like.
the staff was helpfull.

Even, I like the gardens and the hotel, unfortunately there was not any proper place to enjoy the view sitting at the gardens.

Room Tip: when they say seaview room, they may mean partially seaview, so make sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

As other reviewer's have said, it's a fantastic location, with brilliant views and I loved the platformed areas for sunbathing and access to the sea. It is however very steep, with lots of steps and most descriptions say it's 2km from Kalkan, what isn't said is there's at least a 500m walk up a steep hill before you get to the road (that's just from the hotel, not the lower rooms). There is however a mini bus from the pool area at the lowest level to the hotel reception and on up to the security gate. Food wasn't great and the price of drinks was extortionate. We were with another couple and it was cheaper for us to get taxis into Kalkan for a night out than drink at the hotel, which due to most things being closed up, had little atmosphere. It's a shame, it gives the air of being neglected and it could be such a fantastic place with a little TLC. We did however find the receptionist very helpful and always pleasant, we also treated ourselves to some of the spa treatments and the staff there were great. Eating out in Kalkan is a must and you're spoilt for choice, it's a lovely little town and we'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Request a Junior suite, more room and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giveup52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This resort is now no longer a 5* hotel and by golly, it shows. We stayed here last year and the staff were lovely. This year, there has been a very serious decline - the pool attendants could not give a fig about customers, the reception staff are bored and rude, half the facilities were closed (September and October), and to cap it all, somebody thought it would be a great idea on a busy, hot and sunny Saturday to repair the concrete on the swimming platforms with some kind of adhesive. Of course there was no warning, and of course, everybody stuck to the stuff.
To cap it all, when were there (21st September to 6th October), there was an incident when a male decided that the open shower facilities by the main pool were in fact an open toilet and defecated in front of everybody. Disgusting. And the stench of the drains was truly horrible.

We were so looking forward to our trip back there, but this will be our last visit to The Patara Prince. We paid a lot for our apartment, but the lack of facilities and the attitude of the staff have made us rethink our holiday location next year.

Room Tip: Take an apartment and be prepared for a steep walk - the hotel is now rather sad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggy Merryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Thought it would be a delight to get the shuttle boat to this resort from Kalkan,what a mistake,in holiday mode all I saw was FREE shuttle,FREE sunbeds,FREE loungers!!! I didnt see the small writing below which said admission fee (10tl each) this was pointed out after we had spent 78TL on lunch!with a half full pool,filthy toilets obnoxious pool manager type person who I felt like felling.10tl each isn't much to be fair but we just felt deceived really,when I pointed out the advertisement he drew my attention to the small print, I investigated a route of escape to no avail as I had a 5year old with me! I would have happily been ejected to avoid paying but my wife calmed me down and we payed the ransom and got there heap of a vessel back to Kalkan and have told nearly everyone we have come across about the deceptive ways of this firm I also have many contacts in the travel industry who I shall be informing and going of a lot of other reviews on here I'm not alone! Bond film location,owners not worthy of possession.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mario187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalkan hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

went to patara prince beach club do not go there it is a dump!!!! rude and disinterested staff even when my wife asked for lounger cushion cover and then showed him one still did not know what we were asking for in the end i had to go to pool area to get one my self swimming pool toilet filthy!!!! it has champagne looks and pale ale service and interior give it a wide berth. all other beach clubs we used were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairbymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kalkan
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#6 of 39 in Kalkan
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#33 of 39 in Kalkan
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patara Prince Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patara Prince Hotel & Resort

Property: Patara Prince Hotel & Resort
Address: Zeytinlik Cad No: 26, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patara Prince Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patara Prince Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Patara
Prince Hotel Kalkan
Kalkan Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing