We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a big mistake with stairs and grouchy staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patara Prince Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a big mistake with stairs and grouchy staff”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked this as a cheap offer but it turned out to be a big mistake!!! A big tatty mistake with many stairs, too far out of the town. One way taxi costs 15 TLire this is expensive over a 10 day stay.
Beautiful position on the cliffs overlooking Kalkan Bay with fantastic sunsets over the harbour. But better suited to mountain goats with big unpretentious appetites for bulk not flavour.
We shipped out after one night after finding the bathroom door didn’t open fully as it hit the toilet pan half way into the room. One dinner on the terrace and an expensive and shoddy sandwich by the pool served by uninterested staff.
The hotel needs a complete overhaul, paint, staff training and a health warning for anyone without Olympic athletes legs. You cannot hike half a mile down a concrete slope in the heat to get to reception, to eat and then climb down 5 flights of stairs to get to the pool. Not unless you are in serious training for a marathon in a hot country !
Went back to the PIrat where things were much better as usual.

Room Tip: ask to be in white block near reception called the Agora, then you only have the 5 flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    86
    60
    40
    39
See reviews for
117
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

fantastic location, amazing views,beautiful pools,shame about the management! training was non existent, the staff had no motivation and not a clue what they were doing half the time although two or three of them seemed to be holding things together.thefood was dreadful.the hotel advertized continental breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and croissants,although there was a juicer in the restaurant ,we only ever saw very sour cranberry juice or water and plain white or brown bread.The choice was monotonous and there was no table service at breakfast at all.the rooms were spacious but badly maintained and a little tatty.the honeycombe blanket instead of a sheet scratched like a ferral cat on sun sensitive skin! the location is 5 star, the rooms 3 ,star the food 2 star. the management need to pull their fingers out, this place has amazing potential.with just a little effort it could be the best in Kalkan.

Room Tip: we paid for an upgrade to a junior suite,the view was fabulous but the sliding door was broken and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heathernorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second year in a row staying in this Villa and it did not disappoint. We are already planning next year. You cannot beat the view - which is stunning at all times of the day, and having the beautiful granite plunge pool was heaven in the September heat. I could happily sit on the patio all day long. The bedroom is comfortable and the shower room clean and functionable but to be quite honest we hardly used the rest of the villa as we were outside most of the time. So to say the kitchen needs updating and the lounge seating (if there were 4 of you) is insufficient is finding fault just for the sake of it. However its not cheap to rent and there are comparable 4 bedroom villas in Kalkan with fantastic facilities and high quality furniture and fittings so its something the owners should bare in mind. We also did not have an iron, ironing board or a hairdryer and had to buy a set of sharp knives to chop salad with as none were provided. Its still our No1 vacation spot though. We booked through Elixir Holidays who were excellent - role on next September!!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in this Villa and I dont think there are many others with their own pools which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics,U.K.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival to the hotel we thought what a wonderful setting, with magnificent views over the bay looking at Kalkan. The reception lady was quite abrupt in her manner but her comments may have been lost during transalation. The room was extremely small and very dated and the bed which was quite soft and comfortable was Very small, and both mine and mmy husbands feet were hanging over the edge. Very nice view from our room but the view from my Aunties room was spoilt due to foliage growing outside. The air conditioning system was useless and hardly gave out any cold air at all.The carpet in our room was very grubby also. There is a lot of steps to get to most of the rooms which would be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties.The evening meal was acceptable for the price, but when it comes to price the drinks were extortionate which would have explained why nearly all other guests did not have grinks on their table either. 10TL for a very small beer which we are getting a large beer further up the coast in Hisaronu for 5TL. For that reason we chose not to stay in the hotel for the evening and called a taxi to take us in to Kalkan, which is what a lot of guests were doing..
The pool was beautiful with wonderful views across the bay.
When it comes to Health & Safety our country (which I am the first to agree that our country U.K goes over the top with ) would have a field day in this resort...
My Uncle's balcony had lots of loose and broken wood on it, which would have gave way had he leant on it.
The tiles around the pool when wet were absolutely lethal just like glass..
My Husband and myself got stuck in the only lift which goes from the pool up two floors only, it is completely covered in glass which made it extremley hot in there but which was our only saviour as we banged for quite a few mins on the glass until fortunately the pool attendant heard us and alerted someone to rescue us,by which time I was traumatised beyond belief..
Then to top it all while waiting for the waiters to tell us the buffet was open we watched quite a few cats gathered around and underneath the food tables, some of which had to be stopped jumping up on to the food...
It could be a fantastic place to stay with a little bit of renovating and a change in the drinks prices. Until then I wont be returning......

Room Tip: ask for a room below reception or you will have a lot more stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from this resort and I must admit the outside spaces were very picturesque, the views fantasic, although the room was very basic and dated it was ok for what we required, which to sleep in it and we also had a view of the sea and Kalkan which was very nice. The staff were friendly and without the help of the brilliant receptionist in the hotel when our transfer forgot to pick us up we might still of been there lol. The food was not to my taste my partner had no problems with it, and if you go into Kalkan itself the food there is brilliant and very reasonable priced especially if you eat away from the harbour. The pool areas were clean and well presented all 3 of them.
The hotel and Kalkan itself is not the place to go if you have any problems walking or getting about because the steps and the hills were a challenge to say the least and it is definately not disable friendly although the hotel does lay on a mini bus to ferry you from the top of the resort to the bottom no matter where you go you will find you need to go down steps(452 of them actually from our room to the lobby and a further 93 to the pool). The hotel also lays on a boat for a nominal fee of 5 lira which takes you from the resort into Kalkan, my son loved this as he was allowed to skipper it - he is 8.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday but I was glad to get back to only 2 flights of stairs lol.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel is very pretty and rustic.We rented the Architect Suite which was lovely; roomy and a beautiful view of the bay. Hotel staff generally very accomodating. Room only cleaned a couple of times though and took 3 attempts to sort out a blocked drain in the shower.
Food generally good albeit Turkish; the omelette service at breakfast took forever. Plenty of choice in the evening. Home made soup each night very good. Deserts a bit limited. Would I go back? Probably not. The hotel is built on several tiers and there are too many steps to climb. Hotel lacked evening entertainment and too quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from a week in a villa at the Patara Prince. We were very pleased with the actual villa - fantastic views of Kalkan across the bay and a lovely balcony to sit for our pre-dinner drinks. We didn't experience any of the problems that others seem to have done with their villas - they are all privately owned I think so perhaps it depends on how they are maintained.

The pools were nice - the kids pool (near the shop at the top of the resort) was an infinity pool over looking the bay and was very quiet every day - possibly since it was up 150 steps to get there and wasn't very obvious if you were in the hotel. We only found it as we went to the shop to get some provisions - although it is on the map!! It was very clean for the first few days but on our last day it was an odd green colour!!The other pool by the sea was very salty and a little deep for our 8 year old plus much busier so we tended to go to the other one. We didn't manage to find the adult only pool. The sea was lovely - crystal clear and very warm. If you're with small children / toddlers forget it - your children need to be able to swim as there's no beach and the sea is quite deep.

We didn't try any of the restaurants mainly due to the fact that they have had such bad reviews and we had a villa so could self-cater for breakfast and lunch, plus there's so many fantastic restaurants in Kalkan. It's a shame that the boat to Kalkan stops at 7pm as it would have been nice to go across a bit later for dinner - however, it's only 15 minutes flat walk along a somewhat dusty road to the centre of Kalkan.

Overall we found the staff friendly although we did encounter a grumpy hotel receptionist on the evening we arrived - we went to collect the key from the wrong place - and the staff in the villa reception (near the entrance to the resort) were less than friendly when we asked for our discount card for the villa (hotel and villa guests get 25% discount when eating in the restaurants).

Overall we'd probably recommend hiring a villa rather than a hotel room - judging by the other reviews! We'd certainly consider going back - if not to the resort certainly to Kalkan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sialianddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#6 of 39 in Kalkan
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#36 of 39 in Kalkan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patara Prince Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patara Prince Hotel & Resort

Property: Patara Prince Hotel & Resort
Address: Zeytinlik Cad No: 26, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#7 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patara Prince Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patara Prince Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Patara
Prince Hotel Kalkan
Kalkan Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing