We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Kalkan, Resort ok-ish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patara Prince Hotel & Resort
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Patara Prince

We rented a villa for one week, about halfway up the hill. Our booking was part of a package and represented fairly decent value.

Villa- clean, well presented, comfortable. 2 bedrooms, one double one twin. Both bedrooms with air con. Large living space with seating and dining area and practical kitchen. Balcony which catches the sun in the evening and fantastic views over the bay.

Resort- lots and lots and lots of steps-we counted over 450 from our villa to the sea and then discovered the free shuttle bus on the last day-helpful bus but wasn't actually advertised anywhere! Staff friendliness was mixed- some lovely, others the total opposite so I wouldn't recommend the resort if customer service is what you're after. We ate one lunch at the resort and decided not to repeat it due to length of waiting time, quality and value when compared to Kalkan restaurants. Swimming pool was nice enough, the sea platform was actually lovely and a good place to snorkel, we even swam with a sea turtle only 2 meters from the shore!

Mobility- the platform over the sea includes three ladders down to the water otherwise it is a dive/jump. For a confident swimmer it is actually lovely, the sea is crystal clear and swimming is very safe. If you have any kind of mobility probs then it may be an issue. We saw lots of kids very confidently sloshing around and other kids wrapped head to toe in swimming aids, all clearly enjoying themselves. There is also a pool with a shallow end. I see no reason why well supervised kids wouldn't enjoy a few swimming sessions in either.
Steps wise, again if you have any mobility issues at all, think carefully as although the shuttle exists in the resort, steep slopes and steps are what characterises Kalkan. Saying that all that extra exercise gave us the perfect excuse to eat at Kalkan's restaurants 24/7!

Location- if you don't have a hire car, the resort is a 10-12 lira taxi ride into town. Otherwise there is the boat shuttle for 5 lira each (although the other resorts don't seem to charge anything) don't rely on it though as the boat driver seems to turn up for work when he chooses and this continues throughout the day.

Experience overall? We loved our holiday and we were very pleased with our villa. The resort location was great for our needs and we used the amenities to suit us. We basically used the resort for the sea platform and ate in Kalkan. We would certainly return to Kalkan, but always with a car, and would probably shop around before deciding on accommodation. 

Room Tip: Villa number 83, mid way up the hill, lovely views, well kitted out. Call taxis and they will come t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NicWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 367 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

You made our stay perfect.
Last spring we were looking for a place to spend 1o days just relaxing in a tranquil and extraordinary place. Folks, Patara Prince is just this, and has a tremendous atmosphere in a unique setting. It is a beautiful place, overlooking both the city and the ocean. We rented a Villa with our own garden and pool. The villa is extraordinary. The service was excellent and the staff very warm and attentive. It is a place we can highly recommend. This is a unique place, where privacy, luxury and available activities are very well balanced. If you are looking for something different from the large tourist 5 stars hotels – perhaps a place with unique scenery, atmosphere, extremely friendly and helpsome staff, and not to mention the beautiful and very well serviced apartments / villas, you might find the place here. We have already booked our next trip this autumn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SY-Ronja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The Patara Prince Resort is just less than 1km east of the main town of Kalkan, set on steep hillside. The complex comprises a 4 star hotel and around 100 villas and apartments is a gated community, complete with its own small supermarket, swimming pools and a number of places to eat. You'd be mistaken if you think this sounds all a bit too like some megga all inclusive resort. It's not. All of the villas and apartment blocks have similar but pleasingly different architectural styles, set in amidst maturely planted gardens well attended by a group of friendly gardeners, whose tender green fingers on precocious jasmine plants, supply a heady fagrance in the evenings. The villas and apartments are all privately owned by well healed clientele of mainly Brits and Turks, although occasional French and Italian chatter was sometimes heard by one of the pools or many paved decks leading down into the sea at the bottom of the resort.

We rented villa 80 from a British couple who advertise their property for rent via a villa owners site. They were really helpful in providing lots of information about the villa prior to and during our arrival, frequently only an SMS message away. The villa was over two floors, with an open plan split level ground floor including a good sized kitchen area replete with dishwasher, microwave and a full size fridge and freezer and comfortable seating areas completmented by a dining area, although we had breakfast each morning on the terrace affording the most amazing view across the bay towards Kalkan and beyond. Updtairs provided 3 good sized bedrooms for a total of 6 people, with one double with an ensuite bathroom in addition to the main bathroom, completete with a washing machine and an additional WC downstairs. The villa isn't let so frequently, but is well equipped with everything you need, including a plentiful supply of beach towels, tennis balls and what I can imagine is a growing larder of provisions left by successive holidaymakers. We provided a years supply of tomato paste as our contribution.

There are no sizeable beaches within easy reach of the Patara Prince, so if getting sand in unmentionable places is not your thing then this is the resort for you. The complex has two sea water pools close to the bottom of the hill, one reserved just for people over sixteen and a freshwater infinity pool at the top of the hill, close to the tennis courts. The concete shelves which drop down into the sea are places to spend a more pleasurable day than you think, with lots of private areas with loungers and parasols to keep you cool in the heat of the summer. There is unobtrusive service from hotel staff, providing drinks and snacks to you - if you go and order from a nearby bar area, and several places to sit and eat lunch, with orders coming from a main kitchen we never quite worked out the location of. There are a number of small scale places to eat so don't be put off by the idea that this is one of those nightmare places where lunch and dinner are akin to the battle of Angincourt for unidentifiable meat in breadcrumbs cooked at 4000oC for 6 hours and pale sloppy salads all with peas in them. The snacks, salads and sandwiches are all freshly made and served with a smile, polite bow and if you wish, achingly cold Efes beer. We only managed dinner in Patara Prince one evening at a small Italian restaurant - with 4 tables on the terrace, which despite a little struggle to sort some wine at the start of the meal, provided my fellow holidaymakers with a satisfyingly fresh calzone and equally passible pizza. Sadly my lasagne appeared more akin to layers of those bits of card you find on the top of chocolate boxes smothered in cheese blamonge.

All of the staff at the Patara Prince were overwhelmingly polite and courteous and we made a sterling effort to ensure their newly launched white party at the Olive bar on a Thursday night now looks set to become a regular feature of the season. Equally so were the staff in the small shop, which allowed us to get fresh bread and emergency gin when we had miscalculated shopping for provisions in the larger supermarkets of Kalkan. The shop has a limited range of UK newspapers, most things you'd find in a decent corner shop in the UK, barbecue charcoal and an array of gear for serious sun-action, including the essential blow-up killer whale. My friends and I are addicted to maize based cheesy snacks. The Patara Prince shop provided unanticipated rehab.

Despite its apparent size, the resort comes across as a sleepy village with the sounds of food being cooked and fun being had, with no queues, no crowds and never any problem finding at secluded place by the pool or sea. A handy minibus drives up and down the main hillside all day, enabling you to move between the pool, the main hotel reception and higher villas without turning you from a glowing bronzed god or goddess into a sweating mess.

Kalkan itself reminds me of other Turkish resorts I've visited well over 15 years ago which have become larger scale holiday destinations for the Brits and other sun seeking nationalities. Let's hope the lessons learned by the Turkish tourist authorities by this rapid development of more westerly resorts, inform a more sustainable development for the town of Kalkan. Its a 7 minute taxi ride from the Patara Prince to the centre of town and taxis ordered at the security gate as we past, took no more than 5 minutes to arrive, easily spottable speeding from town along a new highway along the coast scarred somewhat unsympathetically into the hillside. The more romantic may wish to take the boat which ferries between the Patara Prince and harbour side at 30 minute intervals.

The town slopes down into the bay aided by some terrifying steep roads and steps and looks out towards two small islands which are the destination for a group of small boats you can hire as a daily charter, complete with sea dog and cabin boy for a slightly more secluded day of sun and swimming, with excellent lunches and good fun. We would definitely recommend the Korsan, one of two boats we hired while staying in Kalkan. With home cooked food and friendly and fun staff - a most perfect day for me snd my five companions, made special by getting up close and personal with a meandering sea turtle at one swimming stop around a deserted headland.

The restaurants in town are all very good, with the Olive Garden and White Table providing us with good excuse for return vists as did Adams, an out of town place further to the east of Kalkan and the Patara Prince which will collect you and deposit you replete with good home cooked turkish food, from this family run restaurant. Aubergine is well worth the additional few lira per dish, but I'd find it hard to recommend Salt and Pepper one street up, which was all fur coat and no knickers in terms of service and the quality of food, despite dining next to David Emanual (of Princess Diana dress fame) and chums.

We ventured further for a day of action to keep an energetic 12 year old occupied, by booking a tour to Saklikent Gorge in the Yakapark national park in the Toros mountains, which also afforded quick stops at the Lycien archeological sites of Tlos and Xanthos. Booked with Define tours which you'll find on the harbour front, the day trip to the gorge provided some truly exiting scrambling up a freshwater gorge - replete in plastic shoes provided for hire by local vendors. With lunch of fresh trout at Yakapark restaurant 1000m above sea level providing a nice cool retreat - the day concluded with a return visit to Patara Beach, one of the longest beaches in the Med, sat alongside the ruined Lycian town from which St Nicholas of Father Chrsitmas fame heralds. The little kid pucking in the coach on the way from Xanthos, failed to detract from a great day inland.

I'm writing this, sat on the terrace, as the sun sets on the last full day of our holiday in Kalkan, made special by sharing it with some of those people I hold most dear in my life. Today we said goodbye to a Turkish friend I used to work with who with her son were visiting us from Kusadasai for the sugar festival holidays marking the end of Ramadan this year. Tonight we welcome Karen's mum who touched down last night from the UK to take over the batton from us, as we return tomorrow to the UK.

Without doubt I will be back again to Turkey, the place of my first overseas holiday 15 years ago and somewhere I've been lucky enough to work for some short periods, enabling me to understand a little of the culture and the people of this dynamic, strategically positioned and enchanting country in the eastern Mediterranean.

I hope I make it back to Kalkan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmandEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked a villa at The Patara Prince in August and couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel. At the time of booking there were mixed reviews on trip advisor, some brilliant some truly terrible, but as we got closer to the departure date the reviews got worse and worse to the point we were contemplating changing hotels. I am so glad we didn't!

The hotel is stunning, the staff were great and the atmosphere is relaxed. I cannot comment on the state of the hotel rooms as we stayed in a villa but all the public areas are extremely well maintained and the gardens are beautiful. The villa itself was amazing and well maintained and the cleaners visited every couple of days to change sheets, towels etc.

Due to the negative reviews we decided not to go for the meal plan so only ended up having one meal at the hotel which was great and reasonable value for money so no complaints there.

We only needed to deal with the hotel management once during our stay and that was to see if they could extend our check out time as we had a later flight. They were happy to do this for us making our last day much more relaxed than it would have been had we been "homeless".

My advice to anyone thinking about staying at the Patara Prince is to go for it and don't be put off by the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Although we reserved a mediterranean terrace room via tatilsepeti.com, we were informed that our room was not confirmed just when we arrived at the hotel around 17:00, after 840km ride from Istanbul. The front desk manager (Mr.Oguz) is the rudest man I've ever seen, my friend shares the same opinion with me. He was so rude and always far away from solution providing although we had spent 10 hrs on the way to hotel. He only tried to pay some attention after we made 2 hrs of call to tour operator. We were given an awful room with funny view of road, rocks and a little sea. It was ground floor and the cars passing by were like in the room. I can not tell you the AC, it was like a plane taking off but not producing any cool air, just noise..We had to switch off to sleep, but no way when it is more than 30 degrees with high humidity.
During our stay we never ate meat at the buffet, just some salad, fruit and pasta..Food is quite below the average. On the other hand they charge you 11TL for a small plate of fried chips and soft drinks were also quite expensive compared to quality standards of the hotel. Only good thing about this place was sea and the smiling, helpful staff. But the management, especially front desk management (not the personnel) sucks.

Room Tip: Just keep away until management takes some action and renew the hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Maybe the worst hotel I've ever been. It's difficult to understand why are so rude to the customers. Tha place is beautiful, yes but after smelling your toilet and try to take a shower...by the way, only cold water in our room. Many customers where complaining too. It needs a renewal urgently. No Internet connection! You need to go to ANY other place arround to find free wi-fi. If you ask something politely you will receive a very rude answer (why?)

Room Tip: Try other place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victortokio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Reading through the reviews for Patara Prince the actual hotel rooms appear to be a major problem. We have been to Patara Prince twice, both times being extremely pleased with our holiday, however both times we chose to stay in one of the hotel villas rather than a room. Our villa was beautiful, set out on two floors with a large lounge, kitchen, 3 balconies, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets in all. It was air conditioned and had a dishwasher, fridge freezer and washing machine, as well as all the usual kitchen equipment. The best thing about the villa was the fantastic balcony overlooking the bay and the fact that it was near the bottom of the resort, only a minutes walk away from the pool and beach.

Even though we were in a villa, we had all the facilities of the hotel on hand, including a phone to reception, free towel and sunbed mattresses by the pool and the availability of room service. Anything we ate in the resort restaurants was simply added to the villa and we paid when we checked out. (Even the kids could order icecreams by the pool without needing money!) The villas probably could do with freshening up a bit - especially the bathrooms which are looking tired now, but for the price they charge you really can't complain and we felt we had very good value for money. Just watch out for loose wiring if you have young children - their electrical safely standards in Turkey aren't like ours in the UK! I should also say that the villa we stayed in wouldn't have been suitable for toddlers/young children as there was one area upstairs by the spiral staircase that had a sheer drop from the top to the bottom floor, without a wall or barrier.

If I had to critise anything about the resort it would be the shop at the top - which charges premium prices for very mediocre food. You are much better off going into a Kalkan supermarket - though steer clear of buying anything 'British' (cheddar cheese, marmite, cereal) as they do charge much more for these products.

The resort is in a beautiful spot and there is a boat which ferries you over to the centre of Kalkan. (5 TL each, children free). Alternatively a taxi will cost you 13TL each way. Patara has it's own beach club and 3 pools. The infinity pool at the top of the resort is very underused and yet must have one of the best views from a pool in the world! There are water sports available from the beach club and we hired a boat for 4 hours and went off exploring the bay which was wonderful. The Kalkan beach club is also well worth a visit. They serve food and drinks to your sunbeds, which they don't in Patara and there is a slide into the sea for the children to play on. It also has a small pebble 'beach' area and a slop into the sea which makes the sea more accessible to small chldren. (At Patara you climb down a ladder into the sea, which will be out of small children's depth straight away). If you want to spend a day at a proper sandy beach, then Parara beach is the place to go. I think you can get a bus, but we always order a taxi from the resort which costs TL35 each way.

The staff at Patara were always very welcoming and helpful. They learnt the children's names on the first day and always called them by name after that. We were given fresh lemondade on arrival and taken to our villa. When we experienced an electrical problem, we rang reception and there was a workman there within 15 minutes who sorted out the problem quickly.

We were always very pleased with the food we had at Patara. If you choose, you can pay for breakfast on the hotel terrace (or pay extra up front for half/full board). At breakfast there is a chef on the balcony cooking omelettes and an impressive buffet to choose from inside. We weren't full board, as we wanted to experience the Kalkan restaurants as well, but on the occasions we did eat at the hotel, we were very impressed with the quality of the food. Children aged 12 and under eat half price - which meant that we only paid £4 for their breakfasts! (Though you do have to remind them of this sometimes!) The service in the restaurants was good, and there are several restaurants/bars to choose from depending on what you want to eat.

So all in all, a fantastic holiday in a fantastic location! I think we paid about £800 for the villa, which for 4 people for a week in August is great value. We feel like we have discovered a little gem at a bargain price!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickiBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#9 of 40 in Kalkan
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#8 of 40 in Kalkan
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#11 of 40 in Kalkan
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patara Prince Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patara Prince Hotel & Resort

Address: Zeytinlik Cad No: 26, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $54 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patara Prince Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Patara Prince Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Patara
Prince Hotel Kalkan
Kalkan Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing