We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Time at the Happy Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Hotel Kalkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Happy Time at the Happy Hotel”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Happy hotel, staff were amazing and worked really hard to ensure you had a great time & nothing was too much trouble.
Usually stay B&B in Kalkan but on a budget so opted for half board & were pleasantly surprised. Great buffet breakfast choice with different rolls, bread, cerials and fruit but also freshly cooked omeletts, pancakes, fried eggs and boiled eggs daily. (dont expect full English as this is Turkey!)
Evening meal also also really good with soup, loads of different meze and salad choices daily and hot choices which included fish, chicken, beef, meatballs all were tasty and freshly cooked.
Bar was also reasonably priced with a small efes costing 3.5lira.
The bar was friendly and the staff enjoyed showing magic tricks and puzzles. Also there was a gym, sauna, pool table, table tennis, TV lounge, book swapping library and computers to use for free and free wifi.
We thought we had been upgraded as our room was so good but it turned out to be a standard room with a big balcony and sea view and a very large bed.
The pookl area was good with a big pool and reasonable amount of loungers. The foam toppers could ahve been more comfortable however.
The towels were changed daily and the hotel also provided free towels to use by the pool.
There was a courtesy bus that went into kalkan 4 times a day as it is a good 20+ minute walk .
The Kalamar beach club is just down a steep hill and is walkable but worth getting the free taxi they provide back.
It is worth trying the bar up the road for lunch and drinks as it is reasonable and does home made chips. It was called the Cafe Vita.
Perfect Hotel for a relaxing break and would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    54
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
118
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We have just returned from a blissful 9 days at the Happy hotel Kalamar Bay..wot a great hotel and wonderful location...it is in the quiet bay of kalamar and feels quite residential with only a very small number of restaurants and bars and a few hotels close by...The hotel is more 3* than 4 but with the pool (wonderful but on the cool side) ,. breakfast, staff, rooms and cleanliness its more 4...if you are looking for anything more then it is not for you...its location is slightly out of the way from the main town, however it is a nice 20min stroll down hill into town...35 and heartbreak hill on way back (not for the faint hearted) ...stopping half way down for cocktails and a beer at the wonderful Pasha no1 on TA (which they truly deserve...and the fantastic Mark & Imelda,. Imelda is the font of knowledge) both cannot do enough for you even though you are not staying here...they are in my opnion Mr & Mrs Kalkan....and Denis the barman is a delight. and great cocktails...Kalkan is simply stunning with the most fantastic restaurants and very proud and friendly people..for retaurants we would highly recommend Kalamaki my husband and I had a fantastic birthday evening there,. the food was wonderful and the service and cool decor of this place made it a great choice...we didnt seat at the roof top restaurant but had our own balcony over looking the cobbled street,. so great for people watching and also felt we were so special...Ozzie the star of a barman helped make the evening...wot a cool and fun guy he's an asset to them... And If we saw them when we were out and about we were made to feel like old friends....we had such fun here and even though it was my husbands birthday I was the one to be carried back..it was a true gastro expierence.....our other favorites where the food,. ambience and staff were superb was Trio down on the harbour another fun night ..Olive Garden jst Fab...Moussaka., Chapter one...and Begonvil all in the old town and for very nice food also and worth a try The Old trading house and Chillies on the Kalamar Road not a great place as its on the main road but if like us the first night town was a little to far then its not a bad spot...look out for Mr Happy hes a laugh,. also cafe Vita not to far from the hotel and la sera looked quite good if you want to stay local...We would also highly recommend the Yali Beach club ( thanks to imelda for this) it has free sunbeds and umbellas.. however you do have to eat and drink there but the food for lunch is lovely...and a great spot over looking the bay and again you can walk here 25mins...We really hope you enjoy Kalkan and all it offers...just don't tell everyone...Kalkan is not for you if you want loud bars and nightlife...it is more a dining extravaganza with a very pretty old town and harbour and its a good two hour transfer...Enjoy !!! Thanks again to Mark and Imelda

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madamejonesSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We all had a brilliant time. Staff very relaxed and friendly......... Kenan especially good with the kids! Lovely big rooms with fabulous views, great pool and delicious food. I completely relaxed and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at the hotel in late July in a Family Suite which was fantastic. The rooms were very clean and decorated to a very high specification, but also provided the basics such as fridge, kettle etc. The sea views from the balcony were amazing.

The facilities at the hotel were also great, a wonderful pool, spa, gym, sauna, wireless internet and games for the family such as billiards, table tennis, chess etc. The staff were excellent and I must mention Seher and Kenan who friendly, professional and genuinely caring. I cannot praise them highly enough.

We normally board on a self catering basis, but decided to try half board. This turned out to be a great choice as the breakfast and evening meal were always great. There was always a good variety and the food was authentically Turkish which we loved, mezes, cous cous, lamb, fish etc

I would highly recommend the Happy Hotel, though in truth I considered not doing in case excessive demand for rooms makes it more difficult for us to return.

As far as Kalkan is concerned, I would also highly recommend it as it is a beautiful village which has been sensatively developed. We also found that unlike some holiday destinations there was verly little hassle from local waiters and shop owners. We will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel felt like home the staff are brilliant,rooms clean and we had a wonderful view of kalamar bay,The pool is fantastic and no rip off prices,i would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a peaceful relaxing holiday,we will definatley return

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank d0nnaengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Just retured from two weeks at the Harpy also known locally as The Happy Hotel on a last minute deal booked with Anatolin Sky. Hotel situated in stunning area but very hilly and lots of steps. As we had such a good deal we upgraded to a suite wow what a space stunning balcony and views. This is not a luxury hotel but very comfortable and clean, linen changed everyday safety deposit and air con no extra charge which was refreshing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were bed and breakfast although some guests ate in every night. Food was adequate but there are so many wonderful options in town.
We arrived in a heat wave so the walk back from town (uphill) was hard bearing in mind we are getting on a bit. We hired a car for ten days which worked out well so we could visit the sights and use Patara beach which is 16 kms. away. We had a great time at the Harpy only thing missing was most guests went to bed early (or drank in their rooms) and the bar was not fully used but I am sure in the height of the season it becomes busier. The swimming pool area is great with plenty of bed and sun shades and again those views (pool towels provided every day too) Do not go if you want 5 star luxury but wonderful place for a relaxing break with delightful Kalkan a short taxi ride away or 25 min walk. Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest_traveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My Husband ,myself and another couple spent two lovely weeks at the Happy Hotel at the beginning of May.We had deluxe rooms which were really spacious,comfortable and clean.We had huge balconies which had stunning views over Kalamar Bay.
The very large pool was always spotlessly clean.The Hotel ,pool and entrances were all surrounded by pretty grounds.
We were half board and every meal was excellent.The staff really put the iceing on the cake and were probably the friendliest we have ever met on any of our many holidays.Everyone was so helpfull and were so willing to please.We will never forget Kenans humour and Bahris quiet efficiency.(and his card tricks).Seher was allways there for any query we had,and always had a smile for everyone.
We have been to Turkey several times but think Kalkan has been our favourite.We do not usually return to the same location,thinking it is a big world with lots of places to see but we will definitely be back to Kalkan and the Happy Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#8 of 39 in Kalkan
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hotel Kalkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hotel Kalkan

Property: Happy Hotel Kalkan
Address: Kalamar Koyu, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalkan
#5 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Hotel Kalkan 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Happy Hotel Kalkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalkan Harpy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing