We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th Anniversary”
Review of Happy Hotel Kalkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It was 2002 when I first discovered Happy (Harpy) Hotel. For the last ten years I have always created reasons to stay in Happy Hotel. At our very last holiday with my wife I felt like I was with my family. Especially with Bahri (Bar Tender), Seher (receptionist), Çiğdem (receptionist), Ozgur (Best Pan Cake Chef), Hasan (Waiter), Ismail (Security), and Sahin you feel seriously secure because those great employees always looking after you. With their great service you feel like you are in the center of the world! Not only the hotel employees but also the customers are familiar because they absolutely feel the same just as I do about Happy Hotel. If you are a mediterranean lover, if you like cold beer & chips (with salt and vinegar), if you like sea food, if you like friendly environment, if you are fond of listening good quality music (during dinner), if you like spending romantic hours with your wife, if you like simply good of everything, you must definetly visit Happy Hotel and you know what you will never regret for it and always remember the good old memories.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MuratBingol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

View, Comfort. food and everything top notch!!! Could not have wished for a better place to stay near Kalamar Beach

Room Tip: Try to have a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sallydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the Happy Hotel and loved every minute of our stay.
The basic rooms were spacious and if you upgraded to a deluxe room...Huge!
All rooms had a balcony!
Breakfast was lovely, with a good selection of cereals, meats and cheese, fruit, etc.
Omelette Chef the best. Waiters the best.
Hotel very clean and tidy.
Receptionists very helpful and kind.
Free bus rides to kalkan and back three times a day.
Fabulous Views.
Biggest Swimming Pool.
Reasonably priced drinks and bar snacks.
We will be back.....!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Renamed recently from the 'Harpy' hotel, the Happy hotel will certainly make you happy.

I think it must have been refreshed when it was renamed as it all appeared virtually brand new when we stayed.We booked a duluxe room, and this proved to be very large with a very large balcony also.

The bed was nice and firm, and gavea good night sleep. The room had an armchair, 2 seater setee, a small table with 2 chairs, a long sideboard with the mini bar one end and Tv the other, with drawers and seat with mirror in between.

The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and good lighting.

Air conditioning was nice and chilly, which was a must as it was nearly 40 degrees when we were there.

The pool is very large with a nice low level of chlorine in it, no red eyes! and is a very nice place to laze around in the late afternoon/evening sun.

We only ate breakfasts in the hotel but these were plentiful with a good broad range of things to eat, our only criticism was they did not supply water (unless you buy it) with breakfast.

The reception staff were pleasant and always willing to help, as were the cleaners who cleaned your room every day.

There were several things to do in the evenings (free of charge) including, a pool table, table tennis, table football and varoius table games (backgammon etc).

WiFi was free throughout the Hotel and there was a PC to use in reception.

We walked down to the Kalamar beach club most days (about a 5 minute walk down the steps) which is one of the best beach clubs in Kalkan, and has the best snorkelling and a lot of fish! One of the best parts of the beach club, is they give free rides back up the hill to the hotel at the end of the day!!

You can walk into Kalkan from the hotel (about 20 minutes - all downhill) or get the hotel minibus (at certain times) or get the local Dolmus, but this only leaves at 8.05pm outside Cafe Vita each night. We would not recommend walking back unless you are very keen, as its mostly uphill, but it's just too warm to do this.
The hotel minivan will take you back at 10.30 each night (which is a bit too early) or you can get a taxi for about 16TL from the Harbour.

All in all a very nice place to stay, not really in Kalkan its actually Kalamar bay which is approx 1.5 miles from Kalkan Harbour. We think this is nicer than staying in Kalkan itself as we felt it was too built up and busy for us, so this was ideal for the peace and quiet for the nights but close enough for the town for the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farnzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice hotel with beautiful views over Kalamar Bay. We had a family suite for 2 of us and it was worth every penny. Booked with hotels4u. Good price! Large, comfortable king sized bed. Good wardrobe space with plenty of coat hangers. Nice seating area in the lounge which we used when the balcony was too hot to sit out on. Large balcony with fantastic views.Spotlessly clean. Shampoo/shower gel, pool towels and tea and coffee making facilities provided. Too far for us to walk into town with the intense July heat so we used the courtesy bus or taxis to get around. Loved Kalamar beach club and they provided a free return taxi for using their facilities.
Special mention of Barry in the hotel bar ,also Sarah and the other girl who worked in reception. They all spoke good English and were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, some rooms only have garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

exellant hotel, great staff. the only problem was the eternal one of people getting up first thing in the morning and putting their towels on the best sun beds and then going off for 5 or6 hours!! very annoying!

Room Tip: overlooking pool gets a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rchrdsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great service and facilities. Barry at the bar is a legend! Never been to the same place and hotel 2 years in a row before but that's how good Kalkan and the happy are.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.2 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#8 of 40 in Kalkan
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#12 of 40 in Kalkan
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hotel Kalkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hotel Kalkan

Address: Kalamar Yolu, Akdeniz Caddesi, Palmiye Sokak No: 35-41 | Kalamar Bay, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#5 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $34 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Hotel Kalkan 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine place to stay. Feels like home. Clean and friendly. Far enough from the town center for a calm, peaceful, quiet and restful stay, but not isolated. Less than half an hour walk downtown. Shuttle transportation several times a day. Close the beach. Clean beach. Best swimming pool around. One needs to experience personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Happy Hotel Kalkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalkan Harpy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing