We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pirat
Nearby Hotels
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dionysia(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kulube Hotel(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$86
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elixir(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samira Resort(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$38
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Zinbad(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PaperMoon Hotel & Aparts(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Hotel Kalkan(Kalkan)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
212
146
61
12
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
146
61
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardpool barturkeysea viewolder partpool sideperfect locationthere are so manynext yearair conditioningplenty of sunbedsbars and restaurantssecond homebeautiful townfab holidayrooms are basiccobbled streets
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 447 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2009

The Pirat is the largest hotel in Kalkan, in a good location right in the main town close by to all the bars, shops and restraunts. Rooms are average really, quite old skool in my opinion; they could do with renovating and updating. When you book ask for a room with the mini bar fridge so that you can put your water bottles in, as some rooms wont have a fridge. There are signs that say you cant bring food or drink in, however we just ignored this and bought stuff from the spa next door, none of the staff noticed. Also if you book a suite, dont have one thats right above the pool/bar as its so noisy; my partner and I got really badly sunburnt on our first day and tried to have an early night...... no chance it sounded as if there was a full on rave going on outside the room. My partner had to ring reception 3 times to complain to get the music turned down and the people at the bar were talking very loudly. Sooooo, if ur after an early night avoid booking a pool suite!!
Breakfast was okay, with cereals, greek yogurt, boiled eggs and bread. You can pay extra for orange juice which I would advise buying as the squash the pirat serves in the drinks machines is a bit rank really! Evening meal was hit and miss, my favourite night was the barbeque night with the barbeque chicken and veg, other nights were not as good but there are plenty of nearvy restraunts in town to eat at; which me and my parner did.
The pool is okay however it seemed to always be full of screaming kids, so we always drove to the nearby patara beach which is so beautiful and always deserted.
Be careful in the very hot months at the buffet; I was really suprised that the buffet was served outdoors uncovered rather than indoors? This was not only unhygenic in my eyes but was also very dangerous; there were swarms of wasps constantly flying round the food; I even noticed on several occassions them nesting in the food, so take care not to get stung when getting your food.
All in all the Pirat is okay, however there are much more nicer smaller hotels in Kalkan you could use. the Pirat is fine if your after something thats average.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Would recommend Hotel Pirat to friends. We had a fabulous holiday. The hotel staff were great and very helpful, especially Reggie in the pool bar! It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and Reggie organised cake, fireworks, champagne and made it a night to remember. We met some lovely people, staff and guests. The rooms are kept clean but could possibly do with a little bit of TLC. But, hey, who cares you don't stay in your room all day. Lovely restaurants in Kalkan, especially Alternatif, Ibo, Terrace Restaurant, Kaptains but all of them are really very nice. You are so close to all the boats so you have to have a boat trip - great value at 35 TL (Falcon) including lunch. Go to Reggie's pool bar at 5 pm for yardarmage (Vodka and Tonic!) and watch all the boats come into the harbour. I defy anyone to find a better location for a hotel in Kalkan! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MutleyMarch_Cambs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We booked 5 days before we travelled, guided by Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The transfer from Dalaman airport was long, but the reception staff couldn’t have been more kind & helpful when we arrived at gone 9pm hungry & tired.
The hotel was very clean & every member of staff we met was kind helpful & friendly. We took our 16yr old on her own as her sister wanted to stay at home & she soon met up with others her own age in the hotel & had a wonderful holiday.
The hotel is over the marina & very central but this is an advantage rather than a disadvantage as although our holiday was in high season, Kalkan is not your usual noisy yob resort. It was a village clinging to the hill but had sufficient bars & nightclubs hidden within it to keep the youngsters busy (but close enough to be safe).
You couldn’t fault the pools - clean, cool & Reggie & 'Yur' in the pool bar were very attentive. Within the hotel bar & food bills can be charged to your room, though check your bill when paying as we had a £60 bill from the Marina restaurant charged which we hadn’t been to - the hotel immediately refunded it. The hotel doesn’t charge for internet or pool or table tennis which was great.
The food was simple but well cooked - a menu was posted midday so you could plan your day. The best meals were when the main course was cooked on the BBQ. The snack bar prices were competitive with the restaurants in town, and the food good - the advantage being , you only need move 20yds!
We only went for a week so didn’t need to venture far. We were half board, so only needed lunch. We ventured out for lunch 3 times. Kaptains restaurant above the town beach caught our imagination on an exploratory wander with 'pasta with dried apricots, spinach & walnuts' which lived up to the anticipation. The owner is lovely too.
Another day we only managed to wander as far as Aubergine Restaurant (all of 100 yds). The food was excellent - husband said best carbonara he had ever had, & my doner kebab was superb - but double the amount we could eat -huge portions! Great staff too.
The third time we bought bread, tomatoes, a peach, figs, apricots & grapes for 3TL from town & went to Patara ruins for 10L return on the town bus & ate it in the amphitheatre tunnel with a bottle of Reggie's frozen water - superb!
We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel - we had high expectations following Trip Advisor reviews but weren't disappointed. It was a lovely lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidWalesJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at hotel pirat 2 which was lovely very clean, good food and good hotel entertainment, lovely staff aswell, the pools are very well looked after, the staff are very friendly and look after you very well, there is plenty to do and see we went on 2 boat trips and swam with dolphins we also hired a moped for the day which was good fun, also went to patara beach which is lovely but the sand burns your feet, but the water is like a warm bath, Kalkan is a beautiful place and very friendly the weather is great and was very hot, good job the pool is near by, Yunus Akbulut at the hotel is very helpful and a special thank you to him for looking after us, i would go to Kalkan again and stay at the pirat 2.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyheadsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Fantastic hotel with excellent staff- nothing was too much trouble. PR man Yunus Akbalar was particularly good - courteous, polite and very charming! The service is excellent. The hotel is very clean and safe. Food was excellent and the entertainment low key and fun! Rooms are compact. Beds are very comfortable and air con works well. The location is fantastic- we felt the best in Kalkan. So pretty and right in the hub of everything. We would highly recommend it, but not to too many! Keep it a lovely secret! We will be back! Turkish bath was great too. A fabulous hotel with many attributes to make a good holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews