We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel in a 5 star location”
Review of Hotel Pirat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pirat
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location, location, location. This hotel is slap bang in the middle of Kalkan marina, its reasonably priced and you get what you pay for. The hotel is in 2 halves divided by a main road, one a hotel block the other apartment like rooms overlooking the sea. These share 3 pools, all overlooking the bay of Kalkan with stunning view whilst you sunbathe. The pool bar is run by Reggie, who plays gentle music during the day cranking up the volume during the evening with a selection of golden oldies and new tunes. He keeps everyone amused and is both charming and a great bar man serving everyone as quickly as he can, our bar bill for the record was spot on! Our room was adequate, slightly dated but for the time you spend in it fine for 2 weeks, its came with a small mini bar and a balcony. Breakfast was a bit crammed, a selection of more fruits, bacon, decent coffee and more than one toaster would have helped - but you can ease down to one of the nearby bars on the water front if you are underwhelmed. However the people who come here more than made up our holiday, friendly and welcoming you'll end up in tears when you leave this amazing and rather wonderful hotel. All in all we will be back soon!

Room Tip: No facing the chocolate bar rooms or you'll not get any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laineydesanvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 440 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Pirat, our 2nd time there. This year has confirmed to us that the Pirat is a good hotel to use as a base for exploring Kalkan, and not much more. The location is fantastic, but the breakfast/dinner selection leave a lot to be desired, and we didn't have more than 2 days around the pool in two weeks because we refused to join in with the ridiculous antics of the selfish bed hoggers who put towels down at 5am...why would you come on holiday to do that?! Instead we got up, had chocolate spread on toast then made our way to one of the lovely beach clubs and spent our money there instead.

In two weeks we had dinner at the Pirat once, despite having paid for half board. This was on the Turkish night. The food was ok and the entertainment pretty good. On all other evenings we went out and enjoyed the great selection of restaurants that Kalkan has to offer.

One last thing to mention. Before arriving at the Pirat we emailed ahead, about 4 weeks in advance, to request a room in block F or G, away from the Chocolate club racket that we endured in block I last year. We had a reply from the lady on reception to say that we had been allocated a room in block G.

However, when we turned up, tired and cranky late at night after a long journey, this all appeared to be forgotten. The same lady who had sent us the email was on the desk, however denied all knowledge of the room allocation and demanded to see a copy of the email. Happily, I produced one on my phone, which she didn't seem to expect, and then admitted that she remembered sending it and went on to blame her manager for changing the room.

We spent one night in block K, as close to the chocolate bar as you could possibly get without being inside it, and then they moved us to block F. My message to the Pirat on this occasion would be to not make promises or set expectations that you have no intention of sticking to. Had we not made a fuss, they probably would have been happy to leave us in the noisy proximity of the chocolate bar for our whole two week stay.

We had a lovely holiday, as we spent 90% of our waking time away from the hotel. We intend to return to Kalkan but probably not to the Pirat again as they don't offer bed and breakfast option through English travel agencies and half board has been a huge waste of money for us both times we have stayed there. Also the chances of getting a decent room are pretty slim unless you pay extra for a pool room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned again from the lovely Pirat. The views of many other guests are quite correct, the Chocolate bar is certainly noisy and earplugs can be useful. On the positive side the hotel has added more sunbeds which on leaving yesterday had eased the problem.
Reggae was at his best playing brilliant music and keeping everyone happy, he's a great guy who takes an interest in everyone and is very kind. As are all the staff Osgur, Osman, Boran are just some of the best staff that any hotel would be pleased to have.
There has been an overbooking problem at the Samira and guests were transferred to the Pirat the most prime position is Kalan, unfortunately some were very unhappy and made it known to very many happy guests of there displeasure and moaned about everything and everyone in fact very negative. I wish they could have stayed at the Samira many of us would have been much happier not to have met them.
Read lots of views to get an overall impression. Speak to the manager Yunus direct if you have concerns and he will do his utmost to accommodate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalkan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel has 2 houses: bigger part where is also pool and breakfast and reception/rooms other side (has a lift). Houses are not connected, you need to cross the street.
Spent 2 nights in a room #305 (smaller part), sea view, balcony (2 size types, I had slightly bigger).
Room: harder bed, low quality pillows, thin duvet without cover/sheet (felt rough)-thicker one with cover. Double curtains, can black out. Bathroom: towels ok, shampoo and soap, slippers.
On the second day the bed was made up with flowers- nice touch. Decent size of a cupboard, minibar.

Hotel looks dated, as well as the rooms, which are small in a size. Furniture and fittings looking and are cheap, as well the washing liquids used for cleaning, specific odour.
AC is noisy and is not even blocking the loud music which is coming from various clubs and bars till early morning (3/4 am) every night.
Great location if you fancy partying yourself, but not for a quiet rest.

Pool: plastic sun-beds with blue mattress. No towels provided.

Breakfast: poor and basic choice, fresh orange juice and omelette for an extra cost, no fruit selection (had grapes and canned fruits). Automatic coffee machine. Plastic furniture. Better eat out in some nice cafe around the corner or plenty of other choices nearby.

Overall: basic hotel, friendly staff, location at the marina so all the bars/restaurants/shops/beach around you, high noise level during night, great views from most of the rooms, dated.

PS.I usually stay 5 or good 4 star hotels, hence I was not satisfied with the quality.

Room Tip: The rooms stepping back in the bigger part of the hotel might have less noise, but not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kadi-rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My daughter (18) and I (54) have been to the Pirat before. This time we were in the older part over the road. We had a sea view which was stunning. The room was lovely and clean. The staff are all wonderful. However,as well as the noise from Chocolate bar,a new bar Sandals has opened directly beneath the Pirat contributing to the noise until 4am so there are few rooms now not affected by noise. Everyone I spoke to had to use earplugs and couldn't sit on the balconies for the noise. There isn't any English TV so we took a laptop and DVDs. One night we could hear Sandals bar over the DVD and air con .This resort is for older people and some families. It is not Marmaris,Blackpool or Benidorm. If the Kalkan authorities insist on allowing more of this type of bar they will lose their existing clients to hoardes of young drunken revellers as has happened to numerous other beautiful holiday resorts. Kalkan businesses are also concerned that visitors of many years standing will go elsewhere.Older people tend to have more money to spend than teenagers sharing a fishbowl and vomiting in the street.The sunbed situation is also laughable. I witnessed people putting towels down before they went to bed and at 4 am one morning (when I was still awake with the noise). Management don't seem to care about this at all. They should.Often the towels are there all day whilst the owners are elsewhere keeping a bed on the off chance they might want ten minutes by the pool. We went on boat trips or to beaches and spent our money there instead of in the hotel buying lunch and drinks. By the way the Sea Bella does an all day trip with lunch for about £12,lovely family business and reasonalbly priced drinks.The food at the Pirat is repetative but good quality. Very little hot choice in the evening with only one meat or fish option per night. Turkish night there, however, is superb. Kalkan is a beautiful,traditional,friendly and welcoming resort.My daughter is an attractive young lady who was not hassled in the slightest. It is very Turkish with a lovely mix of English,Dutch,Italian,French and German visitors. There is a very safe and relaxing environment in Kalkan. Restaurants Trio and Mussaka to be recomended and Yacht Point Bar for cocktails all by the harbour.The Pirat has the best location in Kalkan,they need to attend to the irritations to become the best hotel in Kalkan. meanwhile I hope the authorities think again about granting late night music licenses in such a sleepy village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel has two major issues, 1. if your in a room that is at the rear or road side of the new blocks (also known as Pirat 2) or a non sea view room in the original part of the hotel then you'll have the pleasure of listening to the Chocolate bar until 4 in the morning (guess where ours was?). 2. To get a sunbed your towel needs to be down by 7am at the latest.
Apart from the above this is a basic average hotel mixing some good and bad. We came to the Pirat through the familiar story of the Samira resort overbooking. First impressions upon arriving were OK, however things soon started to go downhill, firstly the room turned out to be a twin room and not a double, the wash basin tap was virtually falling off, the shower head wouldn't stay in its holder, the patio door wouldn't lock, the sliding wardrobe door was off its runners, when I spoke to the receptionist about these maintenance issues I sensed she wasn't interested and this feeling proved to be correct as nothing was done.
The pool and surrounding area is quite nice and the bar prices weren't too bad either, the staff are friendly apart from the aforementioned receptionist. The Hotel is positioned right next to the harbour so it's next to the quayside restaurants which are more expensive.

Room Tip: Ear plugs for the noise and an alarm clock to get a sunbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from 8th september 2013. The best feature by far is location there are no otbers in Kalkan come close it is beautiful. The pool area is lovely just as they are on the website but to get a sunbed is a different ball game we managed it once the hotel has grown far to big for its facility's. The rooms are fine with good aircon although bathrooms could done with a little TLC. Breakfast was ok the usual fruit,ham,cheese, breads ect. The staff were all great and very frie ly we would stay again but purely because of location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowiecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
328 reviews
1 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#9 of 40 in Kalkan
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pirat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pirat

Address: Iskele Sokak, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $50 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pirat 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pirat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirat Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing