We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th time at the Pirat”
Review of Hotel Pirat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pirat
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location, friendly staff and fantastic pool and bar area. We have stayed here 4 years in a row now in August and it is perfect for our family with close by nightlife for our teenage children. We never have to worry about them going out at night, no drunken yobs and even better not a Subway or McDonalds in sight. Kalkan is real Turkey and the Pirat allows for walking everywhere with no need to hire a car
Already booked again for 2014, would highly recommend
For anyone who doesn't like steps, request a poolside room

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrskimcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 439 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took the family to the hotel pirat hamam for a Turkish bath. Left on a marble slab to open the pores and heat up nicely before being gently exfoliated with a flannel. Then a linen bag full of hot bubbles is gently massaged into your body - very relaxing and good fun. Definitely a must when in Turkey and leaves your skin super smooth and your tan lasts so much longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCarcassonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pirat is great. As accommodation goes It is a normal 3 star - rooms are perfectly good but not luxurious - but what really sets it apart is a fabulous location- right on the front of a lovely town - and its really friendly staff.
We had a suite at modest extra cost - with a spacious sitting room on the other side of the road from reception -a good thing if staying for a couple of weeks (also quieter, though the double glazing on the other side of the road on the reception end where our children were was very good).
Daily room service is excellent, staff are wonderful (thanks Reggae in the bar for two weeks of great fun and do enjoy Inverness when you visit!).
Great for families and couples alike, a relaxed place but not too quiet (parent-child compromise!)
Food fine, though with all the choices to eat out in Kalkan we tended to ignore the half board and explore. In any event the half board cost (which is pretty much mandatory) is very small and it's nice to come down to yog and honey for breakfast.
Kids (adolescents) loved it and Kalkan overall has a very safe feel to it, so no problems with 15 year old daughters pottering out for a cocktail after dinner on their own.
All in all, a really nice place and would suit families with kids of any age and couples alike. No drunbken yobs seen during entire stay !! For a larger hotel complex a definate 10/10.

Room Tip: Over the road from reception is quieter, but more steps! If you need a lift go to reception side. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have been in this hotel for several years and travelling there with my family and friends. Even with my parents who are 73 and 75 years old. This hotel is laying on a very unique spot in the world, i have been travelling a lot, but i have never found a better place for a hotel than the Kalkan harbourside. The staff is excellent and working hard. The rooms are simple but all you need is there. The food is plenty and enough variety to please everybody. The view from your hotel room (book sea view) is stunning and even after 8 years it still amazes me. There are many little beautiful shops and restaurants in kalkan, all on walking distance and there is lots to do in the environment. For children the 3 swimmingpools are great and it is close to the sea and several beachclubs. Every destination has plus and mins, and yes the noise in the high season can be loud, but it never bothered me, so go there in april,may,june or september, october and you have no problem. Enjoy your stay there as we always do!

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view and if you have difficulties with walking, ask for a room as low as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leoniedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room was located at the top of block F, it was a good size but the bathroom was quite small, badly lit and scruffy. All the staff I encountered were very helpful and pleasant. The food is adequate especially when considering how much extra half board actually costs, however, the menu is repetitive so we ate in the hotel alternate nights only as there are so many wonderful restaurants in Kalkan. The club situated under the hotel is new since my last visit and can be heard everywhere in the harbour in the evenings. Swimming pools are great but some of the sun beds and tables were filthy. Pool bar music was on occasion intrusively loud during the day.

Room Tip: The best rooms have a sea view but suffer noise in the evenings, if you don't like lots of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff at the hotel are very courteous and nothing is too much trouble for the guests. I have stayed at the Pirat Hotel 4 times since 2007 and the welcome as you return again from the staff is second to none.
The food is varied enough to suit all tastes wether it is at breakfast time or for the evening meal.
There are many tourists from the UK and the Netherlands that return each year to the Pirat so I would say that speaks volumes for the hotel.
Kalkan is a very friendly resort for all nationalities and I can't wait to return again in 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My friend Jenny and I have stayed at the Pirat every year for the last 4 years. I would rate it as very good. We always have a great holiday and are looking forward to this years holiday, which begins next week!!! The staff have always been friendly and helpful to us, we have had no problems with the room and enjoy the days by the pool and pool bar. At night we often eat out in kalkan, you would struggle to find a restaurant that isn't good. We do however eat in the hotel, usually on the theme nights for example the Turkish night and it is well worth staying in the hotel for these as the food is good and overall good value for money. Rooms are kept clean and comfortable with no shortage of clean towels and the bedding is changed daily. Hurry up next Friday!!! Ali and Jenny

Room Tip: The Pirat 2 block is newer and probably nicer than Pirat 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliXManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.8 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#12 of 40 in Kalkan
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#23 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pirat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pirat

Address: Iskele Sokak, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $58 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pirat 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pirat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirat Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing