We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Timers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for the first time September 2012 for 2 weeks, self catering. The apartment had everything we required and was big enough for the 2 of us. Cleaner always left the place spotless.
This was our first visit to Turkey so were interested in comparison to Greek Islands etc. Samira Hotel was in ideal location in Kalkan, nothing was too far away. If you havn't been to Kalkan before the hill has to be taken into account.
The hotel was always spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful. Special thanks to all but especially to Volcan (thanks for the footie), Jacob for keeping our glasses full and although we didn't participate Borak for making us laugh. Very sad to hear about Jacob getting the sack.
I agree with everyone who said that there was never any pressure to join in.
Turkish night was great and a must for everyone who stays.
The choice of places to eat in Kalkan was fantastic and we never had a bad meal anywhere. Special mention to Cafe Leon, Fez and the Adana kebab house just behind the hotel.
Loads of lovely places to stop on the way up the hill to break the journey. Kalkan is lovely at night and caters for all budgets.
Enjoyed going to all the beach clubs but our favourite was the Palm Beach club.
We went on a day tour to Salkient gorge (very busy) but if you are going to book this trip be careful. If you don't want to be put in a very awkward situation avoid booking a trip that includes the carpet factory.
Had a fantastic holiday and will certailnly be coming back.
Thanks again to all the staff at Samira.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank davehammer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 588 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely Turkish Hotel, staff are great, Yurgen, hotel manager has dry sense of humour but can be bought with hazelnuts and chocolate! Corner rooms contain small kitchenette, which is useul but rooms are small and a little oppressive (all air conditioned) rooms to the left of the pool area contain a lovely view but beware the cockerel just below, he starts crowing at 4 amand the mosk starts at 5 am, fine for us as early risers! Breakfast very good but traditional turkish food. all in all a lovely hotel, will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julesHertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Samira Hotel and apartments 21 st September to 1 st October this was our second visit. We came back as this is the best place to stay for location. This visit we had an apartment which we found basic. Think the accomdation needs up dating. The air condition in the apartment is in the living area and not the bedroom we were unable to open the window at night as there was alot of noise from the bar area even though on average there were only 3 people sitting there drinking hotel guests returned later in than us and were noisy this resulted in us having only 3 nights sleep during the holiday. Plus the resident cockerel also woke us up. Staff lovely friendly and welcoming. Every where very clean. The breakfast is good quality and fresh perhaps the only negative thing i could say about it is could do with better food coverings. The new entainment programme wasn't a problem . We only stayed around the pool 2 days. As this visit we were busy exploring we went to a beach club, had a private boat trip PALA BOAT food was amazing, Saklient Gorge and we went canoeing. And the Dolbus to Pastara Beach and taxi to Kaputas Beach. Love Kalkan all the restaurants we ate in were great. We will go back but not to Samira as we would like better sleep quality as thats part of the holiday decent night sleep and we certainly did not get that here.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank tobyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at The Samira Apartments and really enjoyed my stay. The apartments have a great location very close to the town, clean and great cleaning staff. Kalkan has excellent turkish restaurants and Kloe's Bar down at the harbour is a lovely location to have a drink by the sea. The Samira was great value for money and if I went back to Kalkan I would definetly return. We did a private transfer using Brave Tours which is part of the Samira group excellent for the money £55 return definetly recommend.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Samira Apartments better value for money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hathor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at this hotel we were greeted by the serley manager who proceeded to give us the ground rules. Once we were shown to our room it was down hill all the way. To say the room was "basic" would be an understatement. The shower in the room was by far the worst I had ever come across.
We asked if there was a room with a better shower but Mr serley told us they were all the same.
If you like the windows and doors not fitting properly and no curtains to shut the sun out at 5.30am and you like to be woken each morning at 4.45am by the resident cockerel and be faced with someone throwing up all over their room and all the staff did was to leave it there all day with the door propped open into the hallway to waft the smell around then this is the hotel for you.
We visit kalkan twice a year for many years and our usual hotel was full as we booked very late so the samira was all that was left. I clearly understand why they had availability... Awful, just awful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terri-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Samira,we were in the apartment block behind the hotel and it was delightful.very close to town,not noisy at all and felt very exclusive.Kalkan itself is leagues ahead of the now spoilt Hisaronu and Olu-Deniz.
The staff are a credit to this place and work very long hours they all were so friendly it made the holiday,even though we were in the apartments we used the bar etc and it was great :)
Unfortunately the last few days were soured by the horrible public humiliation of the staff by a dictatorial owner constantly shouting and demeaning the hard working staff,this made the atmosphere at the complex very bad for us. The lovely Jakob getting fired because he advised this sour gentleman (boss) to stop making a fool of himself being drunk on Raki and giving staff and some customers a hard time. Advice to the owners,leave them to it they do a better job when your not there.we will not return to the complex as the last few days were such a bad atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mario187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I think this is the 7th stay for me at the Samira hotel and apartments and I have got to say that after reading a few of the reviews submitted to this site I was a bit worried. I have always loved the quiet, exclusive atmosphere of the Samira so was a tad worried when people were posting about intrusive pool games, over eager staff and loud music.

When we arrived we were greeted by quite a few familiar faces which were as friendly as before. The staff couldn't do enough for you and we were made to feel very welcome. Having been there many times before it is always nice to be greeted as an old friend.

When we arrived at the room, which was in the back building, I have to say that we were a bit disappointed as we had always stayed in the front building overlooking the pool. The rooms in the back building are more basic than the front building, with different decor and standards. We booked this room separately from the flights through a travel site so knew we would have a land facing room. When we approached reception to see if there was any chance of upgrading to the front building they were very helpful and accommodating. We moved to the front building and got a corner room which had the added benefits of a fridge and cooking area. We had room 202 and this was much better than the back building.

As mentioned earlier the reviews had really worried us but I have got to say that our worries were unfounded. The hotel has indeed introduced pool games and plays music around the pool but they were by no means intrusive or butlin's like. The staff were not pushy and did not force anyone to take part. There was no public humiliation events and the staff could not have been more helpful or courteous. In the grand scheme of things a 20 minute water polo game out of 8 hours of lounging around the pool is hardly something to complain about. We were able to relax, read our books, have a swim, have a drink and basically chill out whenever we wanted.

The breakfast was good traditional Turkish fare with the option of buying more 'British' items. I didn't try the full English or other British items as I prefer to eat local cuisine when I'm away.

The bar staff were great and the entertainment of an evening was well planned and executed. Again it was not compulsory participation but did prove to be very entertaining.

There have been a number of changes in bars and restaurants in Kalkan over the last year or so but the choice of bars and restaurants are as good as ever. Mojito cocktail bar was very nice and plush, if a little on the expensive side. Doy Doy didn't fail to impress again and I would thoroughly recommend a visit to try one of their steaks. Delicious food with wonderful views and wonderful staff.

I can't wait to go back again to Kalkan and probably the Samira.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the hotel building have a fridge and sink area. Back building is more basic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blackpoolguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Elixir
The Elixir
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Likya Residence and Spa
0.8 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments

Address: Mentese Mahallesi, Sehitler Caddesi, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $76 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing