We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Zinbad”
Review of Hotel Zinbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zinbad
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed in Hotel Zinbad toward the end of July 13 for 9 nights and were very pleased with our choice. This is a small, very friendly hotel, very clean and freshly updated throughout. The service was good and the staff very attentive and helpful at all times - we felt very welcome. The Hotel has had a recent change of ownership and a complete refurb so only recent reviews will be relevant. The likeable hotel owner, for whom nothing seems too much trouble; is frequently on hand. The Hotel is probably not ideal for families with children, we saw only couples during our stay.
We chose this Hotel mostly because of its location in Kalkan old town, we had stayed in Kalkan previously when we rented a small old house and were aware of the value of location because if you are walking away from the sea anywhere in Kalkan, you are climbing steep hills.
We were situated on the seaward side of the Hotel with a great view over the sea and harbour and a balcony. The sea view is partially obstructed by other buildings as the Hotel is not right on the sea front. I'd strongly suggest that anyone staying here take a Sea View room. This is not a new building and as such and in common with old town properties the rooms are not large but ours was adequate for us and the bathroom was quite large with a spacious walk in shower. The rooms/bathrooms do vary in size, with some smaller than ours so keep this in mind.
The location down side, depending on your point of view, is that Kalkan is a very busy and buzzy town at night so there tends to be noise until 4am when the Mosque, which is very close by (you have been warned!) pipes up with a call to prayer. We were on the harbour side so you get general noise from the bars and restaurants. The other side of the Hotel has a Nightclub close by. All the rooms have new double glazed doors where there is a balcony and triple glazed windows on the back to keep down noise. Air conditioning was effective so we kept our balcony doors closed at night.
Hotel breakfasts are Turkish, very good and fresh and served in the rooftop terrace. We were B&B only as there are many restaurants in Kalkan half the fun is eating out. We did have one evening meal in the hotel; it was very good but when we came to pay the bill at the end of the stay we found it to be 205 lira (about £72.00 at the time) This was the most expensive meal we had in Kalkan and definitely not competitive. For this reason I am only awarding 4 out of five stars for our stay, I am not saying don’t eat there, just check the price beforehand
I hope this review is helpful in making an informed choice, Zinbad does not have a high star rating (2 I think) I expect this is due to the reasons I’ve set out but it’s better than the rating suggests. If you want a Villa with a swimming pool and spacious rooms they do exist but will be away (often a long way) and uphill from the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Zinbad hotel for one night and upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the host.....complimentary Expresso coffee set the tone for the Hotel. Rooms were beautifully presented and the soft mattress and feather pillows were the best we experienced since arriving in Turkey. Dinner on the Roof Terrace was an awesome occasion with stunning views of the Harbour and surrounding hills. Food was extremely tasty.
The Zinbad Hotel pride themselves in pleasing the customer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly. And Breakfast was lovely.
A good location to the beach compared to other places. Great atmosphere for chilling out... Absolutely go here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank didem i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

my husband and I stayed in the Zinbad hotel for a two night stay. the staff were very attentive and friendly. The hotel is a perfect location with everything on the door step.

we paid 150 TR per night which included a full turkish breakfast on the roof terrace with views over the harbour.

for a great view ask for room 302 - the balcony has amazing views

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Zinbad Hotel location is amazing. Just in the center of beautiful Kalkan. i made my reservation via booking.com and i am so glad..People are friendly and really nice.There is a wonderful terrace restaurant on the top floor and chief is cooking great food.
If you stay there you must test at least 1 dinner . anyway after that you will decide to have another dinner next day.
Rooms are big comfortable and clean.

if you decide to go to Kalkan. Do not think and make your reservation on that lovely place.

Room Tip: all rooms are big and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetluck35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Over one month of traveling Turkey and we found Zinbad to be the best hotel experience yet! Ahmet Bilgi is not only great with guests, he is obviously an excellent manager of his staff. Dinner high above the noisy restaurants below was perfect with amazing views of the Aegean complete with fireworks. The hotel has been recently refurbished in excellent taste. By the time we left on June 3, there were hugs all around and tears in our eyes. Ahmet, Fazil, Zehra and Ahmet the chef and others all came out to wish us safe travels. We can't wait to go back.

Chuck and Lee Roberts
Taos, NM USA

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cwrobwrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed this hotel for 20 days ! Then I was so glad. The workers were very friendly and good kind. Moreover , The restaurant was very clean and had a nice scenery. The foods were very delicious. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: The best room is the second floor 302. with balcony and nice scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.8 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#12 of 40 in Kalkan
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#10 of 40 in Kalkan
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#23 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zinbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zinbad

Address: YalIboyu Mah. Mustafa Kocakaya Cad. No:26, Kalkan, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zinbad 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZINBAD Boutique Hotel and our warm-hearted personnel have been giving the best sample of Turkish hospitality since 1985. Recently renovated to the highest standard, Zinbad Boutique Hotel has a fresh clean modern feel to it. All 25 rooms are complete with beautiful new furniture, the latest AC units and Bathroom with shower room. The hotel is within walking distance to the center of the bustling old Village, Marina and the beautiful local Beach. After passing the center and going down towards the marina you can reach our hotel following the pretty narrow side streets with buildings reflecting typical Mediterranean architecture and climbing bougainvillea.Our friendly personnel will be waiting to welcome you to make you feel at home and to ensure you a dreamlike, comfortable, stress free stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Zinbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing