We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect half term break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kalkan Retreat

View from the swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the swimming pool
View from the terrace out to Mouse and Snake Islands View from the roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
View from the swimming pool
View from the terrace out to Mouse and Snake Islands
View from the roof terrace
Another view from the roof terrace with traditional Turkish seating area
View as you walk out on to the roof terrace
A lovely spot for sunset drinks on the roof terrace
View from the pool - railings erected in 2016 to afford more privacy
View of the villa from the road
Lazy lunch or dining under the stars in the shaded dining area
There is plenty of shaded seating and both gas and traditional barbecues
The 'front' door entrance
Modern well equipped kitchen
Living Area
View from the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bedroom 4 - on the ground floor
Bedroom 3
TV and Games Room - perfect place for the children to escape from the sun
Table tennis at the back of the property
Lemons growing for your gin and tonic
The very helpful maintenance team
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kalkan, Turkish Mediterranean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
IssyFloJo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect half term break”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a perfect week in Kalkan staying at this gorgeous villa. We were party of 8 - two families with 4 teenagers who just loved everything about the villa and surrounding area and are already begging us to return again! We stayed end of October and had the pool heating which was a real bonus, others we met staying at other villas could not use their pools as they was too cold. Our teens were still jumping in the water after dark and the water was wonderfully warm. The weather was mostly lovely, just a couple of showers and one cloudy day but temperatures still mid 20s so perfect for lots of sightseeing. The sea was also a pleasant temperature to swim in having not yet cooled down from the summer heat. And not one mossie bite amongst us.

All bedrooms had aircon and all ensuite the showers were lovely and warm with excellent water pressure. The open plan kitchen, living area was ideal space for us all to share and the bi-fold door onto the main outdoors eating area was just wonderful, this dining area was covered which helped shade during the heat of the day but also meant we could eat out even during a light shower one night and not get wet. Views from everywhere in the villa were stunning.

We found some of the shops and restaurants had started to close towards the end of the week but still plenty of options we chose Doy Doy, Paprika, Hunkar for take away and Cafe Vita the local friendly restaurant for BBQ night and a couple of breakfasts. The staff at Cafe Vita are some of the nicest and genuine people we have ever met. One night we popped out to local supermarket to buy some extra booze but it was shut, no problem said Cafe Vita owner we will drive you into town to buy some... and so one of our party disappeared on the back of a Vespa to collect some much needed Efes beer and wine..... brilliant what service !!! Kalkan is by far the most friendly place we have ever visited, the Turkish people are just so lovely.

We used Dalaman car hire and hired a people carrier for the week, really easy drive from airport about 2 hours not rushing. We used Unlimited tours to book a trip to Kevova sunken city and that was a really wonderful day. We went to Patara beach and jumped in the waves, saw the ruins at Patara, Tlos and Xanthos (our favourite). We rafted down the river at Saklikent gorge, bought far too much at the Thursday market and some lovely "designer" bags at the Kalkan shops. Our only disappointment was that most of the beach clubs had already closed but the weather had been very windy and wet the week before we arrived.

The maintenance team were great, very discreet but on hand should we have needed them. They delivered fresh hot bread every morning and we had full linen change and clean half way through the week, they also came and emptied all bins daily and checked on pool every morning all of which was much appreciated. All in all this will definitely be in our top 10 of best holidays ever. Thank you for letting us stay at this lovely villa, and we really do hope we can return someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and outdoor seating areas
Liked least: One squeaky mattress in main bedroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerbiltpk
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning villa and view and heated pool option makes no.1 choice for Oct visit !”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

First time to Turkey and Kalkan more than lived up to expectations after much 'Googling'...too many excellent restaurants to choose from, enough life in the town even in late Oct to keep two teens interested in the evening. Fortunately 'olde Irish pubs',Full English Breakfasts, Sky Sports or football shirts don't seem to have invaded this lovely town.

This was a very last minute booking and Pauline just could not have been more helpful with the process and patiently responding to all my emails ! The Enes airport transfer she arranged was spot on and we arrived at 10pm...everyone was in the heated pool 10 minutes later !

We met other couples in restaurants who were staying in villas with unheated pools and they said they were too cold to enjoy at this time of year due (last 2 weeks of Oct). In contrast our pool was like a bath ! We stayed a few extra days in Hotel Elixir down the road which had a beautiful pool but we only braved the water the once !

Kalkan Retreat really is superbly equipped and spacious - the recent addition of a roof top terrace is a lovely sun trap all day. We only discovered the games room though on our last day as we carried our suitcases down the steps to the road and the cleaners had opened the door to the games room under the pool patio ! Everything was spotless in the villa and even after a brief storm whipped through the Korsan staff arrived to sweep up outside. We had one small issue with the external alarm box chirping and the Korsan staff were there within 10 minutes of me texting ! Great service.

It is a pleasant 15 minute stroll downhill to the town centre and whilst we caught taxis back up the hill usually (14 or 15 lira) we did walk back up a few times and it wasn't too onerous. Nearer by and just round the corner is the Cafe Vita and Mustaffa is the most genuinely friendly restaurant owner - don't miss the exceptional value BBQ night on Weds !

Lots of loungers, lots of beach towels, table tennis, dvds and internet / internet tv, belnders, mixers, beach bags and hats ! everything you could possibly want. The 3 upstairs bedfrooms (1 downstairs) all had fabulous views across Kalamar Bay in the morning while lying in bed!

We walked down to Enes during our stay and rented a 4 door saloon from them to spend the day at the Gorge - it was only GBP £20 for the day including insurance and they picked up the car the following morning - great value !

Thank you Pauline for a lovely relaxing holiday !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated pool, fully equipped, clean and spacious rooms
Liked least: I imagine when all other surrounding villas are occupied a little privacy is lost but I think the competetive pricing more than compensates!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such am amazing, relaxing perfect villa! cant wait to go back!”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I had such a lovely time at the villa, it had everything i needed I felt so at home but with an amazing sea view!
It was so luxurious, comfortable and peaceful, i wish i was still there!
Its a perfect distance from the town, a really nice walk in, but i was more than happy to stay at the villa as much as possible!
I really recommend this villa there inst any thing negative i could say!
If any thing the pictures of it don't justify how beautiful it is.

I will defiantly be going back!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel J
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb villa that surpassed our expectations with stunning views”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an excellent holiday in the Kalkan Reatreat it had all the facilities we needed including a lovely pool and fabulous roof terrace with panoramic views. We would not hesitate to return it was such a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T J
1 review
“Best Villa Ever”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

After many years of renting villas around the med, this was by far the best yet!
Spacious, comfortable rooms, plenty of space to relax outside in sun or shade. The villa is equipped with everything you want and many things you didn't even realise would be useful (CDs, DVDs, board games, sun hats, shopping baskets). Pauline, the owner, has thought of everything.
You won't tire of the views over Kalamar Bay from the roof top, balconies and terrace. We especially loved relaxing on the roof terrace after returning from a night out.
The pool is fantastic, great for playing and relaxing on the air bed but large enough to get a few lengths in too!
The Internet and TV was great for keeping our teenagers happy and in fact worked better than our broadband at home.
We had fresh bread delivered each morning and the water cooler was kept topped up by the villa maintenance team - no lugging large bottles of water from the local shop!
The Welcome Pack also does actually make you feel very welcome with enough in it to mean you don't have to rush to the supermarket as soon as you arrive.
The villa is a good 15min walk into the centre of the old town which we didn't mind but taxis are very plentiful and cheap.
We had great food every night in beautiful roof top restaurants, in fact we didn't have a bad meal all week and you really are spoilt for choice, there are so many restaurants.
The Thursday market is well worth a visit. We had great fun. Just remember to leave some room in your suitcase for all your purchases!
It was really refreshing to deal with such friendly people - from Pauline (villa owner), the Enes drivers who brought us from the airport (arranged by Pauline), the Korsan villa maintenance team, and all the people we met in Kalkan itself, everyone just couldn't do enough for us from start to end.
Quite simply a brilliant holiday which I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Kalkan Retreat is an impeccable villa. It offered us comfort and great views during our stay as well as being extremely spacious, with everything you could need for a relaxing holiday in Turkey. The infinity pool overlooked the clear blue waters of the Mediterranean and helped us to cool down during the heat of the day. There were many seating areas to choose from; from the poolside to the roof terrace, and the balconies to the garden, all were perfect, peaceful spots to relax in the sun.
The villa was in a perfect location, with shops, restaurants and the beach not too close and not too faraway. The Korsan maintenance team was also very helpful..the staff were always attending to our needs, always with smiles on their faces. They not only cleaned the pool and villa but they also helped us around the local area and helped us find some beautiful areas to visit. Korsan Ltd owns a restaurant as well, which delivered delicious traditional food directly to the villa.
I would like to say my stay was beyond my expectations! It was so much more amazing than the pictures shown on the website. Definitely a must visit holiday villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the decor and the many choice of seating areas
Liked least: Pool privacy was not great. Very close to the road and neighbours.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmackim
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Haven”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a fabulous villa and great resort. On arriving at the villa (4 adults, 3 children, 1 baby) we were overwhelmed by what a fantastic haven we'd found. The villa is bright and spacious with pleasant furnishings. The pool is just the right size, with an incredible view. The outside terrace has plenty of shaded areas and the ping pong table a great added bonus! The playroom was ideally located in the basement for a welcome break from the midday sun and the roof terrace perfect for dinner under the stars. The location of the villa is just far enough away from the town, but at the same time not too isolated. Kalkan town itself is quaint and very pretty. Great shopping and mouth watering restaurants where we found the locals friendly and welcoming. The beach club was a short walk away downhill where we were surprised to find plenty of water sports and a comfy chill out area for the kids. Would we return? Yes, definitely. Pauline had thought of everything from a welcome pack of food on arrival to mosquito plugs during our stay. Oh, and Enes the taxi firm and the Korsan maintenance team were superb too. Would recommend to anyone - thanks Pauline!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing