We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
Review of Small House

Small House
Ranked #1 of 199 Restaurants in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Treat yourself to eat here and Kalkan becomes even more special. Food is fresh and very nice . We had lunch on the balcony overlooking the street and were well looked after with service and food quality

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    53
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely atmospheric restaurant.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Küçük ev (The Small House) is a little restaurant totally fitting it's name. It is a lovely place, very basic but traditional and full character. We had two meals here which were excellent, we couldn't fault the service, the owner and his wife were amazing. We had the balcony table which seats two comfortably and gives a lovely view of the busy lane below. We ended up sitting inside the restaurant after our meal as we felt we were missing out. The walls were adorned with turkish quotes and various instruments, a fellow diner took a guitar off the wall and started to play it and sing a song which he had written himself. then the owner played a traditional turkish tune as his wife, who'd been cooking, started to dance. A little Turkish boy, no older than 9, came in an Jan (the owner) started to whistle a tune as the boy finger picked on the guitar. We ended the night dancing with other diners to live traditional turkish music played on instruments taken down from the walls by either Jan or other diners. It has to have been the best night/meal/value of our holiday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lyciajane65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely little place- great hospitable owners!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We saw the reviews to this place on Trip Advisor and had to come. We were a large party of people and ordered before hand during the day.

The owners were lovely and the food was just fantastic!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Small House, Big Welcome”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you fancy something very traditional with home cooking at its best and slightly different from the other good restaurants in Kalkan, then you would not go wrong by trying the Small House.
It has only 6 tables and it look like your eating in the owners living room, the food is lovely and the welcome and service is fantastic.
Run by a husband and wife, the wife is the cook and the husband is front of house.
We had a lovely meal and would recommend the wonderful Meze starter.
I would highly recommend that you go and book a few days before your chosen evening as the Restaurant gets booked up days in advance.
It is good to see a lovely couple doing so well

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people and lovely food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place, lovey people and lovely food and all of that for a very affordable price. Ercan and Asu will make you feel at home. No big steaks but if you appreciate local food, fresh fish or a nice chicken dish this is the place to go to.

Jenny and Dick from the Netherlands

Helpful?
2 Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small House also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Small House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing