We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”

Review of The Round House

Villa pool area with 6 sunbeds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa pool area with 6 sunbeds
Morning Breakfast with a view Wonderful fresh water private pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Villa pool area with 6 sunbeds
Morning Breakfast with a view
Wonderful fresh water private pool
Turkish seating area
Turkish lounging area
Stairs to upper floors
Spiral Turkish staircase  leading to 2 upper floors
Second master bedroom with en suite bathroom
Top bedroom with 2 single beds and on suite bathroom
First floor large Bedroom Balcony
Moon rising over the mountains
View of the Roundhouse with the mountains in the background
Main entrance
Front Garden area
Villa front with ample private parking
Kalkan village antique shop
Thursday Village market
The Harbour Mosque
Fishing Boats & Kalkan Town Beach
Kalkan Harbour
Town Beach
Sunset over the sandunes at Patara Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalkan, Turkish Mediterranean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahrach...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was the best villa we've ever stayed in. Set up on the hill, about 10mins walk from town the Round House was a beautiful getaway.

My partner and I stayed here for 2weeks at the beginning of September. We had SO MANY incredible memories here, I don't know where to start! Here are some headlines:

THE VIEW
From the pool to the master bedroom balcony and even the top floor roof terrace, the views over the bay are priceless. You wake up to them and go to sleep to them. Heaven.

THE POOL
A perfect size, accessed by the living room and he kitchen. The sun hits the pool all day from early morning until about 3pm. Then if you really want to continue to bask, you can make your way to the roof terrace for early evening sun.

THE ROOMS
All modern and clean with air con. The master bedroom has a dressing room and each one has access to the balcony

THE CATS ANS DOGS
I know animals aren't for everyone and for anyone that doesn't fancy seeing them, you can always keep them out - but we genuinely loved them. The pool guy - Irfan, told us their names and they became part of our holiday. They would run towards us as we came home each day, wagging their tails and begging for belly rubs! They are all technically 'street animals ' but have been vaccinated, neutered and tagged.

IRFAN
The man that looks after the pool is a wonderful guy. He visits every .Morning and evening and bring spread if you like. We became firm friends with him during our two weeks and can't wait to come back!

Thanks to the owners for a holiday or a life time xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Thanks for the wonderful comments, we are very lucky to own the Roundhouse, and share it with others!
Irfan has been with us for years and he is one of the best pool men in Kalkan. He is also very kind and does a lot of work looking after the street Dog & Cats in and around Kalkan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDevo...
Devon, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed, it will be wonderful.”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

If you want a holiday in bland box that could be found anywhere, don't go to the Round House Villa, but if you want a place that on every turn makes you feel you are in Turkey, that is comfortable with everything you could need to make you feel at home, then this is the place for you.
We had a fantastic week. Great position. Our third visit and will be returning.....

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review, we would be very glad to hear that you will be returning to our Villa soon.
David & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattnicks
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Villa Roundhouse - absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Villa Roundhouse is really beautiful. It's huge, with plenty of space for our family of four (with two older teenagers) to chill out and relax. It's a home, rather than just a holiday let, and is really well equipped and features some really lovely antiques.

The villa is set on the hill above Kalkan, about five minutes up from the market. Shops and restaurants are 5-10 minutes away, though it's a steep hill, so a taxi back up is worthwhile and costs about £3.

Being higher up has benefits, with fantastic views all round, particularly lovely from the bedrooms and kitchen. Outside there's a large pool, a summerhouse and plenty of outdoor space, with six really comfortable sun loungers and three massive umbrellas. All very cool. Oh, and a very efficient, large BBQ which we made good use of. Villa Roundhouse is so lovely and relaxing, you do tend to think, "hey let's have a glass of wine and cook outside, rather than noodling into town".

Special mention must go to the brilliant gardener Irfan, who has made the place look so gorgeous. He's also a saint to the local cat and dog population, feeding many of them every day on his rounds. Hence there's plenty of animals around, which my guys all adored. Apparently the cats get new names with each set of visitors.

Would recommend, and will definitely be back. We loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thanks very much for your comments, and we are glad you had a wonderful time.
David & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer7353...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent villa with great facilities and beautiful view”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Kalkan, relaxing in the villa and around the beautiful pool and gardens. Very well-equipped and maintained, with a gardener/handiman visiting every day who also re-bulbed a couple of lights for us - and brought fresh bread every morning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely comments.

David & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury with amazing views-what more can you ask for.........”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The booking went smoothly for the exact times we wanted.
A light airy spacious property with far reaching views over the bay.
It's furnished nicely with authentic Turkish decor, which we liked.
Particularly impressed with the timber beamed upper bedroom which has a large terraced area for sunbathing.
The pool was larger and deeper than we expected, great for cooling off
it's equipped .to a very high standard, particularly the kitchen which appears to have everything you would ever need .
I hope to book again next year,there's a lot more exploring to be done in and around Kalkan.
Many Thaks for a wonderful stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thanks very much we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Villa

David & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie266
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our second visit and absolutely loved it”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third holiday in kalkan and our second stay in The Roundhouse, and I'm pleased to say that the villa remains the same. Very beautiful, immaculate and of course a beautiful setting overlooking Kalkan. I travelled with my partner and friends and we stayed in the the villa for one week during the middle of June 2014. The pool area is fabulous and well maintained my Arfan who cleans it every morning and brings us fresh bread. He also comes up to the villa twice a day and feeds the local friends street animals the cats and dogs which are adorable., especially Lottie the cat who if I could have gotten away with it brought her home with me. There are three bedrooms beautifully decorated with en suites, spacious living room and kitchen, also there summer house is perfect for getting away from the heat of the day. The villa is set quite high up overlooking Kalkan which makes the views spectacular especially from the roof terrace, but may cause a problem with anyone with mobility problems and kalkan is quite hilly. The only one thing I would like to add that over the last twelve months quite a lot building work has taken place and a lot of new villas and hotels have sprouted up in a short space of time, which I hope the local government will monitor as I'm afraid the Kalkan will loose that unspoilt charm if it was to continue. Also due to advertisement by our national newspapers we have noticed that Kalkan was very much a lot busier than our last two visits and it's now looking like Kalkan our best kept secret is no longer the case.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumTravel...
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, exceptional value, large pool”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here in July with our three teenagers. As per the other reviews, it is a lovely villa, very well equipped, three very comfortable en suite bedrooms all with air con. The villa has a larger than average pool - great for a game of water polo. Patio and terrace by the pool with little Turkish summer house - very relaxing to sit there on a warm evening. The villa is up a steep hill, but that does mean you get the breeze and the views. 5 mins drive from supermarkets, all very convenient. Lots of cats and dogs, which was an advantage to our teenagers who loved playing with them. Staff were great, very helpful without being intrusive. Also the owner was easy to contact, booking very easy. This was our first time in Turkey, we loved it. Kalkan was a great base, lots of excellent historical sites in short drive - Patara was amazing, also the beach. Would certainly recommend this villa, and we intend to come back, a week is not long enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5* standard of decor, size of the pool, views!
Liked least: Stray animals in the town, distressing.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing