We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, amazing waterfront access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caretta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Kalkan B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, amazing waterfront access”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days 3 nights. The views are incredible. The rooms are simple but nice. The A/C wasn't amazing, but the views and beach club make up for it. It is a little out of the way. This is good or bad depending on your point of view. The walk isn't bad into town. Although we always took a taxi back at night. 12 lira from downtown. The dog that lives there is one of the best behaved dogs I've ever encountered. We miss him already. The shower didn't drain all that well, and it was one of those showers that are part of the bathroom, no separation from the rest of the bathroom. Staff was excellent. I didn't love that the main owner wanted part cash and part credit card. He said we didn't need to, but gave the impression that he REALLY wanted us to. I would recommend to anyone. Don't be put off by my negative points. The view and the beach club are absolutely world class.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views, but there isn't an elevator, so you have to walk up to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
65
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location is a long walk from the city center, but I think the secluded location is worth the trip. Beyond the beautiful and secluded location, however, there were serious problems with our experience of staying there two nights. We payed extra for a room with the best view, but were not inclined to enjoy the view outside due to the horrible smell of sewage on our balcony that would come and go regularly. This stench also forced us to close our window and balcony door, making it quite hot and stuffy in our room. Shards of glass were dangerously left over the cement 'beach'.The food in the restaurant was less enjoyable and much more expensive than what we were able to find in a nice restaurant in town with a rooftop balcony. We were also harassed by stray cats throughout our entire meals. Added to this was the disturbance of staff trying to catch or chase them all around us to the point of annoyance and the inability to have a peaceful conversation due to the commotion. I had to kill a giant scorpion on our bedroom floor and there was a rat loudly gnawing on the rafters in our roof at night. In addition to all this, the hotel double-charged my credit cards and it took an inconvenient month of dealing with the hotel and reminding them to please correct their error. All together, the poor experiences made it not at all worth the price of staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Curi0usBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel has been quite nicely done up to be classified as boutique & is quite well priced. We had great views & there is access to fabulous swimming in the Mediterranean. It is quite a long way out of town & the road access not great. Luckliy we weren't interested in leaving the hotel area & the food served at their restaurant was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked two rooms with sea view. We could see some of the sea, but we mainly had a view on the roof top of the bar which was below us. There is very few parking space (on a hill). The rooms themselves are somewhat dirty. The painter did not clean up after finishing so there are paint spots all over. There is no refrigerator in the rooms. Breakfast was very simple - the least quality during our trip through Turkye. Dinner was disappointing. The view on the sea is magnificent. If you insist on having this view, you might as well stay in the bar/restaurant close to the hotel, instead of paying a high premium, which is calculated in the high room rates. Staff is friendly and helpfull. I would not come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had visited the beach club before and thought it was wonderful - and the hotel is just as good we were there at the end of June this year.
We arrived at 1am and still had a warm welcome - and equally important a couple of drinks and a chat with Murat and Batu.
The location is truly stunning - the staff helpful and friendly. Meals down at the beach club are good if a little limited - only ate there once in the evening, but it was delicious.
In fact 2 sets of friends have been impressed enough by our ravings about it to book to go themselves over the next couple of months!!
Murat and Batu are particularly friendly and helpful - not to mention real fonts of knowledge!
Oh and there's the water taxi service for the quick flip into town - runs until 6pm.
Heartily recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you go for the full sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow! What a fabulous holiday we had here! We stayed with some friends - some for 3 weeks (that's showing how much they loved it - as it was a repeat stay!) They even put on a surprise birthday part for our friend's 60th! Unluckily for us we could only stay for a week. It was a brilliant holiday. The staff can not do enough for you, the food is super and the room are fantastic! We had a seaview - a must - what a view every morning... If you want to be treated and at the same time pay a great price this is the place for you. We can't wait to go back. Thank you again to you all for making us feel so welcome. A brilliant holiday - roll on next year. A top class family hotel. What a gem this place is.Can't thank you or sing your praises loudly enough!!

Room Tip: Get a sea view - you will LOVE it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Caretta Beach club has excellent access to the sea with its own pontoon and diving board.
Our room (the second one we saw) was bright and clean.
there is no fridge in the room and there are safes in reception.
the breakfast was nice if you arrived before the smoking started.
skip eating there if you. long story, just be warned they have no idea how to do dinner.

it is a bit of a walk from the centre which makes it pleasantly quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Loiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.8 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#6 of 39 in Kalkan
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caretta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caretta Boutique Hotel

Property: Caretta Boutique Hotel
Address: Yaliboyu Mah. Iskele Sok. No:6, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caretta Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caretta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing