We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs”
Review of Ekinhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ekinhan Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Kalkan B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our last stop while we were in Turkey, and our least favourite. Besides the fact that the rooms were extremely dated, the bathroom door didn't close, and the showers were tiny, we came home in the wee hours one night to discover a tiny little bug on our sheets. After stripping the bed down to its bare bones, we confirmed that yes; it was indeed a case of bed bugs! The hotel manager seemed very apologetic, moved us to a room with a stunning view, and made arrangements to have a few of our items laundered as a precaution. However, upon checkout he added $20 euros to our tab for that load of laundry, which wasn't even ready or dry when we needed to leave. I gave this place 2 stars because the staff was friendly, but I would never stay here again, nor recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently took a two week trip through Turkey and ended our journey by staying at the Ekinhan Hotel for four days. After leaving Istanbul we had a very unfortunate experience with a hotel in Fethiye and came to Kalkan high off our great Blue Cruise, but with low expectations based on the other hotel we stayed at. Boy were we pleasantly surprised! The hotel was great and the staff were always friendly and on point. Our room, though fairly simple, was very comfortable, clean and had a balcony view of the sea. Our time spent lounging by the pool was completely relaxing and was made even better by complimentary afternoon tea service and delicious milkshakes served up by Jack. There did seem to be at times not enough sunbeds for all guests who wished to lounge, but putting your towel down before breakfast should help you secure your spot.

We ate dinner at the hotel a couple times and each time were thoroughly pleased. I must admit though, that my boyfriend and I are quite young looking professionals and I did feel a couple times that the staff was focusing more of their attention on the other older guests. It was never a big problem, though a couple times we did have to try to flag someone down during our meal because their attention was occupied by other guests.

The hotel has an amazing view over a bay and is just a short distance from downtown Kalkan. We took a day trip to Patara and though we were simply told to take the bus service which went by the hotel at regular intervals to get to the bus depot, we never saw a bus go by. Luckily another guest offered to give us a lift so we didn't end up walking in the stifling mid-day heat. Overall our experience with Ekinhan Hotel exceeded our expectations and was the perfect relaxing end to our Turkish vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned from the Ekin Han Hotel and echo all the positive comments left by people before us. Burhan is the perfect host, always around, very sociable, but never in your face, he runs the hotel with a small team, Ali, Jack and the guys who are all very welcoming, helpful and professional. The location is away from the main village,(maybe half mile walk downhill) but makes up for that by being very peaceful and quiet, excellent for a good nights sleep, we agree with others, the walk back from the village is uphill which is ok if you are reasonably fit, if not a taxi is about £4. Our room had a lovely sea view, was of adequate size, although not massive, was very clean and well decorated, also had good air conditioning which is a must in the hotter months. Bathroom (or shower room) was well appointed although quite small but fulfilled our requirements. We stayed on B and B basis, breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard, we like to eat out at night so only ate at the Ekinhan once, the meal was very good. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, are very likely to return and would recommend to friends. Just remembered, afternoon tea and cake served by the guys around 4pm is a nice touch and complementary. Thank you Burhan and co we hope to see you all again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is in a good location if you don't mind climbing hills and has stunning views over the bay.We didn't stop at this hotel but had lunch there which was exellent . We went back twice for evening meals which were equally as good but the best thing ever were the iced coffees.The best I've ever tasted. The whole place was spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just returned from Kalkan, stayed at Ekinhan Hotel. Staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them. Pool area is lovely, and the food in the restaurant in the evening is great, as was everywhere we ate in Kalkan. Would not hesitate to return. Thankyou Burhan, Jack and Ali, for making our holiday so fantastic.

Lorraine And Christina

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerchester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

All I can say is that from the time of arrival this hotel ticks all the boxed. Burham, Jack and Ali make sure you have a wonderful time. They are attentative to all you ask and nothing is too much trouble. Only wish we had not had an unfortunate stay the previous week in Kas and gone straight there. The rooms are clean and the pool area is immaculate. The shower is small but powerful. The only thing we would suggest is larger room towels (not everyone is a size 10!). The walk into Kalkan at night is not a problem but suggest a taxi back. We did not eat at night in the restaurant but if breakfast and lunch is anything to go by can understand that everyone that did gave it glowing reports. Next year we will. Most guests were returning ones which speaks volumes. All in all this is what makes a holiday special good food, good company, good staff and good views, what more do you want. Thank you see you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at the Ekinhan hotel 1st-8th September and had a wonderful week. Arrived at nearly midnight to be greeted by friendly Jack the barman who immediately arranged for our bags to be taken to our room while he got us a couple of cold drinks. Although the hotel was quiet that night and no one was in the bar we were not made to feel rushed and Jack took time to sit with us and have a laugh. The rooms are not overly large but were very well appointed with everything we needed including a comfortable kingsize bed and a good supply of hot water with good pressure from shower. The balconies are small but you can still sit out and enjoy the view- AND WHAT A VIEW! It appears that all rooms have fabulous views of pool, mountains and sea. We found the manager Burham to be a quiet , polite man who found time to greet as many guests as he could each morning and genuinely seemed interested in your day. Both he and Jack work extremely hard ( we are hoteliers ourselves and notice these things) The Ekinhan is a very peaceful retreat and during our stay attracted discerning guests (mostly English in the 40-60 age group.) because it is a small hotel with only 30 or so guests the vibe is almost like staying in an upmarket villa with a handful of friends. Never do you have to queue at breakfast with a tray. Although I will mention that fruit juice and chilled water is not provided at breakfast and if requested is charged as a bar item. As a non tea or coffee drinker I found that a little surprising. It may be an idea for the staff to be given the same colour polo shirts as a uniform so new guests can identify them..If you are having dinner there my husband highly recommends the slow cooked leg of lamb ( pre order it). The walk into town is easy enough and there are a couple of friendly bars to stop off for a refresher on the way back if you wish. We were never hassled by bar keepers or shop owners on our walk into town. If you are eating in town don't miss the Aubergine restaurant at the harbour. In our opinion the best! Enjoyed meeting lots of guests at the Ekinham.see you all again next time. Thank you Burham and staff.

Room Tip: One room has a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.8 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Mahal
Hotel Villa Mahal
#8 of 40 in Kalkan
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#10 of 40 in Kalkan
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekinhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekinhan Hotel

Address: Kalamar Yolu 104, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkan
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekinhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ekinhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing