We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Begonvil Cafe

Begonvil Cafe
Ranked #52 of 196 Restaurants in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I had a lot of fish in Kalkan and this was one of the best. The fish was cooked outside so I could watch it cook. This is on one of the side streets but excellent quality service and value .. couldn't fault it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wabosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    31
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Check this out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

On the street that runs parallel with that with most non-harbour restaurants on you will find Begonvil. It doesn't have a terrace or a view, the tables are on the street, but has welcoming staff, excellent food (no small portions here!) and is extremely good value for money. Do try it, you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TontoNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

A must do. Fabulous king prawns and other wonderful traditional Turkish food. Lovely owner who makes you feel you are the most important customer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This restaurant is a hidden gem down the back street behind the Main Street. The owner was very welcoming and took time to tell us about the food and how it was cooked, three of us went for the sea bass which he grills on the barbecue just down the steps, it was one of the best I have ever had it was delicious. The service was very good and it was the most reasonable restaurant we have been in so far. We definitely recommend it for an authentic Turkish meal, excellent food at an excellent price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenstantonfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Passionate about good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Thank you so much to Kudret and his team for their genuine hospitality and sincere interest and help in selecting the best from their menu. On our first visit two of our family ordered the grilled sea bass fillets while another lamb chops and the other the chilli and creamy beef. All were scrumptious and shown to us before, during and after the BBQ process! We visited again later that same week and again were very impressed by the quality of the food and the genuine service (when I struggled to cope with the consequences of the grilled chilli pepper Kudret immediately noticed and arranged for some yogurt to be brought to soothe my burning mouth and uncontrollable hiccups!). The unbelievable part of both evenings was when the bill came and it was less than £50 for 4 main courses, a bottle of wine, soft drinks, water and complimentary mezes and amerettis! OK so maybe you don't have sea views but what you do experience is excellent food at an excellent price from a man who is so passionate about his job you couldn't help wanting to go back for more. Thanks so much Kudret, looking forward to seeing you again soon!
The McGall Family

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Begonvil Cafe also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Begonvil Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing