We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Begonvil Cafe

Begonvil Cafe
Ranked #49 of 196 Restaurants in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
belfast n. ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We discovered this gem by accident late one evening. How they produce such wonderful food in such a small kicthen is beyond me!
We all had different choices but all were of excellent standard, so much so that we booked for the following week. The wine is very reasonably priced, the food piping hot and the service first class. I really cannot speak highly enough of it and am sorry i did not find it on my previous visits to Kalkan . GO!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blood-banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    31
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good food, lovely, friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay; the owner Kudret, is clearly proud of his food, fresh fish, chicken and lamb predominate, and rightly so. The sea bass was fantastic and enjoyed outside under the sprawling bougainvillea which arches over the narrow and steeply stepped alley in which the restaurant is situated. The menu offers very good value and the wine and beer are reasonable priced in comparison to others in the locality. Top that off with delicious Turkish sweetmeats and complimentary brandy and there are all the ingredients for a very pleasant night out. Well recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaj0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Good selection of dishes. Try the chicken curry,really good. Staff friendly. Only drawback is it is all outside seating and rather busy with people walking past but worth trying. We had excellent pancakes at lunchtime

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 18Angieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkan, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a find would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

After a recommendation we went for dinner and it was best meal we have had in Kalkan so far. The food is delicious sea bass with prawns was superb as was the sizzling chicken. The service was very attentive and we sat in the small street above which was very atmospheric and to top it all it was very good value. Well worth a try

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellersumited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect turkish food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

After reading good reviews we felt we had to try this 'cafe'. It was a far cry from my idea of a cafe. Tucked away up steps and Ina quiet back street this restaurant served up turkish cuisine at its best. We were greeted with a warm welcome, brought wide variety of delicious meze and following our fabulous see bass with prawns we finished with yet more complimentary sweet course. Nothing was too much trouble - it felt a real family affair. And the best bit - the bill. Half what you pay on the harbour front. Definitely one we will return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilberforceHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Begonvil Cafe also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Begonvil Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing