We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambience to die for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalkan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mediteran Apart-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kalkan
Sunbury, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ambience to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a beautiful week's stay. Everything was excellent and as other reviewers say.

The view from the bar was to die for and the infinity pool added to the delightful atmosphere.

Also lovely that you could wander down any time of day and get sunbeds with shades together and the place never felt crowded.

Walk to the town is downhill and quite challenging if you are not fully fit, but do recommend you get a taxi back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    10
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! First time but will be back. Great views, pretty hotel with wonderful staff - and yes, Lokman! Would highly recommend this as a tranquil place to stay above the town so peaceful for relaxing but within easy walking to town.

Room Tip: Room 203 - screened from the pool by foliage which was great. Still had good views and best for seei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrschubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from our ninth year at the Mediteran.Everything was as expected with a few improvements this year which were appreciated.New showers in rooms much better.
We only hope that this hotel does not become too upmarket as its charm lies in its simple,relaxing style with many repeat guests.
The staff are friendly and helpful.The rooms and sun terrace are very spacious.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibaba105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed a two week stay at Hotel Mediteran. This is a small, family run hotel with 20 rooms/suites. From the moment we arrived and Gamze emerged from her seat in the shade to welcome us, we were treated with the utmost warmth, kindness and hospitality by all the staff.

We had a ground floor suite with a very comfortable lounge area and kitchenette. Our rooms were kept spotlessly clean by the domestic staff, with a full set of fresh towels each morning and frequent linen changes. Although they spoke little English, there was always a lovely smile and 'good morning' when we met.

We enjoyed our quiet outdoor terrace area, especially during the evening. We ate out there on a number of occasions and when we mentioned it to Lokman he gave us additional tea lights for our table to create a lovely ambience.

The sun terraces and pool area are spacious, with plenty of comfortable cushioned sunbeds. The view over Kalkan and out to sea is truly memorable. Surely the best in Kalkan. Mehmet always ensures the pool and terrace areas are well maintained and clean. For those, like us, seeking shade, there are large umbrellas in all areas, easily wheeled around to suit. Mehmet is particularly attentive at breakfast and lunch to ensure the umbrellas are well placed to afford maximum shade for guests.

The restaurant area has the same fabulous view as the bar. A pre dinner drink at the bar is really special, with the twinkling lights of Kalkan below matching Murat's twinkling smile as he welcomes you. He is such an interesting young man that conversations at the bar take on quite a deep level at times and are light hearted and fun at others. Needless to say he provides an excellent gin and tonic!

The restaurant food can’t compete with some of the higher class restaurants in Kalkan itself but we had some very enjoyable meals. We particularly liked the tabbouleh with its lovely mixture of flavours and fresh parsley. Combined with a chicken shish kebab it made an extremely tasty meal, capturing the essence of traditional Turkish food.

The Turkish/continental style buffet breakfasts offer a good variety of foods from cereals, breads and preserves to yoghurt, cheeses, eggs, tomatoes, olives, tahini etc. We particularly enjoyed the very fresh selection of fresh fruit every day. It is a more than adequate continental breakfast, with the addition of a hot plate on several mornings for cooked eggs. Neemet is a young lady about to go off to university and she was always on hand at breakfast with a gentle smiling welcome, practising her English. She also helped to bring round the complimentary glasses of tea and cake at 5pm. A lovely touch.

Simpsons provide their own concierge to supplement the hotel staff. Lokman is a real credit to them. He is always on hand to answer questions, provide information and give insights into Turkish culture. He will organise trips for you and nothing is ever too much trouble for him. A true professional.

If you are looking for a stylish, glass and chrome hotel, which could be in any country in the world, then maybe the Mediteran is not for you. If, however, you are seeking a truly comfortable hotel, with genuine Turkish hospitality then you will find it here and look forward to returning in the future, as so many guests already do. It is an island of tranquility above the busy bustle of Kalkan. It was our first visit but we hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jandmhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I returned for our 9th year to this lovely hotel in Kalkan. As usual the staff at the hotel cannot be praised enough for their excellent service as nothing is too much trouble for them to make your holiday perfect. Lokman was a new addition to the hotel as a concierge provided by Simpson Travel, and like the other staff was extremely friendly and helpful in providing anything you needed.

I was very surprised to read the recent negative feedback on this hotel as they appeared to be reviewing a different establishment. They compared this hotel with the Lykia and Regency Hotels stating that they are similarly priced, but having looked into the costs I can assure you that they are very much more expensive than the Mediteran Hotel and therefore should not be used as a comparison. We ate at the hotel on several occasions and found the food very good, yes there are many very good restaurants in Kalkan and you can pay a very high price for good food served on designer plates with extra fancy bits, but that is not necessarily what a lot of people want. Simpson Travel provide a complimentary meal on arrival this year which was very welcomed and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The Mediteran Hotel is a small friendly mainly family run hotel and gives the personal touch to your holiday experience, so if you are looking to stay at a large hotel where the staff don't know your name and you are just a number in a room, then don't go to the Mediteran Hotel.

We are already looking forward to staying here again next year where no doubt we will have another memorable relaxing holiday, mainly due to the exceptional service provided by all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysrus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Turkey and we would definitely return to the Mediteran. This small laid back, family run hotel is the ultimate in relaxation.The views from the hotel are the best in Kalkan, and at night while enjoying a drink at the bar, the view is hard to beat. The staff were wonderful and went that extra mile to ensure a hassle free holiday with great personal service.Murat runs the hotel on a day to day basis with his twin sister Gamze and they are assisted by Nimet and Mehmet- a very friendly and efficient team .Lokman who works for Simpson travel was also amazing, nothing was too much trouble and he was in attendance 6 days a week. We have noted the negative remarks made about this hotel and are surprised by them as we did not experience this at the hotel. We used the hotel restaurant regularly and the food was of very good quality and reasonably priced. The breakfast is quiet basic but was sufficient for our needs. Kalkan is a fantastic destination and we will definitely return.

B&S

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday in Kalkan staying at the Mediteran Hotel - our 25th visit to Kalkan but our first to the Mediteran Hotel. Yes! We LOVE Kalkan and have much knowledge and experience of standards within the area and what to expect. The Mediteran Hotel is a good basic Hotel which is positioned high above Kalkan on the hillside and offers the most amazing views and a beautiful quiet spacious poolside experience which was for us it's redeeming factor along with one other - Lokman!! Lokman is the Simpson Rep who is available almost 24 x 7.

You will read much about Lokman (and other staff members) on Tripadvisor and we would say we have never come across anyone as professional and as helpful as Lokman in the years we have been coming to Kalkan. Even when staying at some of the top Hotels in the area - such as The Regency and The Lykia Hotel - Lokman adds an extra level of professionalism which isn't conducive with the rest of the standards in this Hotel. Lokman speaks fluent English, has amazing customer service skills, is extremely prompt in carrying out a request, or booking a car for you, or a table reservation in the town. Nothing is ever too much trouble for Lokman. His serving heart and positive manner is a delight. His attention to detail and people awareness is amazing and he demonstrates true professionalism far greater than the environment in which he works.

My husband and I both said we wouldn't like to stay at this Hotel without Lokman. He added to the holiday and enabled us to overlook some of the unprofessional and unhygienic situations we experienced. Don't let me put you off here!! As we said we have visited Kalkan many times and have experienced various levels of service and quality of food. For some this Hotel is "laid back Turkey 25 years ago" when waiters slept overnight under a blanket or newspaper on the guest sofas (which is what happens here) or waited on at breakfast appearing like they'd slept in their clothes. Or served lunch in their swimwear over which was a T Shirt. This is old Turkey standards - not to be confused with the sophisticated, up-market exclusive ambience of Kalkan Town.

Or you may experience the service of another member of staff who would one minute be cleaning the pool area - then be called in to cook breakfast (on those rare occasions once a week when you can purchase an omelette) otherwise your breakfast can be basic and repetitive for the English palette. (Incidentally the omelettes here were wonderful!). Or you can meet him at lunchtime when he would lift up his white T-Shirt to wipe his profusely sweaty face prior to serving you lunch. Or meet him behind the bar when he would put his bear sweaty hand into the ice container to get out the ice.

Or you may meet the cleaner who is pleasant and smiley unless of course she wants access to your room when you have just arrived and are unpacking and will rant happily in Turkish with hands in the air and become deranged if you ask her to wait for 5 minutes.

There will be days when she forgets to clean your room, or leaves only 1 towel instead of 4. Or doesn't leave enough toilet paper or doesn't replace your soap all part of the "charm" (tongue in cheek) in this Hotel. But thankfully there was Lokman who would always bridge the gap and meet the need.

Kalkan is an amazing place with high standards of cuisine and service. The food at this Hotel however falls well below that standard and sadly the welcome dinner was the worst meal we've eaten in Kalkan for as far back as we can remember. Yes in Kalkan town if you choose wisely the standard is high!! No wonder we have seen the Hotel owner on more than one occasion eating in Kalkan's up-market restaurants!!

Sadly this Hotel could offer so much more!! For some it is ideal, none threatening, laid back and welcoming. We understand that!! For others who have experienced better quality and standards in Kalkan for the same price ie check out The Lykia Hotel..... With beautiful appointed and furnished bedrooms - quality breakfasts - great lunches and dining experiences as well as excellent communal areas including a gym and spa. For little cost this Hotel could be greatly improved!!! Starting with staff training, improved basic hygiene standards and improved cuisine!!! This Hotel will never improve their restaurant numbers until they start competing with the quality of food, ambiance and professional standards you can receive for the same cost (or even a lot cheaper on a BBQ night) in Kalkan town. For me this Hotel is over-prized for Kalkan and is not in keeping with Kalkan standards or professionalism.

However....... It probably has the best understated quiet poolside experience I know in Kalkan outside having your own villa... And maybe for this reason I could return!!

And at the end of the day.... the choice is ours!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MandMWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham S, Owner at Mediteran Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We were pleased to read that this reviewer enjoyed their 2 weeks in Kalkan although we were disappointed that some aspects of their stay at the Mediteran did not meet their expectations.

As a company we always wish to paint an accurate picture regarding a particular hotel or property. The reviewer is right that the hotel has a laid back service and we do not pretend otherwise – it is quite informal compared to other hotels in Kalkan . What it does offer is an intimate and friendly ambiance in the most fabulous setting overlooking this charming resort.

We are pleased to see that the reviewer rates the service from Lokman, the hotel’s concierge so highly. The feedback we have received on Lokman along with the other members of the team has been excellent this year, so we were surprised to hear that the reviewer did not rate the other staff in the same way and that the professional standards were lacking. However, one of the reason the hotels gets such an impressive amount of positive feedback is because it is so unlike anywhere else in Kalkan, offering that kind of personal and genuine service that is so difficult to find in ‘more upmarket establishments’. The staff are helpful, friendly, will get to know everyone by their first name and will go that extra mile to make sure that guests’ stay is as comfortable as possible.

In line with this relaxed setting, the staff are permitted to wear shorts and t-shirts during the day while in the evenings, the waiters and waitresses are dressed well. The staff certainly do not wear swimming trunks at any time in the public areas, and with staff accommodation being provided on-site (but separate from the guest accommodation), there should be no incidents of staff sleeping on the guest sofas either.

We also dispute the comments made about the personal hygiene regarding some of the staff. While the weather in August can be 40 degrees and people will sweat, we believe the assertion that the staff are walking around covered in sweat and long greasy hair creating an unhygienic environment to be simply untrue. Our feedback tends to support this too.

We have also received good feedback about the hotel’s food and the first night’s welcome meal. For instance, the barbecue always gets favourably reports with the quality of food scoring particularly well. However, we do take on board this reviewer’s opinions and will relay this feedback back to the owner of the hotel. We are however looking to enhance the breakfast offering further for next year. Generally, the food in Kalkan’s restaurants is of a very high standard and as the reviewer points out, guests will enjoy eating out in the numerous restaurants on offer.

Finally we have had superb feedback about the cleaners and therefore we will be investigating their surprising conduct on this particular occasion, and we apologise if the reviewer was disappointed with the quality of their cleaning. We have had no reports of them being rude, but they do not speak much English so this could possibly lead to a misunderstanding. We always advise guests to contact the Simpson concierge if they believe their cleaning can be improved, which we are happy to see that this reviewer did.

We believe that the Mediteran is a very special place with friendly staff and a magical location. However, if you are looking for a larger and more formal hotel, then the Mediteran might not be for you.

We are sorry that this reviewer did not find the level of service satisfactory and we will take on board some of their comment as we are always striving to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pasha Apart-Hotel
Pasha Apart-Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kalkan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediteran Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediteran Apart-Hotel

Property: Mediteran Apart-Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad, Kalkan, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kalkan
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill just above Kalkan with breathtaking views of the bay below sits the Mediteran Hotel where the friendly owners welcome guests to their picturesque hillside haven to experience real Turkish hospitality. Most of the light and comfortable suites and rooms have private balconies or patios with beautiful sea vistas whilst a stunning infinity pool allows for lazy days soaking up the afternoon sun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mediteran Apart Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing