We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mediteran Apart-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kalkan
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very relaxing holiday”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is in the perfect position to relax by the pool by day and enjoy the evening warmth in the town of Kalkan. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Simpsons Travel rep Vicky was very attentive and professional she has an excellent knowledge of the area and was a regular visitor to the hotel to ensure all was well. We were with two friends and felt well cared for throughout our stay. Having a small kitchen area to make a drink to enjoy on the balcony was a lovely extra, would and have recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    10
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not long back from a 2 week stay at the Mediteran. We went there last year and were so impressed that we thought we'd go back again, just to make sure it wasn't a fluke. We've never been back to the same hotel on any of our other holidays, so it was with some trepidation that we booked again. Well we needn't Have worried, it was just as marvelous the 2nd time as it was the 1st. Obviously the view was still magnificent and the town itself is a hidden gem, but the Mediteran never fails to impress. Nothing is too much for the staff, both at the main hotel and the Indigo Beach Club which is free for hotel guests to use. The food was excellent, but if you didn't want to eat in the hotel, the staff where always prepared to give advice as to other great places to eat. Also a word about Simpson Travel, who we booked our holiday with. Jo, Vicky and all the Reps gave us fantastic service and were a mine of useful local information, the private airport transfers are definitely the way forward. After the early start and flight it was so nice to stretch out in your own chauffeur driven car, driven right to the door to be met by Memhet and the other staff who carry all your bags to your room. All in all a magical experience and needless to say this will not be our last visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesffcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Mediteran.

Nice apartment, on 2nd floor with stunning views across Kalkan bay. Built in kitchen with fridge, for beers etc, which can be brought cheaper in the town than at the hotel. Nice balcony to watch the sun go down. Beds quite hard but, mattress toppers can be supplied if required. Excellent Simpson rep Vicky who is friendly and extremely knowledgeable about all things Turkey. Other staff all friendly and helpful also. Decent Turkish breakfast, and lunches where quite good as well. Plenty of eating choices in Kalkan for dinner.

Hotel situated on a hill so the less well able may find the stairs difficult, especially at night, when the lighting is not great. The walk to the town is not very pleasant and includes going down some steep hills and along and across a quiet dual carriageway, which takes about 15 minutes. The hotel provides a shuttle bus 5 times a day, one way to the town. There are plenty of taxi's available for the return priced 15TL, about a fiver. Plenty of comfortable sun beds always available around the nice pool, with great views for the backdrop.

The hotel also owns the Indigo beach club down at the harbour, where we spent most of our time. Some days it was busier than others but we always managed to secure a sun bed. Nice lunches in the bar situated above the beach club. The only negative comment, were the steps into the sea, which needed repairing. A number of the steps were missing which resulted in the less well abled struggling to get into the water safely. However, a nice touch was the buoyancy aids that were freely available which made the experience of bobbing about on the sea very nice.
Summing up, it was a really nice weeks holiday, and would difinitely return to the Mediteran.

Room Tip: Best views would be from 1st and 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank londonaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We are just back from a great stay at the mediteran, where we really enjoyed ourselves.

We booked it through Simpson travel, who we could not fault. On arrival at Dalaman airport we were met by Vicky, our rep who took us to our taxi transfer to the resort. After our early start, and flight, it was a nice touch to be given a bottle of water and a cloth to freshen up with during the drive to Kalkan.

When we arrived at the mediteran we were met, and taken to our room where we were shown how to use the air conditioning and so on.

The rooms were large and spacious, and well maintained. It was nice to be in a room without a TV, but there was wifi there if you needed to check emails, or look things up on the Internet.

If you have read other reviews you will be aware of the fact that the hotel is up a hill, out of town slightly. We considered this a big advantage, as it meant it had the amazing views, and was nice and peaceful. There was a shuttle down to town, but when we were there in september it was fine to walk down in the morning in the morning sun, or late in the evening. If you don't fancy the walk back up the hill, then there are lots of official taxis in town, and the meters always worked out just under 15tl - we felt that was a small price to pay for the view. The main road you have to cross is quite a way from the hotel, and while it looks like it might be tricky, there is very little traffic, and you can see very clearly if there are any cars coming - so I would not really consider it an issue.

The food at the hotel was good, and the staff very friendly, but if you want to head out into Kalkan there are loads of restaurants to choose from, with many having roof-top terraces overlooking the harbour. Our favourites were 'Fez' and 'Doi Doi' - but there were plenty of others we would have tried if we had the time.

We also had a cracking day out on a gullet. These are easy to arrange by simply walking round the harbour. Most of the boats are on the town side, but we chose 'green and Blue' who was moored on the far side of the harbour - it was a great boat, we went to different bays than all the other boats, the food was excellent, and it was cheaper than most of the others too. The skipper Erol, was very friendly, and helped to make it a great day out.

Breakfast was nothing too fancy, but cereal, fresh bread, cheese, jams, fresh fruit, and occasionally a spicy Turkish dish were all there. There was a choice of juices, and going for the one that was NOT orange was always the best bet, as this seemed to be a fresh juice.

I think the other reviews and photos all cover the pool area, which was very nice.

In summary, we really felt this was one of those holidays where you look at the brochure, see the pictures, and that is what you get. If you don't want to be up a hill, or you want to be in the middle of town then this is not the place for you, but if you want a bit more peace and quiet, amazing views, and comfortable clean rooms then well worth a look. We could see why many people return year after year.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Arthurlovescarrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is not the first time we have stayed at the Mediteran and it won't be the last! It just keeps getting better and better! Amazing food, both traditional and varied, great accommodation and views to die for!
The rooms here are clean and simple with everything you need; bath & shower, fridge, hair dryer etc and the most efficient air con! (I had to use a duvet it was that cool!) All have a balcony or terrace where you can soak up the views.
There is a great pool area with plenty of sun loungers and shaded places to relax. The bar and restaurant is large and open with many different seating areas for you to enjoy a drink.
It's only a couple of minutes into town by taxi, where you will find an abundance of shops and restaurants! Indigo beach club must also be mentioned. A great place to relax by the sea or get involved with all the water sports on offer!
But the best thing about this place is the people. The Turkish are the most welcoming and friendly people we have ever met and this is definitely felt at the Mediteran.
Mehmet it always smiling as he carries luggage, keeps the grounds in check and drives guests into town. Gamze and Vahibe are both beautiful and friendly, always on hand to get you a drink or have a nice chat. Halil and Ahmet are the best brothers around, both so kind and generous with their time. Not forgetting Murat, the best cocktail maker on the Mediterranean coast.
Vicky, our Simpson rep was a treasure trove of information! She could be found most mornings at breakfast time where you could ask her anything! Guests should definitely look to her for advice, not only on Kalkan but the surrounding areas too.
All-in-all a fantastic holiday for all ages and all interests. The Mediteran will not disappoint!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinexoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Unfortunately, we were delayed 10 hours at Gatwick but were provided with a breakfast voucher and a full buffet lunch at the Hilton, which helped, although we were sick of sitting around.
On arrival at Dalaman, we were whisked away by taxi and once at the Mediteran were met by concerned staff, who carried our bags to the room and brought us a sandwich (a nice touch at 2 am!).

We found the suite of rooms, on the top floor, very comfortable and relatively spacious, the bed was comfortable and sheets were generous (unlike some Greek accommodation we've stayed in). The bathroom was a good size, with hairdryer and shower over the bath. There was also plenty of hot water and fluffy bath towels, changed regularly.

Breakfast was served buffet style with plenty of fresh fruit, yoghourt, cold meats, cheese, fresh bread etc but regretfully, fruit squash was served instead of juice (freshly squeezed orange juice was available at a small, extra cost). Also, fresh ground coffee would be preferred to instant. Plenty of protective sun umbrellas were available in the restaurant and the staff were all very cheerful and attentive.

The infinity pool, overlooking the town and harbour below, was beautiful and extremely clean (maintained expertly and discreetly by Mehmet), surrounded by plenty of comfortable sunloungers and umbrellas - and not over-crowded. The lush gardens, with many different palms and flowers, are also worth a mention.

The shuttle bus down to town, run several times a day, is essential and taxis are available for the return at 15 TL, although we did walk back on a couple of occasions, which involves crossing a dual carriageway below the hotel!!. So many restaurants to choose from, but we enjoyed family-run Paparazzi, Coast and Saffron. We also ate in the hotel restaurant on several occasions, where Gamze was supremely efficient. Thursday night BBQ and music was a good way to integrate with other guests and food was good and plentiful.

Simpson rep, Vicky, was present at breakfast time each day and was incredibly knowledgeable about the local area and able to recommend places to visit. The Lycian city being excavated by archaeologists near Patara beach is particularly worth seeing.

A quiet, relaxing holiday with wonderful food and sunshine.

Room Tip: Room 301 - top floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkeye11_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Mediteran is a set on the hillside above Kalkan and offers rooms/suites are that are spacious but basic, with small balconies, wifi, air-con, but no television. The beds are not the most comfortable (very hard) and the servicing of the rooms can be hit and miss. The food is generally good, but not as good as the restaurants in the town and service in the restaurant can be very slow. On the first night we had to wait 2 hours for our meals to be served.
This is definitely an Apart-Hotel rather than a hotel: rooms with a bar/restaurant and a pool. The pool is beautiful (with a spectacular view) but small, especially if the hotel is busy and the lack of facilities and grounds make the poolside area quite crowded.
The walk to the beach is VERY steep and arduous, and involves crossing the dual carriageway immediately below the hotel. The beach is a good 20 minutes from the hotel on foot and 5 minutes by car. The hotel run a bus/car service to the beach a few times a day, but there is no return shuttle... which is when you need the service (uphill), so it's a taxi ride back.
The staff are very young - mainly students (and relations of the owner), and speak little English, which can be a problem - if you have a problem! They were not the most engaging staff, and the owner, though there most days, never spoke to any of the guests but simply sat in the bar reading the newspaper.
On balance, The Mediteran is quite pricey for what it's able to offer. We wouldn't go back, not because it was that bad, but there are better places to stay - offering better value for money, and in better locations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nomadwithpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpsonTravel, Manager at Mediteran Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your observations following your recent holiday with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed the spectacular views offered at the hotel but naturally also disappointing that certain aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations.

Although the beds may not have been to your preference, we do offer mattress toppers at the hotel and explain this in the information book that is placed in each suite.

The swimming pool at the hotel is 15 metres long and in fact, one of the larger pools in Kalkan. Similarly, the hotel also offers more outdoor spaces than some of the larger hotels in the area and as a small and more intimate hotel with only 20 rooms, we do believe that Mediteran provides comfortable outside areas for all guests. Several people have also made reference to this on various online Kalkan forums.

The dual carriageway which is located further down from the hotel and closer to the town sees little in the way of traffic during the summer and does not present a problem in terms of crossing.

In an attempt to work with the local community, we allow taxi drivers to operate any return back to the hotel and the rates are reasonable, with the cost in the evening being no more than £5 (TRL12). During the day, the rates are cheaper.

The staff at the Mediteran are well-trained and several members of the staff also speak good English. Your comments have however already been shared with the staff as a precautionary measure and we do apologise for any negative impression you may have been left with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.2 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kalkan
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#4 of 39 in Kalkan
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rhapsody Hotel
Rhapsody Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kalkan
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediteran Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediteran Apart-Hotel

Property: Mediteran Apart-Hotel
Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill just above Kalkan with breathtaking views of the bay below sits the Mediteran Hotel where the friendly owners welcome guests to their picturesque hillside haven to experience real Turkish hospitality. Most of the light and comfortable suites and rooms have private balconies or patios with beautiful sea vistas whilst a stunning infinity pool allows for lazy days soaking up the afternoon sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mediteran Apart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Apart Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing