We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Turkish food”
Review of Rose Restaurant

Rose Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 199 Restaurants in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Turkish food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This little, hidden away, restaurant serves great authentic food plus pizzas handmade in a stone oven. The service is very friendly and they serve you with little extras that make the meal all the more special. Well worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goldfingermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    41
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent atmosphere and service”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Rose restaurant is not far from the centre of Kalkan. It is opposite the Samira Hotel and apartments. We passed by a few times walking down from the Kelebek hotel, where we were staying. We finally decided to try a meal. What a delight awaited us. The food was superb, the service excellent and the atmosphere very friendly. We would highly recommend this restaurant for the varied menu, the lamb dishes in particular were delicious. Lamb wrapped in aubergine was a speciality of the house and well worth ordering. Not overpriced, and with a complimentary liqueur and Turkish delight to finish with, what more could a customer ask. Perfect, certainly will be on our list to visit again when next in Kalkan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseandDavid15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Super food, friendly service and some tasty prices too. What's not to like?”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've eaten in Rose (formerly Extinct Fish restaurant, I think) on every of our three trips to Kalkan. It's not glam like some places but it's comfortable, friendly and great value. The pides are a must, completely delicious and the salad on the house is a nice touch. We love that the wood oven is in the main dining area, so you can see the pides being freshly prepared and cooked - the smell is yummy! It's really fairly priced, a bit of a bargain really and the service is attentive but not overbearing. It's a family-run affair which is really lovely. At the end of the meal, complimentary apple tea and Turkish Delight are on offer; again a really nice gesture. Couldn't give it higher praise - three trips to Kalkan and at least one visit per trip, it's a little gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DelighfulTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant (now called the Rose) is in the centre of town down a side street opposite the side entrance to the Samira Hotel/Apartments. They specialise in Eastern Turkish food and some of their lamb dishes are simply wonderful. They absolutely plied us with a confusion of dishes to try (part portions) and we could barely move in the end. For us this was exactly what we looked for in Kalkan, excellent food, good service and good value for money. Probably the discovery of our trip this time. Our young waiter played his guitar for us (not bad) and sang turkish pop love songs ( don't give up the day job kid) which was a charming interlude.
Do go. You'll love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Now called Rose Restaurant to save any confusion!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went during the day for a lunchtime quick snack and stayed awhile. Excellent Turkish pizza called Pides. We were given a complimentary salad with the gorgeous pomegranate dressing you find everywhere. Excellent service despite the language barrier. They have a stone oven on full view and the children in the restaurant enjoyed watching the chef work his magic. Rose, the owner seems to do a lot of knitting and crochet which adorned one of the walls and was for sale. Don't let this put you off though.
We would have like to go hear for an evening meal but with all the choice availabe we never made... maybe next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTinckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Restaurant also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Rose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing