We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a visit to Kalkan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Likya Residence and Spa
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a visit to Kalkan”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Stayed at the Likya the last week in August and enjoyed sufficiently to book a return trip. Not something we’ve done very often. It ticks all the right boxes: a spacious well appointed room that felt comfortable and clean, big terrace/balcony with a lovely view, air conditioning that worked, nice bathroom etc.. The pool area looks great but we never used it because for us the beach club was so much better. If you like bathing platforms right next to deep blue water this is the place for you. The sea is crystal clear and very refreshing, just the place to cool off and you’ll need to.. Kalkan in August is hot. We always managed to find a couple of sun beds and a brolly and the atmosphere was mellow and never noisy. Not a great place for kids, which suited us. The hotel staff are courteous, friendly and they like to help. We stopped at the poolside bar a few of times either on the way in to town or the way back during the evening and it’s a spectacular place for a cocktail. Breakfast was OK but not the best, just our particular taste I guess. Most of all the Likya offers great value. You really do get a lot for your money. But the real attraction is that Kalkan right on your doorstep. The town exceeded our expectations despite the many positive reviews on TripAdvisor. It’s buzzy without being brash. The rooftop restaurants are a delight, and there’s no shortage of bars with comfy seats to sit in to watch the world go by. Recommended venues include The Ivy, Fez and a brilliant little coffee shop directly under the Ivy whose name I can’t remember (try the iced coffees with your favourite liqueur). At night the place has a warm glow to it with cobbled streets that are restricted to pedestrians, the Italian scooter racket was thankfully absent. There is no shortage of interesting trips, if you can summon the energy in the heat, my top recommendation would be the boat from Kas to Meis. Any downsides? We found the hard sell a little trying when strolling round looking for somewhere to eat. It’s the Turkish way apparently and you have to grin and bear it. The transfer from Dalaman is 1hr 45mins which is a drag after a 4 hour flight but it was worth it. All in all a great holiday. Go before it becomes too popular.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    38
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
230
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

What can I say about this hotel that the review from silverfox607 does not say, it says it all and mirrors our own experiance.
I cannot reccomend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

2 week stay........everything was to a very high standard, the staff incredibly friendly and helpful (apart from reception, where they seemed a bit bemused). the only downside - and this is cheeky - is that everyone staying there is english - as is every tourist in kalkan practically.

plenty of room at the pools, lovely food at the restaurant, breakfast great........rooms really large and clean - felt very cool in the room (which was a huge relief from the heat outside in august)........

recommend highly

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMariaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Luxurious hotel with wonderfully spacious bedrooms, and a real feeling of space throughout the complex. Every room has a great view of Kalkan Bay, and the beds and bathroom are top notch.

Two very different outdoor pools give you a good choice of places to sunbathe. The new larger pool is close to the bar, while the original infinity pool on the first floor is quieter. Tapestry guests also have free use of a beach club a few hundred yards away. And if that isn't enough, there's an indoor pool and jacuzzi inside the spa.

The spa is fantastic, but very underused -- perhaps they need to sell it more, with information and special offers to entice guests inside, because it really is gorgeous -- even my wife who's in the beauty business was enthralled by the facilities.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. And it's adults only - so no kids running around screaming. Perfect chill-out location even in high season.

The food in the restaurant is very good indeed...but the cocktails are rather pricey -- I've had cheaper in London's West End, and they were certainly cheaper in all the bars and restaurants in Kalkan. And a better stocked, and colder mini-bar in the rooms would be useful. But these are minor criticisms. Thumbs up for the Likya.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheringham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Don't really know where to start on this review as literally everything surrounding this gem of a Hotel and location were absolutely outstanding. So I will try and categorise what I think about our fabulous experience.

Firstly before the review, the stay was not along enough as we only booked 1 week just weeks before departure as an anniversary surprise. A nice touch was the card and bottle of wine in the room. It was done via Tapestry and their service throughout was excellent.

THE TRANSFER PICKUP
Met by the Tapestry representative from the airport and shown our transport. A bottle of very cold water in a air con minibus was a welcome and about 1.30 mins of travel through some interesting countryside before arriving at the Hotel.

THE LOCATION
The stunning views from the Hotel room and barside terrace were breath taking especially at night. This hidden gem is situated high on a cliff face with uninterrupetd views of the bay. A short walk (10 mins max) were pleasant but after a few drinks and food a taxi ride is perhaps a good idea. About 5 to 7 TL is the cost. The small town is very crammned with restaurants and bars and small shops catering for holiday makers. Several banks nearby with ATM machines are available. Beach is not worth the trip but the Hotel have its own Beach Club with sun areas and sea swimming jetties just a short walk away.

THE HOTEL
Absolutely brilliant. Only some 24 rooms with 3-4 more being added for next season. An adults hotel only you did have a few teenagers but the level of guests that were staying, we witnessed a very quiet bunch. All the guests were approachable and within days most were on first name terms. Generally a very quiet Hotel throughout. So a good place to come and chill out. On arrival we were taken to the pool sidebar and given drinks whilst our bags were taken to our rooms. We could only get a room on the first floor at short notice (apparently the rooms are graded the higher you go up the Holtel) but it was outstandingly big with a good size balcony (half covered). On some mornings on the balcony you could see the Tutles swimming on the surface. The room was well decorated and as the Hotel was only built about 2 years ago in good order. A big TV to catch up on news was in the room. What I liked about the hotel was you had 3 defined areas to eat in. A full selection of foods at Breakfast was served outside under cover, as was lunch near the pool and a la carte dinner on the barside terraced area overlooking the bay. Lifts were available as was a well furnished spa and gym area which had a jaccuzi and indoor pool which was very welcomed after sunbathing as it was very cold. The room was cleaned every day and I say cleaned as it was spotless. There were 2 outside pools. A upper pool which was small and secluded and a terraced pool built last season. Both were easy to get a sun lounger at most times of the day. The whole design of the Hotel was superb and you could sun bath, go to the bar or eat at anytime of the day without having to go back to your room. I must mention the weird way they calculate your bar bills and meals. No money exchanges hands and there is no signing of any chittlies for any thing drunk or eaten but trust me the end bill is accurate. The have an accountant at the bar who adds everthing up as its consumed and then added to your bill. Sounds crazy I know but trust me on this one.

THE STAFF
Nothing and I mean nothing is to much trouble for any member of their staff. Its been mentioned on here before but the Manager Volkan or "Jimmy" to friends is their best asett. Friendly and hospitable he made sure your stay was as comfortable as humanly possible. From the moment you turn up he was there to welcome us and guided us through our holiday. If you needed anything and he would try damm hard to get it for you. I heard during the week that one of the guests couldn't get a Hire Car as all the companies were fully booked. Volkan made sure a car was made available. The Bar Manager Ilker, was another great character and along with his staff we had a thouroughly enjoyable time at the bar whether it was 10 in the morning or 3 late the next morning. Try the Cocktails....,they are a blast. All the bar and dinning staff were a joy to have round. Excellent service coupled with friendly chat.

THE FOOD
I have been round the world and tasted the cuisine of many top Hotels but the food here was outstanding. The chef and his crew are amazing. A full a la carte menu and service is offered so don't underestimate the standards on offer. Volkan is on hand to offer that little touch to make it special.

TURKISH NIGHT
On the Thursday night there was a Turkish night on the terrace near the pool with a fantastic buffet and with a Belly Dancer and traditional Turkish dancers. It was a great night withh everyone up and on the floof dancing. The highlight was all the staff who ended the evening doing a turn. Fantastic evening and well worth the booking.

GULET TRIP
Included in your vocation is a free trip on a Gulet out to sea for the day. Fantastic views from the boat. It left at 10 in the morning and returned at 5. A fabulous buffet was served on the boat with wine and drinks which were available throughout the day at a cost. The Gulet stopped twice in secluded bays where you could swim in the sea. Otherwise it was sunbathing or absorbing the views. Great day and well worth the trip.

OVERALL
We arrived back home and this morning are arranging our next trip out for next summer....this time for 2 weeks. September is the recommended period we have been told. I can safely say that I couldn't find a single fault in any of our stay and in trying to find something however small just keep on coming up with good points. Well done to the Likya owners, staff and for Tapestry in having a definate winner on their long list of holiday Hotels and Villas.

Highly recommend this establishment and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIndsor, Berks, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We have just returned from a long overdue honeymoon at the likya. We had the most fabulous time and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful break away where luxury comes first. We booked through Tapestry who were amazing, their level of service is second to none.

This hotel ticks all the boxes, location, views, room, pools and spa are all first class and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff. We left feeling relaxed and longing to ruturn, next time for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

First time in Turkey and won't be the last. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The rooms were large and airy with amazing unspoilt views. The new pool and bar had very comfortable beds and the boys at the pool/restaurant were always attentive and made you feel very comfortable. included in the package was a lazy day at sea, were dolphins swan alongside the Gullett and included a great lunch and wine and was a good way to get to know other guests. The harbour was a short walk away down a very steep hill, which was quiet useful climbing back when full up from all the great restaurants in the harbour (our favorite was the olive garden) I would recommend Kalkan to anyone. If you are feeling a bit adventorous try the Canyoning, great fun but not for the feint hearted

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentSausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.4 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
Asfiya Sea View Hotel
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elixir
The Elixir
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likya Residence and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likya Residence and Spa

Property: Likya Residence and Spa
Address: Yalyboyu Mah. Akdeniz Caddesi, Sumbul Sokak, No:1, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
#10 Family Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Likya Residence and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Likya Residence and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Likya Residence Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing