We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience ....”
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A mixed experience ....”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I think I'm going to be saying similar comments to some others here - this hotel has much to recommend it and other elements that take away from the experience. The location is high above the town and beach meaning the walk down is step / very step and hard going in the heat. The hotel mini-bus only goes a short way, to the top of the town, four times a day / evening and is often packed (thirty one people on one notable evening into a standard sixteen seater!). The position does mean it gets some pleasant breezes, which take the edge off the heat. It is also close to the dolmus / bus station and Thursday market. The hotel is very nice with an excellent pool and reception. There was a rooms problem when we arrived at 11pm and we ended up in two different apartments before getting our booked hotel rooms on the fourth day. The rooms were excellent, peaceful, clean, well decorated and with full facilities. The receptionist, Fatima, and hotel staff were friendly and helpful but the bar staff are psuedo-friendly and constantly hit on young females, which is uncomfortable. The bar also frequently plays overloud, bass driven music rather than anything more relaxing or suitable as a background to conversation. The Turkish night was just about adequate but not worth the money charged, the main course was served cold, the dancing was done by what seemed to be a youth group, the belly-dancer go the guests to provide miost of the entertainment, there were minimal fireworks and no staff show.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    132
    70
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
220
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

You'll read mixed reviews about Samira Resort/Deluxe on here; this review aims to tell you exactly what to expect, then you can make up your own mind. Bear in mind that many of the reviews left on here are from returning guests who know the staff personally and almost have a loyalty to the resort.

Location: you've probably gathered, it's at the top of a hill. It takes 10 mins to walk down to Kalkan, about 20 to walk back up to Samira. We did it every day, sometimes twice a day but we're fairly fit and took it steady. Taxis are 12TL (£4) and there's a free shuttle from the hotel at various times of day (I'll come back to this). If you're elderly, have mobility problems or very young children (and don't want to spend £8 a day on cabs) you might want to choose somewhere closer to town.

Rooms: we had an apartment in the original building and paid extra, via our tour operator, for a sea view. Clearly there used to be a sea view which has now been obscured by the newly erected Samira hotel buildings across the road - I will be taking this up as a separate issue. The apartments are clean, basic and old fashioned. The bins and the toilet seat were broken, the drains stank; we'd paid for a double room and ended up pushing together the twin 'beds' that were more like melamine coffins. However, we saw the funny side of our rather rustic accommodation and as we were only in there to get ready to go out and to sleep we just lived with the imperfections. We're not really the sort of people who go on holiday and spend hours moaning in reception about shower heads and towels - the cleaners knew the bins and toilet were broken and did nothing about it - I don't actually see it as my job to report these things. The fact is that it was very clean (you could set your watch by the cleaners hammering on the door before 10am each day) and, in the grand scheme of things,
incredibly cheap.

Food: we had two lunches at the hotel in two weeks; both were good quality and value for money. Drinks were reasonable, cocktail hour is worth a look. The Turkish night was not so good as although it was fun to see folk dancing etc the food was not great. It's priced up as 20£, which we took to mean 20TL. It's actually £20 each or 120TL in total, which is a bit gutting when you can get three courses including wine for 80TL in the town.

Facilities: The bar and restaurant are fine, the pool is large and clean. If you enjoy swimming at home and want to swim laps during your stay you'll need to go down at around 8:30am or wait until 6pm - at this time of year, obviously, it is full of children for the largest part of the day. The pool closes at 7pm and this watershed is ritually heralded by the scooping of powdered chlorine into the pool, usually while you're still swimming in it. There's nothing like a subtle hint.

The pool area itself is a bit of a minefield, again, it's the time of year. We only spent two days at the pool, our first day and then one other day about a week in. Both were noisy, busy days where all the parasols had been 'reserved' pre 8am, leaving some of the loungers totally exposed to sun which hit 40 degrees this last week. Some people complained about there not being enough loungers but the pool area itself is quite small - you're literally shoulder to shoulder with the person next to you. We used Caretta Beach Club via sea taxi almost every day and can't recommend it enough. I would think that the pool at the Samira is great out of main season though.

Staff: all fine and friendly but Fatima deserves a special mention as in almost every review on here. A very smart lady who is great at her job. We had to postpone a boat trip and she called the company and got it changed for us which was a great help.

Overall: This place is perfect for families or people looking for a bargain break and a bit of sun. If you've come to see Kalkan and sample all it has to offer this place distances you from the beach, shops, fabulous restaurants etc. Now we have our bearings we will definitely be back to Kalkan but we would want to stay in town as we haven't really used the hotel facilities at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks, it was very disappointing, we have heard so many great reviews of Kalkan itself, and decided on Samira deluxe, the receptionist and the cleaning staff were very friendly, but the pool and bar staff made us feel very un-welcome, getting a drink seemed to be so much hard work for them, the food was below average, and do not set up a bar tab for the drinks, we paid the bar bill off every day, but on check out they asked for more money for drinks i had already paid for, the room we had was extremly poor, we went self catering, and could barely put a meal together, there was one bowl, not enough cutlery or saucepans, no toaster, the oven was terrible, and the space to prepare a meal was on the draining board.

As we had young kids with us as well, the music from the pool area went on until midnight and kept my kids awake, as they had to have the windows open due to no aircon where they slept, and we had a family appartment with 4 single beds.

the pool was ok, but the sunbeds were all over the place and very close together, and very close to the pool itself with another line of sunbeds right behind you, just felt a bit claustrophobic especially when you have kids with you that like to spread out.

the walk down to the main town did not take long, but in the heat it was tough, and the walk back was horrid, best to get a taxi. does not cost much and saves your legs.

we would not recomend this hotel to any of our friends or family. but would recomend Kalkan itself as a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johngP1816QX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we've just back from samira deluxe and i thought i would share our experience .Firstly the resort is great for those on a budget .Its clean with helpful staff who try hard to resolve any of your problems ,we had a few which were dealt with to our satisfaction . That said the hotel was overbooked and we were placed in a villa until our room was available .
If your planning on cooking then think basic food because the oven is small and quite poor imho,
we had to re think what we were going to cook.
For those with good health and don't mind a little exercise ,the resort is on a big hill and will give you a work out going up and down to the shops. We pretty much walked ,but its hard going if i'm honest .
The free shuttle service is a bit of a joke really as it only goes half way the the beach. Its 20 mins
if you walk from the resort or if you take the free shuttle you only awl about 10 mins ,which in the turkish heat is murder.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a villa ,having been put up in one for our first night its worth the money not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakesh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just got back from a week at the Samira. On a serious budget so we went for a cheap deal. You pay for what you get so I was pleasantly suprised. The rooms seem to vary in quality but ours was a good size, modern and very clean. Staff were nice but less attentive to two guys. Kalkan is a great town , loads of choice for dinner at reasonable prices. We hired a car so got a chance to explore the surrounding area, if we hasn't may have struggled a bit for things to do unless you like hotel pools. The hotel is a bit of a walk uphill from town but unless you have mobility issues no great hardship. If you get a cheap deal well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristol-chaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This year we chose to rent a villa in Kalkan Turkey and to be honest after reading some of the negative reviews were worried we had done the wrong thing. Well I am pleased to say I had nothing to worry about. We have previous done all inclusive so having a villa I was concerned our boys (12,16) may get a liitle bored with our company. To be honest they did but the Villa we rented was part of the Samira Deluxe Resort so not only did we have the luxury of our own space we also got to use the more social resort facilities. Lots of people of all ages and very friendly. The staff were great too.
Villa No 3 was perfect, beautiful surroundings with a view to dye for and a lovely pool, fully equipped if we decided to cook for ourselves. I am afraid to admit we did not as there were over 150 restaurants to chose form, so we decided to support the local economy. The food in Kalkan is lovely though I have to say if I see another piece of meat I may turn veggie. All the restaurants compete for your trade so expect to get a little hassled but a polite no thank you and you are left to go your own way. Deciding where to eat is another story! As all will say the nearing the harbour the more expensive it will be but eating on the front is a must at least once, just to watch the harbour at night. We ate on the front half way up and near the top with the Ata (at the top) being the most reasonable but equally as good. I do recommend the Kaya near the tesco ( yes they get everywhere) if only for the magician waiter who was excellent. As for Kalkan it's self it was a little livelier than I had expected but It is truly beautiful and has something for all ages. The beach clubs are gorgeous and if you have teenagers the water sports are great fun, the gullet trip a must (seabella a gorgeous boat with diving platform and sun lounges). Patara beach great fun especially the waves and make sure you go round the ruins that date back to 2BC and is the birth place of good old Saint Nick.
I read before going that someone said the Brits had spoilt Kalkan, it is not the sleepy fishing port if once was but like all places they have move with the times to keep business and I feel they have done this quite well.
If you like to shop there is plenty to bankrupt you but don't expect to get really cheap knock offs they pride themselves with the 'Genuine Fake' and these don't come cheap, unless of course you go to Market on Thursday when things are more Taiwan than Tiffany's so check things over before you part with cash, and haggle!
To some it up if you are thinking of going do you will have a great time, but if you are looking for quaint you may wish to think again as it has moved with the times.
We would go back.
Oh one more thing, everyone is right about the hill, use a taxi! X

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Samira Deluxe and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. All of the staff are fantastic and friendly. They all seem to put in the hours, as they are always there in the morning, during the day and evening. They have a very consistent high standards & I would love to come back. This hotel may be hard for unfit/older people to get up and down from the beach, as it is a good walk, but we managed it no problems at all! There are lots of friendly and very cute cats walking around resort, one of which decided we were his new owners!! Good times!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#13 of 39 in Kalkan
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Fidanka
Hotel Fidanka
#5 of 39 in Kalkan
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Property: Samira Resort
Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing