We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always nothing but excellence”
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have read some critical reviews from others, but my guess is that they are the type of people who have nothing better to do in life but moan, and expect an English breakfast each morning and a fish and chip shop on the corner, even though they are staying in a very much unspoilt Turkish enviroment, all I can say to those people is go to somewhere like Clacton-On-Sea or Bognor Regis, We have stayed at Samira Deluxe several times, and are always greeted with handshakes and hugs on our arrival, the same to be said with owners of the numerous restaurants and businessess who recognise us instantly when we walk down to the harbour, I can honestly say we have never been to such a friendly place as Kalkan, and we will be going back again every year for as long as we possibly can, this year our daughter and family came with us, and will be looking to go again also, We have always found all the staff at Samira Deluxe to be, highly professional,extremely friendly, with an attitude of nothing is never a problem, we have already booked again for next year and cant wait.

Room Tip: The bed and breakfast rooms in the new block are much more modern, ask for a sea view as it is nothi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Samira Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived back from kalkan yesturday.... I would give anything to be back there already!
We stayed in the new hotel block, room 606 ( it was ground floor so no view but we didnt mind) the rooms were beautifully decorated and perfect for anyones needs in my opinion. ( mind you the bed was so hard to sleep on).
The staff were brilliant, couldnt do enough to help you and always had a smile and cheery welcome.
Excellent pool with amazing views. The Turkish Breakfast wasnt to my liking but for just 5tl i had toast instead.
I honeslty could not fault this place at all it was perfect, beautiful with amazing views.
Yes there is a very steep hill but the whole of kalkan is hilly..... Keeps you fit on holiday :)

In the town i would highly recommend 'Trio' for an amazing meal- wow!
Book a boat trip with ABI tours to Kekova and the sunken city it was unbelievably beautiful and such a brilliant day the english lady rep there was lovely.
The whole place without doubt is the most beautiful place ive ever seen and the holiday exceded all expections even after reading previous reviews. The hotel can not be faulted. Love love love it!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tweetypie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I am currently laying on a sunbed at the side of the Samira DeLuxe's fantastic pool, compelled to write this review just a week into my holiday.

Some people have mentioned grumpy staff. I wonder if they're the same people we witnessed being rude and ignorant and clicking their fingers every time they wanted a drink...? The staff are EXCELLENT — all very friendly and can't do enough for you. Top marks to them all, especially working all hours of the day 7 days a week.

The free shuttle runs guests into town four times a day, a 'dinner run' at 7.30pm being the most popular. How can you not say that's a suitable time for dinner?! It can be cramped, but DON'T rush on! They will do two, three or four trips if there are more people waiting so don't listen to the nonsense about having to stand. What's more, the hotel put this on entirely FREE of charge for you. It's absolutely ideal. Don't like it? Get a cab.

The rooms are beautifully clean and comfortable. Having stayed in Turkey before, I can easily rate this room as the best I've stayed in. It also trumps anything I've had in any other Mediterranean resort. It's not the Hilton with a flat-screen TV or a mini-bar, but you only paid for 3 stars. Get a grip!

Pool beds are close together, but it's perfectly manageable. We enjoy speaking to other people on holiday rather than holing ourselves up on our balcony and acting like miserable gits, so a bit of close contact is absolutely fine with us!!

The food is fantastic; even stopped us going into town on two nights. I tend to be critical, but I simply cannot find fault with this place — it's just perfect.

My wife and I are here on our honeymoon and are thoroughly looking forward to another perfect week to come yet. Time for another beer!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Roguerrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

stayed at the samira from july 13 for two weeks and had a ball. apt overlooked the pool and the sea . beautiful!!! special mention to all the staff who were friendly courteous and very helpful. i have been to turkey 10 times now,and have found my favourite this time. will definately be back next year!Celebrated my 50th birthday there which coincided with turkish night which was superb; the best i,ve seen in all my visits to turkey

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank damkrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Located 15 minutes away from centre on very steep hills and in 30+ degree heat in July, not ideal.

Staff by pool and at bar very moody/ignorant and at breakfast there seemed to be an uncomfortable atmosphere.

Clean and nice rooms, not luxury but better than the rest of hotel perhaps cos we stayed in the more modern building

We stayed bed and breakfast, breakfast was very disappointing, no fresh juice.
Had to buy cereal to eat in room because couldn't put up with it for a week

Wasnt around hotel for that much due to Kalkan being such a magnificent town (5th time there)

Stayed at different Samira hotel in centre 3 times previously but no rooms left this year-such a shame as that is a far better hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Firstly, I have stayed in many 5* hotel around the world and know that in most cases you get what you pay for so it is extremely irritating that people come on here and give bad reviews about hotels that they paid budget money for and didn't get 5* service!!

We stayed here for a week 23/7-30/7 in the new hotel on Bed and Breakfast board. To be honest, we didn’t make the most of the breakfast as we had a few lie ins but when we did, it was very basic - cold meat, bread, eggs, cereal, yoghurt and fruits but nevertheless enough to get your say started.
Our room had a modern bathroom, very spacious bedroom with a flat TV (lots of English films and programs) and a fridge.

As we were late risers we were down at about 10am to sunbathe and always managed to find sunbeds. The sunbeds were very closely packed together though so you did sometimes feel that you were all on top of each other so we only spent two days by the pool and the rest of the time we went to the beach clubs.

The Kalamar Beach club has a brilliant deal where for 14.50TL they offer free transport, sunbeds and parasols, use of pedalo's and kayaks etc. You go to Samira reception and ask the lady to organise a taxi to the beach club, within 2 mins it would arrive, take you to the beach club and then the beach club paid for it.

Turkish night was great fun, the Meze was lovely and I tried the Sea bream for main, which was seasoned beautifully. The entertainment was good fun and the way we were seated allowed for us to socialise with people we might not have normally spoken to.
We would get the shuttle bus which ran 4 times a day at 7.30pm (VERY PACKED so get on early as possible to avoid standing) further in to town every night and eat in town. We ate at Pisces in the old town (our favourite) and Moussaka on the harbour, which are owned by brothers. The service in Moussaka left us feeling slightly forgotten about and it was almost double what we paid in Pisces. So don’t be fooled by the more ‘stylish’ looking restaurants.
Apart from Turkish night and breakfast we didn’t eat at the hotel so we can’t comment on the food really but we did have drinks there most nights, as we would get the shuttle back at 10.35pm. The bar manager bought us some drinks one night and when we checked our room bill they had been added on to our bill. We mentioned it to receptions and the lady removed them –no questions asked.
The receptionist was so helpful and very kind even chasing up our airport transfers for us when we hadn’t heard pick-up times. She couldn’t do enough for you. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and was NOT full of larger louts and ‘young’uns’ as some other people have referenced. It was a very mixed bag of people and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We were in the new hotel so it was quiet with amazing views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tigerlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our second time at the Samira Deluxe Hotel & Apartments, (SDH), staying for the first two weeks in July, as we had stayed here before in 2010. Our holiday did not get off to the best of starts as when we arrived at Antalya airport my wife’s case did not arrive and was still in Manchester. As a result of this we had to spend nearly two hours at the airport completing forms, etc and we did not arrive at the SDH until 4:00 AM in the morning. When the night receptionist heard of out luggage problem he immediately contacted the Manager Uz and he was straight on the phone to the airport on our behalf – at 4:00 AM - to chase our lost case. On the following two days both Uz and Fatima, the hotels excellent and extremely helpful receptionist, phoned the airport two or three times a day and kept us fully updated on the progress. My wife’s case finally arrived at Samira on day 3 of our holiday. Both my wife and I would like to thank both Uz and Fatima for what can only be described as outstanding customer service with their help on this issue.

The SDH could be summed up in one word ‘magical’ and the reason for this is the people who go to stay at the hotel and the people who work at the SDH. Many of the hotels guests are regulars who come year after year. On our first day we bumped into a lovely family, who we first met two years ago, who have been coming for years.

The real asset of the hotel is its staff, from the bar staff, reception staff and chefs, all of who cannot do enough for you and they really do make your holiday special. The hotel is in two parts the older part being the apartments and the newer block the hotel. We stayed in the apartments and they are very spacious and spotlessly clean thanks to the excellent cleaners who come in each day with a cheerful smile. They are well equipped and have the benefit of a full size fridge freezer, hob and satellite TV.

The HILL – as always mentioned in all the reviews of this hotel and known affectionately locally as ‘cardiac hill’. All of the geology for this region in Turkey is mountainous, that’s what makes it so beautiful and picturesque. Most of Kalkan is hilly and I for one don’t mind the hill going down and, if needed, you can get a taxi back up for £4. The SDH also provide a free shuttle bus four times a day, which is very welcomed.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday thanks to the staff and our fellow guests and we will be back next year to our very special place in Kalkan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheHappyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#21 of 39 in Kalkan
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#8 of 39 in Kalkan
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#23 of 39 in Kalkan
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#5 of 39 in Kalkan
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $36 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing