We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday! Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friends and I have just got back from a fantastic week at the Samira De Luxe, and we couldn't recommend it enough! We had a wonderful time and hope to be back very soon!

Accommodation: Couldn't have asked for better! There were 4 of us, with 2 in one bedroom and 2 in the 'lounge', although we were hardly inside due to the heat so it remained a bedroom. Kitchen was small, but remained unused as we ate out every day. We didn't have any problems and everything suited our needs perfectly. I think all rooms have a balcony, which is ideal for hanging towels and swim wear out to dry, but not really large enough to have many people sitting out on it at once!
The rooms was cleaned and new towels provided everyday. Air conditioning was free and safes are provided at reception.

Location of hotel: Samira De Luxe is a little further away from the man hub of Kalkan than other hotels, taking about 20 minutes to walk in. It's also on a very steep hill, so for those with mobility issues, this is definitely something to think about. We often walked into town, and then got a taxi back (about 10 lira, or £3.50 - so not much) either because it was just too hot to walk all the way, or because it was extremely late at night!

Staff: Absolutely wonderful! They made the holiday truly special and we'll all really miss them. They work extremely hard and try to make your time there as enjoyable as possible!

Kalkan itself: Beautiful! It's a very picturesque town, getting more so the further to get into it. There's an endless number of restaurants and bars, from traditional Turkish to rather more English (Mojito bar or Cafe Leon). I would recommend 'Atlantis'. Like many of the restaurants in Kalkan, it has a roof terrace, and the food was lovely - we went back more than once! We had great service, and even visited the staff on our last day to say thank you.

Things to do: There are a number of beach clubs around the Kalkan coast line. Each of them provides sunbeds, a bar, restaurant and toilet/shower facilities. Some provide the option of water sports. I'd recommend Kalkan beach club.
We also went on the Sunken City boat trip and enjoyed it immensely. For those interested in the history of Turkey, this is a must. There were plenty of opportunities to swim in the crystal clear water, and a delicious BBQ was provided in the price.
I'd also recommend a visit to Saklikent Gorge. We arranged this at about midnight the night before we went, so it was a spontaneous decision! But I'm very glad we went! For those who don't know, you spend about 2 hours climbing over rocks and wading through fast flowing water until you reach a waterfall. You have to have a bit of nerve for it, but it's absolutely worth going! We enjoyed every second. You can also go rafting for about 35 lira extra. Our trip was 60 lira per person (about £20) and included a trip to Xanthos, the Gorge and a 2 hour stop at Patara Beach (also a great day out!)

Overall, I would recommend Kalkan to anyone! Although we were a group of 4 girls, we met a number of families and couples while we were there, so I think it's suitable for all. I also can't fault the hotel. We had an amazing time there and hope to go back very soon! Thank you Samira!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlotte92_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had a great holiday in Kalkan but if were to return we wouldn't stay at Samira Deluxe again. Whilst it wasn't the most expensive holiday ever we'd choose the Samira Hotel, right near the centre of Kalkan, if we ever returned to the area, as for more or less the same price the location is far better, outside bar area and pool area better and the rooms more modern.

When we first arrived we were given apartment 302 on the ground floor opposite reception. It was a dank, dark room and contradicted what we were told we were getting by email 2 weeks previous as we were informed we would be in a top floor room with a mountain view. I went to reception to put this across and was told by the manager that we could be moved to apartment 202 but that we were "lucky" the room was available and he'd now have to give someone else 302 later that night!

202 was better, on the side of the block with part sea and mountain view, but both rooms need upgrading sooner rather than later. There's no room safe which means you have to pay to use a safety deposit box behind the reception desk which i wasn't that comfortable with, but left with little choice. The bedside table was like like a lame donkey, just about managing to stay upright on 3 feet. The freezer compartment door couldn't be closed properly due to ice, which meant the fridge door couldn't be completely closed and the bed and pillows were like a mortuary slab and a kerb. I know it's 3 star but we've stayed in far better 3 star places previously and all thats needed to make Samira Deluxe very good is a bit of TLC and money.

The location wasn't ideal for us as we prefer the beach to the pool, which meant a half hour walk down the hill every morning for the beach, and the same again in the evening to get to the restaurants.

The staff were all friendly enough with the pick of the bunch being the female receptionist and the guy with the goatee beard who seemed to be doing everything from cleaning rooms, carrying peoples luggage, changing light bulbs and anything else thrown his way, all with a cheerful 'hello' whenever we passed. By far one of the hardest workers there.

Make sure you check your room bill properly before you leave as we were in a rush and quickly paid what they asked. We didn't get an itemised bill and didn't work out exactly how much we paid until on the way to the airport and i'm convinced that extra drinks or food that we didn't have must have been added to our room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

3 time to Kalkan (still a mere novice compared to some but getting there slowly!!). Just love the place and this time stayed in the Villa's here. Fabulous and having the BEST pool in town as well (each Villa has a pool but only 5 m) was excellent. Also Turkish night on Thursday's is a MUST!!!
Thank you to all the staff who were fabulous and can't wait to come back. Sooner the better.

all the best
Mr and Mrs Hamer

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifitrixibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Me and three of my friends have just arrived back from a week in Kalkan staying at the Samira Deluxe. Before we went we were a little worried, as we hadnt heard of Kalkan but found a really good deal so thought why not. Little did we know we would get so much for our money. The apartments are a really good size, air con is included at no extra price and a safety deposit box is also available for around £12 for the week. Samira Deluxe has a really good size pool which overlooks gorgeous views of its surroundings. The pool is cleaned overnight on a daily basis. Samira offers a 24 hour reception, the lady in the day is particularly helpful and very friendly. The staff around the pool are extremely helpful, nothing is too much for them. In particular Yusef the Bar Manager puts himself out to chat to you and make you feel extremely welcome. My only flaw on the bar is that everything goes on a tab, we woke up one morning to find extra drinks had been added to our bill, so worthwhile paying the bill on a day to day basis. The problem was resolved though by the Manager and nothing further was said.
We found the location of the hotel to be perfect. Kalkan has many steep hills however a short taxi ride into town costs around £4. Down near the harbour are plenty of gorgeous restaurants at really good prices and a couple more expensive ones that are certainly worth the trip, in particular Trio, Sade and Aubergine.
All in all we had an amazing holiday and cant wait to book up again for next year. Kalkan is a gorgeous place with lots to see. Our holiday was made that little bit more special staying at Samira Deluxe, with fantastic staff, gorgeous surroundings and beautiful food, its the perfect place to holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissKVL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

There are good and bad points about the Samira deluxe apartments and things that seem bad but are ok. The views are excellent whether they be from the pool area or if you are lucky enough to get a balcony with a sea view, The self catering apartments spacious and even the older building block is smart and modern. The cleaners are working all day keeping the place tidy. Above average features are the huge fridge in the apartments, the free and very effective air conditioning in the bedroom and the satellite tv which shows many films and tv shows in English. The pool is big and has plenty of sun beds but can get crowded during peak times. The walk down to Kalkan can be a bit alarming at first as you seem to walk through a rubbish strewn building site. Having to cross and walk along a duel carraige way to get to town and the shops does seem a really bad idea, but it is a very quiet road and is safe as long as you keep your wits about you. The real danger comes from slippery and uneven pavements and high kerbs. also maniacs on scooters. The hill is a killer if you are loaded with shopping and it's hot, but you should look upon it as a challenge.. We never felt the need to get a taxi or minibus once.
The bad things about the Samira Deluxe are the foul smell in the toilet/shower room due to poor drains and no ventilation or extractor fan. Its really quite unpleasant as toilet tissue has to be placed in bins rather than flushed away and its gets very warm in there!!!! The shower although effective is probably not up to the standard you will be used to and not as good as the ones in the hotel rooms.
The major pain we found to be is the insistance that drinks and meals etc are charged to your room and not paid for in cash at the time. The reason they do this is obvious (you spend more) and some may prefer this, but the drawbacks are obvious as well. we refused to participate but still had stuff charged to our room and it took almost the fornight we stayed to get it sorted. Thanks to Tamsin our Thomas Cook rep who was brilliant throughout. So beware and check your bill daily as we overheard many people querying their bills. Also i agree with the comment in another review. The younger bar manager seems to be trying to turn the place into an 18-30 type resort with loud music and pool games.
Kalkan is a lovely lively town and is reminiscent of a cornish town but sunny! Good places to eat are Ali's (really good value set menu), Hankar kebabs and also the Samira does a good Lamb Shish. The Corner resaurant was lovely but a bit expensive. a disapppointment was Chillis as the food was greasy and bland, which was ironic given the name of the restaurant.

Room Tip: seaview is essential. 1 bedroom selfcatering apartments are good for 2, not 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bondiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Been home a week now and have really missed this place. Apartments very roomy and really clean. Air con was brilliant. Gorgeous view from our balcony. Pool area great, once again very clean and loads of loungers. Bar offered great choice at reasonable prices and all the staff were fab, so friendly and really helpful. Don't underestimated the hill, it's killer but taxis are reasonably priced and the free bus service that runs a few times a day was great and no hassle. We will be back! We loved this hotel and Kalkan itself was amazing!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are a young couple who have just returned from a week long stay at the Samira De Luxe, we stayed in the new hotel Block A... couldn't fault the room, very clean, powerful shower, always hot water, cleaners were lovely, fresh towels every day, reception staff esp. Fatima were lovely and were very helpful... breakfast was simple but nice... bread rolls, cheese and salad and a few cereals, drinks were at an extra charge... however, the air conditioning and the fridge within the room were at no extra charge

Staff were very friendly but i have to say very pushy about trying to make us attend Turkish night (as usual), even the manager... it's not our thing being forced to get up and dance, the waitors became very irritating and when we didn't go, the waitors weren't so friendly with us from then on but we've experienced this before elsewhere to be honest

The road in front of the hotel that some people mentioned is completed now and not too busy or hard to cross at all this time of year but we were slightly out of season (mid June), no need to mention the hill (although it is the reason why i didn't award the hotel 5/5)... after the first attempt of walking back from town you will be getting the taxi back :P (only around £4 each time, or if you're going around the time of the bus it is free but this is limiting as it is only 4 times a day)

Generally, this town is so much nicer than anywhere we've stayed in Turkey before, much less hassle-y and although it is chilled out there are still lively bars that stay open literally until sunrise (Mojito's :P) The harbour is very picturesque and there are some awesome ancient sites nearby (Patara, Xanthos, Letoon, Kekova and Myra) and we actually found it to be cheaper than other larger resorts we have stayed in in Turkey... would recommend the place and the hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justcallmejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
1.0 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#23 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#10 of 40 in Kalkan
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#13 of 40 in Kalkan
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $35 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing