We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice holiday ( if you're looking for a quiet relaxing holiday)”
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Arrived at the hotel late due to the mini bus breaking down on the way from the airport, but once arriving was pleased with the clean, tidy room. Had a good view, the only problem with the room was the bed was quite hard. All the staff are very friendly only a handful could speak good English. The B&B breakfast is ok no variety throughout the week, however the day to day meny food is nice. The hotel is on quite a steep hill but a free mini bus is available at certain times of the day which drop and collect in the town. This is a very relaxed area of turkey and there is not much noise or many young people. The restaurants in the town are extremely good, especially the ones near the harbour. The local beaches are small and yet again quiet. No complaints about the hotel or area it was just a little bit to quiet for me as I prefer my holidays a little bit more lively. Me and my partner went in August 2011.

Room Tip: There are apartments & a hotel but apparently the hotel has nicer rooms as it was built more rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 475 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

well where do i start.we stayed in october 2012 for first visit to kalkan, First of all the staff fantastic, Fatima in reception always so helpful with a smile. Ridvan and his team of bar and waiters where always there to help at any time of day.I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for comfort relaxation . Some reviews are dissapointed by the steep walk int town,that was not a problem for me,but anyone can get the hotel bus down into town 3 0r 4 times a day and 7ish in the evening if you want to sample many of the great eating places in town,try the gourmet and the cafe leon,bus bacck at about 11ish, taxis very cheap,.My thanks to all the staff at thos splendid hotel,Tony and Gerald x

Room Tip: chose hotel b&b rather than self catering,rooms far superior in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Some people said that this hotel in not for the unfit, I would say this about any where in Kalkan as the whole of this fantasticaly beautiful place has some very, very steep hills to walk up, so for people with severe mobility problems I would have to say unfortunately this maybe not for you, we have been to the Samira Deluxe twice now and have always found it impeccable, rooms kept spotlessly clean, as with all the areas both inside and out, all the staff are friendly and helpful beyond expectations, we go B&B, you do get a traditional Turkish breakfast the same each day, but hey, you are in Turkey and should not expect English breakfasts, fish and chips and roast dinners, the one thing that really gets up my nose is people who complain about not getting English food when on holiday overseas, you will find 40+ restaurants to choose from in Kalkan and the food and service you will find second to none everywhere, not forgetting the shopkeepers who are also very freindly and helpful, no matter if you are intending to buy from them or not, we had our hols here last 2 weeks October this year, and booked to come back again last week July 1st Week August, I would recommend Samira deluxe and the resort of Kalkan (the Jewel of Turkey) to one and all.

Room Tip: The B&B rooms are in a newly built block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Lovely place to stay, clean, helpfull staff, Fatima on reception was excellant and very helpful.
The views from our room where just lovely,and so many wonderful places to eat in town.We tried as many as we could and didnt have a bad meal anywhere.The only draw back is the climb back and is not for the unfit.
The best plan is to walk down and have a taxi back as they very reasonable.Have already booked to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trevor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The seaview room was lovely with a great view of the bay and beyond. The room was always kept clean and sheets and towels changed twice a week, you could ask for more towels if you wanted. There was a member of staff there 24/7 if you needed anything.
The hotel bar and restaurant were very good with reasonable prices and very attentive staff.
The pool was of a good size and always clean with a great view over Kalkan itself.
I also found the other guests very friendly and made many friends whilst there.
The hotel itself is situated at the top of a hill which made getting into town a struggle sometimes, not so bad going downhill but very tiring coming back so had to spend a lot on taxis. The hotel did lay on a minibus which would take you half way down and pick you up again at certain times at the same spot but if you are on a budget or not reasonably fit then i would take this into consideration when booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for a seaview room and you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmileyTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I'll be short and sweet .. ish.

Stayed there 17th to 23rd Oct 2011. We stayed in block A, excellent rooms fantastic views. Towels only changed twice in the week.
Staff friendly enough and did a basic job, we have been all over Turkey and by general standards they were average. The area around the pool was pretty dirty...ash trays not emptied floor area never cleaned. During the previous week there was very heavy rain... the foam filled sun beds saturated all week staff made no attempt to dry them, despite seeing the guests trying to do it themselves. Mabye the staff had had enough as it is the end of a very long season. I would,nevertheless, give them the benefit of the doubt and I would give the Samira deluke another chance. (the reception staff were excellent).

kalkan itself is the nicest place we have ever been to in Turkey, we will definately be back. The restaurants are fantastic and we found the exchange rate excellent value. Unlike many other popular Turkish resorts, we were not hassled once!

The 'hill climbing' can be on the strenuous side, but dont let it but you off, the views are worth it.

Transfer from Dalaman airport 3hrs....transport to Dalaman Airport 2hrs 15mins! (beautiful drive)

Room Tip: Ask for block A or B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank damien21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in the new block of the hotel, & had no complaints. Very smart & well finished off by Turkish standards. Fabulous food in the hotel restaurant, plenty of room round the pool. In fact, the hotel itself was great. The only drawback was the long climb up the hill. I had dismissed other reviews about the location as we are fairly fit & do lots of walking, however, this is one serious climb!! There is a courtesy bus available, which gets you over the road to the top of the main resort which runs 3 x a day.
Kalkan is absoloutely fabulous. there are loads of great restaurants & lovely little shops. the bus station is just across the main road from the hotel, & from here you can visit Sakliekent gorge, xanthos ruins, Patara beach & Kas, so plenty to do & at a very reasonable price. Our favorite restaurants were, the small house, which was like eating round at a friends, & Zula which was very smart & did a fab chicken & spinach in cream sauce. Seaport on the front by the sea does great cocktails for 10 tl & has a lovely atmosphere.. all in all a wonderful time was had by all !

Room Tip: we stayed in block b on the 2nd floor in room 802. this had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#5 of 40 in Kalkan
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#23 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#12 of 40 in Kalkan
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pirat
Hotel Pirat
#8 of 40 in Kalkan
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $29 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing