We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

well where do i start.we stayed in october 2012 for first visit to kalkan, First of all the staff fantastic, Fatima in reception always so helpful with a smile. Ridvan and his team of bar and waiters where always there to help at any time of day.I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for comfort relaxation . Some reviews are dissapointed by the steep walk int town,that was not a problem for me,but anyone can get the hotel bus down into town 3 0r 4 times a day and 7ish in the evening if you want to sample many of the great eating places in town,try the gourmet and the cafe leon,bus bacck at about 11ish, taxis very cheap,.My thanks to all the staff at thos splendid hotel,Tony and Gerald x

Room Tip: chose hotel b&b rather than self catering,rooms far superior in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    128
    70
    23
    19
See reviews for
113
215
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Some people said that this hotel in not for the unfit, I would say this about any where in Kalkan as the whole of this fantasticaly beautiful place has some very, very steep hills to walk up, so for people with severe mobility problems I would have to say unfortunately this maybe not for you, we have been to the Samira Deluxe twice now and have always found it impeccable, rooms kept spotlessly clean, as with all the areas both inside and out, all the staff are friendly and helpful beyond expectations, we go B&B, you do get a traditional Turkish breakfast the same each day, but hey, you are in Turkey and should not expect English breakfasts, fish and chips and roast dinners, the one thing that really gets up my nose is people who complain about not getting English food when on holiday overseas, you will find 40+ restaurants to choose from in Kalkan and the food and service you will find second to none everywhere, not forgetting the shopkeepers who are also very freindly and helpful, no matter if you are intending to buy from them or not, we had our hols here last 2 weeks October this year, and booked to come back again last week July 1st Week August, I would recommend Samira deluxe and the resort of Kalkan (the Jewel of Turkey) to one and all.

Room Tip: The B&B rooms are in a newly built block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Lovely place to stay, clean, helpfull staff, Fatima on reception was excellant and very helpful.
The views from our room where just lovely,and so many wonderful places to eat in town.We tried as many as we could and didnt have a bad meal anywhere.The only draw back is the climb back and is not for the unfit.
The best plan is to walk down and have a taxi back as they very reasonable.Have already booked to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trevor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The seaview room was lovely with a great view of the bay and beyond. The room was always kept clean and sheets and towels changed twice a week, you could ask for more towels if you wanted. There was a member of staff there 24/7 if you needed anything.
The hotel bar and restaurant were very good with reasonable prices and very attentive staff.
The pool was of a good size and always clean with a great view over Kalkan itself.
I also found the other guests very friendly and made many friends whilst there.
The hotel itself is situated at the top of a hill which made getting into town a struggle sometimes, not so bad going downhill but very tiring coming back so had to spend a lot on taxis. The hotel did lay on a minibus which would take you half way down and pick you up again at certain times at the same spot but if you are on a budget or not reasonably fit then i would take this into consideration when booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for a seaview room and you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmileyTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I'll be short and sweet .. ish.

Stayed there 17th to 23rd Oct 2011. We stayed in block A, excellent rooms fantastic views. Towels only changed twice in the week.
Staff friendly enough and did a basic job, we have been all over Turkey and by general standards they were average. The area around the pool was pretty dirty...ash trays not emptied floor area never cleaned. During the previous week there was very heavy rain... the foam filled sun beds saturated all week staff made no attempt to dry them, despite seeing the guests trying to do it themselves. Mabye the staff had had enough as it is the end of a very long season. I would,nevertheless, give them the benefit of the doubt and I would give the Samira deluke another chance. (the reception staff were excellent).

kalkan itself is the nicest place we have ever been to in Turkey, we will definately be back. The restaurants are fantastic and we found the exchange rate excellent value. Unlike many other popular Turkish resorts, we were not hassled once!

The 'hill climbing' can be on the strenuous side, but dont let it but you off, the views are worth it.

Transfer from Dalaman airport 3hrs....transport to Dalaman Airport 2hrs 15mins! (beautiful drive)

Room Tip: Ask for block A or B
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank damien21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in the new block of the hotel, & had no complaints. Very smart & well finished off by Turkish standards. Fabulous food in the hotel restaurant, plenty of room round the pool. In fact, the hotel itself was great. The only drawback was the long climb up the hill. I had dismissed other reviews about the location as we are fairly fit & do lots of walking, however, this is one serious climb!! There is a courtesy bus available, which gets you over the road to the top of the main resort which runs 3 x a day.
Kalkan is absoloutely fabulous. there are loads of great restaurants & lovely little shops. the bus station is just across the main road from the hotel, & from here you can visit Sakliekent gorge, xanthos ruins, Patara beach & Kas, so plenty to do & at a very reasonable price. Our favorite restaurants were, the small house, which was like eating round at a friends, & Zula which was very smart & did a fab chicken & spinach in cream sauce. Seaport on the front by the sea does great cocktails for 10 tl & has a lovely atmosphere.. all in all a wonderful time was had by all !

Room Tip: we stayed in block b on the 2nd floor in room 802. this had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Kalkan is one of the nicest area i have been too. Its is hilly but wasn't too difficult.

The hotel has a shuttle bus 5 times a day i think but we only used it once till we realised how near the center we were, its only 10 min walk if that. Taxi was usually 8-10TL (£3.50 ish)

Its a shingle beach here but Patera beach is a huge sandy beach that is about 20 mins away by car. We went to a beach club that was free in boat taxi and i would recommend doing that it was a lovely day and we saw a sea turtle. I would recommend Doy Doy restaurant as its lovely but you usually need to reserve a table.

Breakfast at the hotel was buffet style - bread, cheese, ham, cereal, eggs, yogurt got a bit boring after a week but you can buy a full english for extra.
The beds were very hard but apparently all turkish beds are not sprung mattresses they are hard board but i could not sleep on it for much longer.
Our room had AC/Hairdryer/fridge (didnt work) kettle (if you use the tea/coffee in the room they add it on to your bill), they put water in your fridge every day but again will add this onto your bill.

The hotel was a let down for us so we just treated it as a bed and spent our time elsewhere. It was end of season (sept) and i think they had just had enough. In block B -The room was not overly clean and i wanted to clean it myself. The bed linen was changed every 2 days but we didnt get clean towels for 5 days till we complained at reception, they were full of apologies but its not nice having to complain. The shower cubicle was greasy with dirt. The family lives on site and as we were on the ground floor the local children would run up and down the corridor banging on the doors etc which was really annoying! We found the waiters and bar staff really friendly but the owners have lost customer service so we didnt go back to the pool area after that. Think we caused a bit of an argument between them as we had requested the rugby semi final on the tv, at half time the owner turned it over for his friends to watch the turkish football saying he would put it back on but surprise he would not turn it back. Annoyed is not the word if they had been honest and said no we could have watched it elsewhere. You can imagine hubby was not happy. So we dint let the hotel spoil anything and Kalkan is very beautiful i just will not be returning to this hotel/apartments.

Room Tip: Not Block B ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueakyLeekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#7 of 39 in Kalkan
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kalkan
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#20 of 39 in Kalkan
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#10 of 39 in Kalkan
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dionysia
Hotel Dionysia
#16 of 39 in Kalkan
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Property: Samira Resort
Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing