We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOOKING FOR NEXT YEAR”
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samira Resort
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks in one of the best hotel/apartment complexes we have stayed at, in possibly the best resort for us. The friendly staff cannot do enough for you, especially Fatma and Fred on reception, and Oz, and all the guys who work so hard all day in the bar, restaurant, and around the pool area, and also the Thomson rep, Laura. We stayed on a self catering basis, so cannot comment on the breakfast, but the food at the snack bar during the day, and the restaurant at night, was good, and reasonably priced. Pool area was kept clean, plenty of sunbeds, could do with some new umbrellas. The resort itself is beautiful, loads of restaurants, lots with roof terraces giving lovely views over Kalkan harbour. Our favourites were Saffron for their excellent food & friendly service, and particularly Gourmet, the best food in Kalkan.
Be aware that the Samira De Luxe is quite a walk from the town, approx 20 minutes down a steep hill. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus 4 times a day part way down as the main part of the town is pedestrianised. We walked down most evenings at our leisure, and got a cab back, only 8 lira from the taxi rank, picking up anything we needed at one of the various supermarkets that are open till late in the town.

Room Tip: Apartments have air con in the bedroom at no extra charge. Sofa bed/beds in living area. Could do wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LONDONADDICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 475 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed in an apartment ..All the waiters were friendly the food was good and was reasonable priced.Apartments and pool area were kept clean.There are plenty of sun beds but not as many sunshades, you need to be by the pool by 10 am you might be able to get a sun bed but not a sun shade.The pool is big and you can have a good swim before the people with lilos arrive.
Mini bus to town is every 2 hrs, The 7 30 pm was always busy but the driver comes back for guests as many tiimes as needed.We got a taxi back from town as we felt it was too far to walk as its all up hill.You also need to be organised as to what you need from the supermarket as the one nearest one is quite a long way off.Although the supermarkets t will deliver your items if you wish.
We dont go back to the same place twice, but we would go back to Kalkan again, but stay at the bottem of the hil next timel as we feel we didnt see as much of Kalkan as we would have liked due the location of the Apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarmelGirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a very well run hotel and nothing is too much trouble. The bar staff and restaurant staff are superb and very entertaining. They are always cheerful despite the incredibly long hours that they work. Fatma at reception is a very helpful, caring person. Yes the Deluxe is abit out of the way but we were there in 45 deg + and managed the journey into town either by foot, shuttle or taxi. The Hotel itself is lovely and clean and there is a huge attention to detail. We loved and would go again even though we don't normally go back to the same place twice. Its worth going just to see the incredible dancing Oz!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pzazz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Samira Deluxe in an apartment for a week at the start of July - what a lovely holiday! The resort of Kalkan is perfect for couplse (no large groups of mates, no massive hotele taking over the coastline etc), wandering through the narrow old town streets & eating on the roof terraces made for a lovely evening. The shingle beach was great, only 7TL for 2 beds & an umbrella for the day & the sea was so clear because of the lack of sand - also very refreshing, just the right temperature to cool you down from the 42 degree heat! The Samira is located on the hillside about a 10-15 minute walk down into the town - this may be a problem for some but we liked walking through the little residential streets & seeing 'the real Turkey'. They also have a great little shuttle bus that drops off & collects at certain times of the day for free. The apartment itself was a bit dated but was clean and had everything you needed - especially the air con in the bedroom, we could not have slept without it as it was still in the high 20's at night. FOr me the bed was far too hard as I have a back problem, that was the only negative. The pool was great & there was no shortage of sunloungers & umbrellas even though they seemed to be full. Unfortunately a few noisy kids meant that we ended up going to the beach more than the pool (we went out of school holidays for a reason!) & there was 1 gobby woman who decided to have a go at someone who was taking the mickey out of a kids accent when I'd overheard her saying he was hanging around her alike a bad smell a few days earlier - but obviously that's not the hotel's fault!!
All in all we'd definately go back to this resort and would stay here again. There is also a Samira Hotel and a Samira Gardens Hotel so don't get them mixed up! The only thing lacking was a small shop for essentials as the nearest one without goin into town was the petrol station along the dual carriageway - but apparently they ware building one this winter!

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We have recently returned from two weeks at the Samira Deluxe Apartments. A fine time was had by all. The apartments themslves are comfortable kept very clean and offer good value accomodation. The swimming pool and surrounding area is well maintained and the food from the pool bar/restaurant really cannot be faulted. All of the staff are a credit to the Samira and are friendly and helpful. Guests we spoke to had mentioned that they had returned year on year and it is clear to see why. Special thanks goes to Fatima on reception who resolved the great missing teddy bear crisis of 2011 and sent a special friend on their travels home. Many thanks we are most grateful. We hope to return in the future thanks to all!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BYH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a lovely hotel,only a year old. Beautiful marble floors throughout. Fabulous room,enormous patio doors onto balcony with beautiful views over Kalkan bay. King size bed with good quality mattress,large wardrobe suitable for long dresses ! Fridge,Tv Kettle plenty of cupboard space Well fitted modern bathroom. Lovely attentive staff. Large clean pool with plentiful very comfy sunbeds. Lots of sitting areas out of the sun with whicker settees and chairs. Reasonable priced food with lots of choices. Gardens full of beautiful plants and trees.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petawendy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Me and my boyfriend have recently returned from a week in Kalkan and both had one of our best holidays ever. Kalkan was absolutely perfect, the only disappointment was the hotel. Unfortunately we were given the wrong room, we'd booked a double room w sea view but got a twin room w satellite dish/noisy air con unit view, but please note this was the fault of Thomson, not the hotel. We were in block B of the newer hotel section, which I think is fairly new but generally just felt a bit unfinished, for example we had to run the shower for 15mins in order to get hot water! The walls were thin so we could hear our neighbours using the toilet, the air con was very noisy so we both slept badly, and towards the end of the week the bathroom smelt like sewage, and we're both very clean people! We eventually moved rooms after much confusion and an encounter with a slightly aggressive staff member, and in fairness the second room was much nicer. I think the rest of the hotel was lovely so please bear in mind this review relates to block B only. As for the location it really was quite out of town and high up into the mountain, walking to town was not a problem but uphill on the way back was just too hot, and we're both fit and healthy. Also you have to cross a dual carriage-way to get into town which was dangerous. Overall Kalkan was just beautiful, but given the abundance of lovely accommodation closer to the town I wouldn't stay in the Samira Deluxe again.

Room Tip: There are no double rooms in block B, so if you book with Thomson make it very clear what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VKJBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.3 mi away
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Kalamar Hotel
Kalamar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Kalkan
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zinbad
Hotel Zinbad
#12 of 40 in Kalkan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Happy Hotel Kalkan
Happy Hotel Kalkan
#6 of 40 in Kalkan
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#23 of 40 in Kalkan
37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kalkan
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range: $36 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing