We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the pictures” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterra Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterra Art Hotel
Ranked #46 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
KELOWNA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the pictures”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The first thing that drew my attention when handed the "welcome" note on arrival was a bolded statement: "It's not permitted to bring food and drink from outside into the hotel". When I questioned the desk clerk as to whether this just applied to the public areas of the hotel, he informed me that it applied to the entire hotel, including private rooms. I asked why and was told that the owner supplied bar fridges in the rooms and had a restaurant on premises and wanted to make money.
As far as we were concerned this back-fired on him as we refused to take anything from the in room fridge and boycotted the restaurant, with the exception of the breakfast that was included in the room rate. The breakfast buffet was one of the most disappointing selections we have seen in any European hotel.
Finally, our room, admittedly a standard room, did not compare to any of the pictures online and did not have a full length mirror which their online site said was a fixture in every room.
We also found the staff less friendly and helpful than any of the other hotels we have stayed at in Turkey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGLAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediterraArtWorld, Satış Müdürü at Mediterra Art Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for letting us know your opinions, we will notice the complaints to fix them.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    223
    92
    36
    20
See reviews for
98
335
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Room was fine albeit very basic. Per the reviews, loud music in the area on Saturday night made for a noisy hotel experience until the early hours of Sunday... Bring earplugs or stay out til late if you're here on a weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahEizenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely staff, so helpful. An old Ottoman house, very open and airy. Small pool
But welcome as it was very hot! Some areas could do with "updating" . Visit
Sani Grand Bazaar around the corner and the owner Rose, who is so friendly.
Also the little restaurant next door to her, excellent value and lovely food.

Room Tip: Internal rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy2ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days.

The hotel was in a perfect location in the centre of Antalya old town (Kaleici) next to many good restaurants, bars and shops and just a 5 min walk from a small beach Mermerli (only one beach in the old town but much more peaceful and pretty than the other two main beaches Konyaalti and Lara though you have to pay a small fee.)

The hotel room was fairly small, not bad for us but may be a problem if you had a lot of luggage.It was kept clean every day and quite quiet despite being next to the road though. There was air con and WiFi. There is a sun terrace/courtyard and small pool which is lovely for relaxing. The breakfast buffet had a large range of Turkish breakfast foods.

We experienced some problems - safe was broken on arrival ( though replaced pretty quickly) and laundry service took 3 days to return clothes- but generally the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms looked a lot larger. September is a good time to travel, quieter but still a lot go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie_w_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been there twice before, it was very good... But this time, we saw that it needs to renovate, because it looks average... At first, they offered a room (next to the reception), it was like a smelly storage room. Luckily, they accepted to change the room. There were not enough towels, no kettle in the room (used to have), and the breakfast would be better...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great location, but on our stay the noise from local bars did keep us awake. Location was the only plus. Our room was very small, the bed rock hard.Though this is typical of Turkish beds. Neither bedside lights worked, the room safe did not work and in general the room seemed tired and uncared for. We went for an overnight stay and booked half board. This is a mistake, as the food was terrible and my wifes main course (same as mine) took an extra 15 minutes to arrive. There were only 2 other people eating, so it couldn`t have been busy in the kitchen. In general we found the staff friendly and helpful, though they seemed a bit disorganised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Even before we entered the hotel, we were impressed with their service. Our GPS could not cope with the tiny streets of the old city, so my husband walked in and someone from the hotel came and drove us to the door, unloaded our luggage and then parked our car. The reception from the front desk was very welcoming and when we were shown our room we were even more impressed. We had booked a triple room as we like the extra space, well our room was enormous and beautifully decorated in Ottoman splendour with a very modern bathroom. Even though it over looked the street, it was very quiet. We had dinner in their restaurant by the pool and after eating at the Sim Restaurant the next night wished we had eaten there every meal. We had four large, juicy lamb chops with aubergine ragout, salad and potatoes and the dessert was heavenly. The swimming pool is a little oasis and there is a library where you can swap you old books for others. The staff were consistently polite and the front desk was very helpful with suggestions and maps. We would certainly tell any of our friends to stay there, knowing that it will be a special experience.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room, it is so reasonably priced, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stubbspainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
Puding Marina Residence
Puding Marina Residence
#35 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
2.8 mi away
Club Hotel Falcon
Club Hotel Falcon
#39 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Marmara Antalya
The Marmara Antalya
#34 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oscar Boutique Hotel
Oscar Boutique Hotel
#57 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#32 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterra Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterra Art Hotel

Property: Mediterra Art Hotel
Address: Barbaros Mah. Zafer Sok. No:5 Genclik, Muratpasa, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Antalya
#8 Business Hotel in Antalya
#44 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterra Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to be away from the stress of city life and to have an enjoyable journey while you are strolling amongst old houses surrounded by high walls? Welcome to Antalya, which has become the host of various civilizations since the Stone Age to Bronze Age and various empires such as Lycia - Persia - Roman Empire - Pergamum - Byzantium - Seljuks - Mongolian Empire - and Ottoman Empire. Mediterra Art Hotel is located in Kaleici -Antalya which is surrounded by ancient city walls which was formerly called Attaleia (159 - 138 B.C). Kaleici has 2000 years' history and has preserved its identity since then. Mediterra Art Hotel is formed by three buildings and has been renovated by means of Ottoman architecture including ancient fireplaces, hand-made doors and wardrobes. An Ottoman tale..... Mediterra Art Hotel welcomes you with 26 inviting rooms, 9 deluxe, 1 super deluxe Suite and 16 standard rooms all en-suite. We have the Free High Speed WiFi, LCD TV, Satellite TV, Air conditioned, Mini bar, Music, Telephone with direct connection, Internet, Safe, en-suite bathroom with hair dryer, 24 hour room service and fire alarms in our every rooms. Let the moonlight cheer you up while you are chatting and enjoying the authentic tastes. Art Gallery: Mediterra Art Gallery was opened by a crowded group of participants who are interested in Fine Arts on 1st of May 2010. Its historical atmosphere provides an excellent opportunity to feel pleasure during the exhibition. The Hotel was activated in August of 2007, before the ruins of a mansion with 200 years of history to its original look, achieved as a highly modern life has found. "Art" word is in the hotel name comes from 150 years old of a very special original hand-made ceiling decorations in the restaurant. Mediterra Art Hotel serves to both guests and visitors together with superior service in Historical and Modern place. Mediterra Art Gallery welcomes you from 10.00 To 18.00 Hours everyday during all year round. In our indoor and an outdoor restaurant you can enjoy international and traditional cuisine. Our bar is always at your service. As soft as velvet... Enjoy the Turkish sunshine on the patio by our pool and you can have a chat or enjoy reading a book in peace. Make your dreams come true... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mediterra Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterra Art Antalya
Hotel Mediterra Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing