We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming rooms”
Review of Atelya Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atelya Art Hotel
Ranked #98 of 229 Hotels in Antalya
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming rooms”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Let me start with saying this hotel is absolutely beautiful! With all the decorations, you really feel the history and age of this building.

Pros:
Perfect location! You're in beautiful old Kaleici and you're only a few minutes walk to the water!

The hotel itself is awesome! Large, comfy room, with high ceilings, uneven floor and stairs which felt as if they might break under your weight (yes, I put this under pros because it shows how old this building is and how much history goes with it!) and interesting art everywhere. Go hang out at the bar/pool at night. It surprised me that no one was ever out there during the 2 nights we stayed. The pool changes colors and the drinks aren't too pricey. The bartender (not sure of his name) is really nice.

Cons:
The service was...interesting. When we first arrived no one was at reception and we finally caught the attention of the man tending the pool. We told him we had a reservation. He didn't say anything and a girl who we learned usually sits at reception was just standing and looking at us. The look they gave us was as if we had walked into a random person's house and said "Hey, we're going to stay here!" Finally a man sunbathing on a chair gets up and checks us in. He hands our key to the girl who then hands it to the pool man who takes our luggage upstairs, shows us the remote for the air conditioner then leaves. After the warm, friendly welcome we received at our previous hotel (Hideaway Hotel in Kas), we were a bit perplexed. The next morning when we went for breakfast, I noticed the girl from reception who had said nothing the day before offer a little girl some candy for Bayram. Then, two older women came in and she talked lively with them and offered them candy as well. However, when my fiance and I walked right past her as we left the hotel, she again just stared, no smile, no candy offering, nothing.

They didn't provide us with shampoo or conditioner, only 2 boxes of hand soap (though upon opening one I discovered it was empty.) Also, no matter which direction you turned the shower, it would either have an average temperature or be scalding or freezing. It seemed to decide when it would become these temperatures and you couldn't do much about it. It was a bit miserable.

We stayed in the main building and our room faced a somewhat busy alley. Cars and motorcycles were constantly driving past and you could hear every sound from cars, people and cats, who I believe have decided that this particular alley is their favorite place to either kill each other or to do...something else because several times a day you would hear the piercing howl of a cat. Super annoying.

Breakfast is pretty meager, or at least compared to the large layout we had at Hideaway. Olives, bread, cheese, meat, corn flakes.

Room Tip: We stayed in 206 of the main building. It did not have a good view and was situated facing a somewha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheslikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We did not get to see all parts of this hotel or other rooms so I can only write about the room we had in the main part of this hotel. It was very small, as was the bathroom. It did have a tiny balcony which helped but not really enough to make the room experience comfortable. I am not sure why this place is called an Art Hotel. The owner's art is, indeed, displayed, but the rest of the decorations are downright shabby. The breakfast was very average. The hotel staff we dealt with did not speak much English so we didn't get any help with what to see and do. The hotel is located well and there is a place to park a car. I think I would pay a little more to be more comfortable in Antalya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3doglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice refurbished Anatolian houses, with wooden floors and very nice atmosphere. The swimming pool is small but a fantastic refreshment on a hot summer's day. Decent food and very kind hotel owner. The hotel has a private parking place which is very useful in this part of town. We enjoyed our 2 nights stay with our 3 kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice place in the old town of Antalya. With a typical ancient turkish style. The only problem was the shower in the bathroom, that didn't work properly.
The owner and the employees are very polite. The breakfast is good, with fruit ham and tea.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRadrizzanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What an adorable place. Excellent service, lovely rooms, nice breakfast and the friendliest staff I have ever had met. Helpful, happy and will go out of their way to make your stay the best they can.
Great value for money. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, restored Ottoman building. Management is very nice but only Emre speaks English. Breakfast good but not great -- same every day, and they charged extra for Turkish coffee rather than Nes. TV was impossible to work. We loved the turtles walking around the courtyard, and the small swimming pool, but above all the atmosphere. Also the rooms are bigger than in comparable places. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudeandMina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is in a pleasant location, near to both the water and Hadrians Gate. Handy to get to Antalya musuem, plus the harbour for a one hour (45 minute) boat ride. We stayed in a side building in a 1st floor spacious room, beautifully decorated. Breakfast is served in a charming courtyard with resident tortoise. Breakfast was ok, but needed replenishing, which when we asked, was done. Make sure you leave your key at reception, or the room is not made up. There is a notice advising this on the wall but we forgot. We arrived early hours of the am, no problems. Friendly enough service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakegp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.1 mi away
Ninova Boutique Hotel
Ninova Boutique Hotel
#52 of 229 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urcu Hotel
Urcu Hotel
#50 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuvana Hotel
Tuvana Hotel
#34 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tekeli Konaklari
Tekeli Konaklari
#66 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kont Pansiyon
Kont Pansiyon
#169 of 229 in Antalya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadrian Gate Hotel
Hadrian Gate Hotel
#67 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelya Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelya Art Hotel

Property: Atelya Art Hotel
Address: Barbaros Mah. Civelek Sok. No:21 Yatlimani (Kaleici), Muratpasa, Antalya, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 229 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atelya Art Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atelya Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing