We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Just returned from a week at the Barut Lara Resort Spa and Suites. We were recommended to stay at this resort by a friend and I was a little worried that it would not live up to her very high praise. I needn't have worried - everything about the holiday was great. ( really think I must have stayed at a different place to the previous person posting on here). The grounds and pools are large and were kept immaculately clean and tidy.

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was immaculately clean and designed in an understated, elegant way. The room was cleaned each day and then a turndown service was provided each night with towels arranged into hearts or swans with petals on bed. The mini bar in room was replenished daily with international brand drinksand as others have stated was free of charge. Other perks of the junior suites were separate check in arrangements, use of an executive lounge with free internet use and drinks and cookies available, free room service and priority booking for the a la carte restaurants.

During our visit the hotel had two of the a la carte restaurants open but we didn't use either choosing instead to use the main Divan restaurant which was excellent. The choice of food at this restaurant was amazing and the only trouble we had with the food was trying to choose what to have - hence have put on 5lbs!! Food was hot and there were chefs in the centre cooking some of the options in front of you at all mealtimes. At lunchtimes we sometimes used the other place down by the beach where you could order meals and more snack type items such as jacket potatoes and crepes. All the food and drink were of good quality and my daughter who is veggie felt there was a lot of choice for her - much more than in other hotels we have stayed. We also visited the patisserie each day - this was a lovely treat. You could get good coffee, cookies and cakes from 12noon until late evening and to have these included was great.

The lobby bar was very nice with a pianist on in the early evening and. We had no issues with the service and found that most staff spoke some English. All were very polite and efficient.

The entertainment was ok. The entertainment and activities staff work hard to ensure guests enjoy. They mingle in the evenings and offer activities for both adults and children in the day but there is no pressure to join in. On two of the evenings the entertainment was professional dancers and this was excellent. On the other nights entertainment was provided in house. Although not as much our cup of tea it was ok and I have to say that the women v men game was the funniest thing I have seen in ages! Our daughter did join in with the club for her age group and enjoyed the activities on offer.

As the grounds are so spacious we felt like there were lots of things to do. We made most use of the pools and garden areas and the pool with slides is fun for the kids. The indoor pool in the spa is heated but is salt water so we mainly used the first pool which is also heated but not as warm as the spa one. The other pools are really cold!

The weather was really good - for early April we thought it was hot and we wouldn't be able to cope with the heat there in Summer. .Make sure you take loads of suntan lotion with you as this was really expensive to buy over there.

All in all this was a fantastic, relaxing week of lovely weather in a super hotel. The all-inclusive is exactly that - we never needed to leave the resort and apart from tips and pressies spent nothing.

I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank smallchunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,530)
There are newer reviews for Barut Lara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,231 - 2,237 of 3,533 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2009

this hotel is no way a 5* hotel the staff are very rude not many speak english if they do they pretend not to understand you you are pesterd by the guest relations team everyday of your stay asking what you think of the hotel in the dinning room there is wild birds flying about over the buffet table the restaurant looks like a works canteen old furniture and dirty curtains and blinds and out of date light fittings the food was all ways cold on the turkish night the kebab that was left is served for tuesday lunch chicken roll that looked like dog meat where the fresh orange was was 2 empty drinks dispensers half empty with juice was left all the time we was there with mold on but never taken away to be cleaned the al carte the food was also cold and if u ask to change any meal the head waiter went crazy also the guest relations wanted to no why the bar staff had shirts on with holes in was suppose to be premiun drinks but only served if you asked the night club was smelling of damp at the nightclub my boyfriend was asked if he wanted something extra just ask the bar man the outdoor pools was dirty one day was icecream floating in it the restaurant outside where u could get snacks was dirty and the waiters hardly spoke english in there the curtains and the funiture is shabby also the toilets there wasnt clean the rooms 1st time u enter are clean but over the days the cleaners just did a quick tidy and never cleaned the floors also the hotel provide u with bathrobes i used one and when it was dirty i left for the laundary when we came to check out of the hotel the manager said we have a problem where is the bathrobe before we had time to answer he was calling us theifs and said you are not leaveing the hotel till its payed for we try to explain that it went with the towels but him and the 2 receptionists was laughing and calling us theifs he asked for 35 euros for the bathrobe s before he would let us go in a 5* hotel i have never ever come across this and i have travelled all over the world i find this is a scam with the guests and bathrobes so please be aware of this hotel and the staff no way is this a 5* hotel the best hotel in that area where i have stayed in the royal wings hotel so if i was you i would give this hotel a miss where in a 5 * hotel do you get wild birds flying round over the buffet please beaware also if you orderd room service it was allways cold

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank candykippax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

A late review I know but submitted as a word of caution for anyone booking now for early October.

Firstly don't get me wrong this is a very good hotel, food in the A La Carte restaurants is exceptional, the Canteen as we called it with its metal tables and uncomfortable metal chairs all set out in straight lines is less so. The staff are generally helpful and the animation team very good. Facilities on offer are extensive and by Turkey standards I have experienced in the past this is a 5* hotel, though not necessarily by other European standards..

So here comes my words of caution particularly for early October when we were there for 2 weeks. Temperatures at that time of the year are close to 30C in the sun which is very nice indeed, but what we discovered was that the hotel considers October as the start of winter and the air conditioning is turned off accordingly, this is OK if you're happy to sleep in temperatures around 23-24C in your room but we weren't, after 5 complaints and being shoved from pillar to post we were finally moved to a junior suite which was lovely did have individually controlled AC but do be aware of this potential problem especially if your room is on the west (sunset) side of the hotel. Secondly, the hotel is very popular with German and Russian guests, I've no problem sharing my holiday hotel with either but the first 2 weeks in October appear to be the half term equivalent periods for those countries and the hotel is swarming with kids even in the nightclub/disco after midnight, there didn't seem to be anywhere that was child free at any time. I'm not a grumpy old man (not most of the time anyway) indeed I do have children and grandchildren of my own but it is good to have some child free areas or times in a hotel and I suppose I expected it being outside school holidaytime in the UK.

Reading reports from other hotels I think the air conditioning issue is common to many hotels in the area, and the child issue could easily be solved by the hotel having areas in which children aren't allowed after a given time, i.e. after the evening entertainment show. All in all we had a good holiday but the problems described prevented it from being a great one

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

This was the third time we (two adults and one child) stayed in this hotel.
All times we have booked a double bed room but been upgraded on arrival. Junior suites as well as an appartment.
The food is excellent, both in the Main restaurant and in the five a la carte restuarants.
The staff is very friendly and everything you ask for comes with a smile.
We have already booked next year holiday, this time we will stay for two weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Barut Lara is located in 15 min from Antalya airport, which is very convenient if you are not ready to spend a lot of time going from airport to hotel and back. At the same time there is no "airport noise" in the hotel at all. Hotel has a big green territory (enough place to have a long evening walks), nice sandy beach where it is always possible to find a place, a lot of a-la cart restaurants for dining inside and outside. Rooms are extremely comfortable. Even a standard room is quite large, with a balcony and equiped by tea facilities, DVD player and musical center to play CDs. Wifi is available in lobby and every room in main building, and it is free of charge. Hotel's chefs cook very delicios, various types of food. Desserts are especially amazing there. Hotel has very nice spa facilities with reasonable prices, high level of services and very good spa programs. Hotel provides with airport transfer services for 40 eur per car (one way). Hotel employees are exptremely friendly, reception works very quick, with a high responce rate. I deffinitely enjoyed to stay there and recoomend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Svetlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

I visited this hotel with two friends (all female) for a spa break to celebrate a birthday. We were looking for total relaxation and were not disappointed.

First of all was the proximity to the airport - within an hour of landing we were standing on our balcony with a cold drink which was a definite bonus. On arrival at the hotel we were given an upgrade to a suite which was lovely. In hindsight, the room that we had booked may have been a little small for 3 adults. In the suite we had 1 double bed and a sofa bed which was fine for us and would suit a family. The room was spotless and cleaned daily throughout the holiday.

Travelling out of season the hotel was quite quiet and the majority of the clientele older than us (we were aged 21-23) and mostly German. Only 1 of the bars was open but this was fine and the staff very friendly and attentive, making a real effort to speak to everyone. They all seemed fluent in about 5 languages! The food and drink was fantastic, loads of choice even though it was only the buffet and one of the a la carte restaurants open. The a la carte was amazing, the food delicious and the staff lovely. The grounds were beautiful and very clean. Although we were not expecting great weather, we were lucky with temperatures in the mid 20's and the hotel were happy to open the outdoor pool early on request of the guests.

Our absolute favourite part however was the spa! We pre-booked a spa package and the staff arranged this so we had a treatment everyday except one. They will work this out for you at your request and we chose to have a day off to go into Antalya. All the treatments were amazing but I would particularly recommend the facial and thalassotherapy pool.

The hotel itself is fairly remote and is surrounded by similar hotels but everything you need is on site. We did go in to Antalya one day which is good for a wander around. The local dolmus bus stops outside the hotel and costs about 30p. We got a cab which was also very cheap. We also booked a trip to the market in Manavgat through our rep and had a fantastic day out which included lunch at waterfalls as well as visit to Side and a mosque.

This was a fantastic relaxing break and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone on or off season. At the time we travelled the childrens facilities were minimal however they have a small waterpark and other activities in high season and friends that have travelled with children really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LittleBirdy1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Barut A Wonderful Hotel
After being encouraged by our Thos Cook travel agent we stayed in the hotel 9th to 23rd November 2008 after a journey where we arrived at 5am. The departure after the holiday was over was even worse with a flight departure time of 4am. To/ from Scotland all the flights are Horrendous.
That said, these were the almost only negative part of the holiday.
On arrival all those arriving from Scotland were upgraded and in our case it was from a junior suite to a residence. That comprised of a sitting room with attached kitchen complete with a fridge stocked with different drinks which were replenished daily at no cost. Two double bedrooms, two bathrooms with seperate showers and a large balcony off the bedroom and sitting room.
Meals were excellent and always something suitable was available.
All restaurants were available to all and included all drinks at no charge at all.
My impressions of all inclusives in the past were not high as wine was of poor quality and spirits of unknown names.
This was not the case here as house wine was excellent and spirits were all well known international branded names.
After staying at other resorts in Turkey I would say that the area is not one to go to if you want to visit a lot of interesting places as there are none close and Antalya is not a city to inspire.

If you wish to crash out in great surroundings this is a good hotel to do it in. The staff are very proficient in addition to having all the natural friendliness of the Turks.

As previously mentioned,flight times are wicked and your rooms have to be vacated by 12 noon.
Do not be tempted to pay to keep your room on ( quite expensive ) The courtousy room is excellent with large storage lockers suitable for your wearing home clothes whist you avail yourself of all the hotel facilities. Showers and changing rooms are available at the same spot. Cases are stored at reception.

My wife and I would revisit but at our ages it would have to have better flight times

ENJOY

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DCM1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#16 of 231 in Antalya
2,359 reviews
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 231 in Antalya
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#18 of 231 in Antalya
2,536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#3 of 231 in Antalya
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: $122 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing