We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice all-inclusive resort”
Review of Barut Lara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barut Lara
Ranked #1 of 229 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A very nice all-inclusive resort”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Barut Lara is a very nice all-inclusive resort that is in the heart of a resort town. It is not in Lara, but in adjacent city. Lara is about 30 minutes away. The hotel primary caters to Germans, Dutch and English. We were told that we were the only Americans there, which is not a problem. Everyone was very nice, and most spoke English well. The staff mostly was very nice and helpful. The rooms are big and renovated. Unfortunately, their renovation was not completed when we were there, so the grounds were still not green. There was also lots of noise from the construction going on. However, they said they plan to be done with everything by May 2014. The beach was nice, but the sand was coarse and black form elements. They do not have a white-sandy beaches on this side of Turkey. So if that is what you are looking for, this is not for you. They had lots of sports-activities for adults and kids throughout the day. They also had a hamam (which was okay), 3 or 4 pools, kids' play area, clubs, shows, and lots of food. Overall, it is a very nice resort. Would come back again with kids.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. However, if you can't sleep with noise, expect to keep your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Eugene,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback about your recent visit to the Barut Lara. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your wonderful holiday and were able to thoroughly enjoy all the hotel has to offer. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced due to construction works. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,546
    444
    143
    27
    23
See reviews for
1,493
1,124
43
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

As a returning visitor to the hotel we were looking forward to seeing some old faces and making new friends as well as seeing the upgrade that had closed the hotel for 3 months. However old faces were sadly lacking as most of the staff and especially the entertainment team are new and lots of work was still being carried out. The upgrade was mostly to the junior suites and this time we were placed in the hotel. The room was very good with great views but we were told by "plenty" of people that their upgraded rooms were, in cases, inaccessible and incomplete. Staff who we knew were great and looked after us but the rest just didn't seem to have the same customer focus. The new animation team are quite good and they all threw themselves into keeping the guests happy.
There's a new Italian restaurant, which appears to be popular, however the queuing to book the restaurants now extends from the concierge desk to the stairs to the lower level (quite long for those who have never been before). Queuing starts any time after 8am but the desk doesn't open until 9am. They have installed some quick access computers to book your restaurants but unfortunately these were rarely on and when they were they rarely worked.
Double booking at the restaurants meant that some people were turned away when they were expecting a relaxed meal which, given that the Barut is the most expensive hotel on the strip is appalling. Having to go and get your own drinks because the waiters aren’t paying attention is also not acceptable. Also having your room cleaned when you are returning after a whole day out (up to 5pm) is crazy.
All in all it is clear that the hotel re-opened too soon. Currently they are under staffed and under pressure, systems aren’t working and a lot of the regular returning guests, including myself feel it is time to try somewhere else rather than return again……pity….sometimes the speed bumps take their toll.....this time around I'm sorry Barut but you dedlivered 3 stars rather than the 5 I'm used to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faisalabad Pakistan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

It is a great resort for the price. I paid USD277 for a double room facing pools and sea, all inclusive. I could not believe, even the alcohol is included and the quality of drinks is reasonably good.

Building and rooms are basic and minimalist. Lack of taste is evident. Workman ship in not that great. But Barut shines when it comes to service and quality of food and drinks.

Lovely beach. Huge, beautiful pools with bars scattered around the whole resort.

Daily activities keep you engaged the whole day. Night club is a great place to go after dinner. A very family like atmoshpere.

Don't miss the a la carte dinners in one of the many restaurants. You need to book your resturant (which is included in the price) at guest relations from 9:00 am to 12 noon. I would suggest you line up before the guest relations at 8:45 am. You can't do this over the phone. You have to be physically present to make these reservations. There are two touch screens on both sides of guest relations where you can make the booking yourself, but they did not work for the three days I stayed there and customers were frustrated. You could also book an la carte breakfast in the sofa resturant, which is the same breakfast as in the main Divan buffet resturant, but it is nice to having breakfast served to you on your table.

Over all it was one of the best resort experience I had.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Qamar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Qamar A,
We highly appreciate your time you have taken to write a review about your stay. Barut Lara. We are proud that we were able to satisfy you with the service you have received. Please know that all guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore your concern regarding the A la carte booking has been shared with the management team. We hope you will consider visiting us again during your next visit to Turkey.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is the best I've ever stayed in, amazing service from the moment we arrived until we left. We ate out in the a la carte restaurants 4 times during our stay and the food was definitely of high standard, our only complaint was that a lot of things happening at the hotel was geared towards the German tourist, the films and sports. Wouldn't stop us going back! Fab hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Linda,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Barut Lara. We were happy to read that we were able to provide you with an exceptional service and exceed your highest expectations. Please know that our hotel is committed to providing all our guests with comfortable and friendly accommodations. We definitely don't treat different guests differently, or grant preferential treatment to, any individual or group on the basis of ethnicity, or national origin. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We haven't even left to come home but wanted to say how amazing this holiday has been. I came alone with my two young children and can honestly say this is the best hotel we have stayed in. Its not as grand as other 5* hotels in this area but the staff and service make this far superior! You could not wish for more attentive staff- they really do go out of their way to look after you and make your holiday special. The Turkish a la carte that we dined in tonight was made extra special by the fantastic staff. We don't want this holiday to end! The kids club has enabled me to relax, knowing that my child is not only safe but having a fabulous time with staff who really care about the children. They all work so hard to make their holiday makers happy. We will be returning...........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear SPester,
Thank you for your stay at the Barut Lara and your time you have taken to post such an amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with your accommodations, and of your positive experience with our staff. Thank you for such inspiring words which has further encouraged our entire team to provide enhanced services to all our esteemed guests. We hope to host your family on many more occasions as you come back to Antalya and Barut Lara.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is the perfect choice if you are looking for an all-inclusive hotel with great food and drink, lots of activities and entertainment and friendly staff.

The hotel itself is large, modern and attractively designed with great dining (all-inclusive), rooms, facilities (including outdoor pools, water slides and indoor pool), its own stretch of beach and decent entertainment. It is also only 20 minutes from the airport but with no aircraft noise. Guests at the hotel were mainly German, followed by British and some Russian, and included families, young couples and older couples. We went with our daughters aged 13 and 11.

All food, drink, snacks, patisserie, ice-cream is of a very high standard. We loved the range and quality of the food that was on offer. Drinks are available at almost any part of the grounds of the hotel. The staff are all very friendly and obliging. There is also an entertainment team that help you to settle in very quickly and who are constantly pointing out what activities are on offer, e.g. tennis, beach volleyball, petanque and archery. They get to know you very quickly. My wife and daughters attended step, swim gym and belly dancing classes with a fitness teacher called Ezgi – who was great - and really enjoyed them.

Evening entertainment is fun and not too long (so children-friendly). While we were there we saw belly dancers – who like to involve the audience! – traditional dancers and a witty magician.

To leave the hotel you need transport, which I think the hotel can help with for parties of 10, otherwise you might get the bus into town for 2 lira per person each way – the bus stop right outside hotel - and see the old part of town (Kaleichi) and walk from there to the marina, where everyone will try to sell you their wares! If you want to see nearby sites, you will have to organise this yourself as the hotel didn't seem to be able to help with this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JJBCobham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear JJBCobham,
Thank you for telling us about your Barut Lara experience. We are happy to read that we were able to provide you and your family with a great atmosphere of relaxing holiday. Thank you for your kind words in relation to the hotel and its facilities, the selection of food available, in particular the entertainment team who looked after you during your stay. Your feedback is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in a future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

At time of writing we are still guests in this hotel, we arrived early April whilst the hotel is still undergoing a full refurbishment, we had initially booked this independently through an agent who two days prior to our visit went into administration, the hotel did not honour the original booking , instead they chose to increase our rates by over £100 a day to nearly 4k for two weeks for 2 adults and three children under 6 nevertheless we agreed reluctantly hoping that the service and surroundings would warrant the uplift in price. Sadly so far it hasn't
To be fair to the hotel they are undergoing a massive refurbishment which meant our room a residence was immaculate right down to the new mattresses on the beds the room is spacious for a family of five with a lovely pool view, all the works are still ongoing but are kept to a minimum t we rarely notice the workman and this has caused us no inconvenience.

The location is slightly remote but within walking distances of the local bazaars that sell a multitude of replica designer gear.

The hotel facilities are all good for a young family, the mini club was used once , the staff are all friendly and try their best with the limited area that they have ( the main area is still under refurbishment)

Entertainment in the evening has been basic this may be due to it being early season

I find it hard to believe a family resort does not allow children to dine in one of the sit down restaurants especially as the hotel has chosen to hold some sort of function tonight which meant we were left hunting around for a table in the Buffett restaurant only upon complaining were we seated, we were then left for an hour with dirty plates and glasses on our table never once asked if we would like a second glass of wine with our meal never to see another waiter for the whole duration of our meal...... 5 star service this is certainly not!
The service was being afforded to those of the function which had taken over half of the Buffett restaurant

Worse was to come we waited for over 15 mins for a drink order to be taken at the lobby bar eventually we left disgusted and retired to our room for the evening.

To sum things up disappointed that certain nationalities seem to be afforded better service , I would not like to visit at peak period as I feel the service would drop well below what should be expected in a 5 star resort where you are paying a premium.

The hotel needs to revise its dining arrangements to cater for families

Happy enough with hotel facilities and cleanliness but really feel the service aspect lacks slightly

Hopefully things will improve for what is left of our stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Lara, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for staying at the Barut Lara and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Whilst we are delighted that you have found our facilities and the cleanliness to your liking, we are concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us, particularly that you found our service staff to be less than hospitable and attentive. Our management team is taking this seriously as it is definitely not our training standard and should never happen at Barut Lara. We appreciate you alerting us to the issue and help to guide us in knowing what areas we need to improve. We hope you and your family will give us another opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
2.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#12 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
1.3 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
Titanic Beach Lara Hotel
#17 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baia Lara Hotel
Baia Lara Hotel
#2 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Akra
Akra
#7 of 229 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Lara

Property: Barut Lara
Address: Guzeloba Mahallesi, Yasar Sobutay Bulvari, No:30, Antalya 07235, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antalya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#24 Business Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Lara 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Barut Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Lara Hotel Antalya
Barut Lara Resort Spa And Suites
Hotel Barut Lara
Lara Resort Spa
Barut Lara Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing